Summer Movies + TV: “Jurassic World,” “Sense8,” & More!

Hi, everyone! Today I’m talking about MOVIES. And TV. I loooove watching movies, and I love watching them in the movie theater – especially in the summer, when the darkness and cool temperatures of the theater are such a welcome change from the ANNOYING heat of Indiana summers. Ugh.

And as for TV? Well, I don’t watch very many shows (and when I do, I generally use the Internet and not the actual TV) but when I do get into a TV show, I get REALLY into it. There are maybe five or six TV shows I am passionate about and that’s it.

I think one of my issues with TV is that it takes a lot longer to watch an entire season of one show than it takes to watch a movie. And when I’m distracted or busy, I stop watching – so by the time I resume watching the show, I’ve usually forgotten the earlier bits! However, summer is nice because there’s bigger chunks of free time… which makes it easier to watch things!

So, anyway. Over the last few days I’ve talked about my bookish goals for this summer, which you can read here and here. Today, I’m talking about some of the things I’d like to watch this summer, organized according to the following list:

  • Movies I’d like to watch in the theater
  • Some movies I want to borrow from the library
  • Miscellaneous movie-watching ideas
  • Sense8, a new show that looks AWESOME
  • A few thoughts about some other shows

Enjoy!

-~-

Jurassic World

Release date: June 12

The original movie was one of my favorites from childhood, and I’ve seen it so many times. And then when I was older, I read the book (by Michael Crichton) and LOVED it even more! I didn’t enjoy the second and third movies, though, and honestly never thought there’d ever be a fourth movie. But there is! Or rather, there will be! And I am SO EXCITED for it! DINOSAURS. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAH OMG.

Side note: And when Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens comes out in December, I’m pretty much going to explode with happiness. I loooved both Jurassic Park and Star Wars when I was a little kid, but never thought there would be any more sequels. I am slightly miffed that John Williams isn’t composing for Jurassic World; instead, Michael Giacchino is. I mean… I like his work, too, but he’d BETTER include that lovely, breathtaking theme from the original movie!

Minions

Release date: July 10

I ADORE the Despicable Me movies! They’re just so funny and weird and cute! Who doesn’t love adorable animated kid’s movies?! Also, they’re about villains! I love villain-centric stories and just interesting villains in general – especially if they’re not portrayed as being PURE EVIL, but have a more human side to them as well.

So I am super-duper excited to see this movie! My mom and I are going to see it together – I’m going to flail fangirlishly over the minions and she’s probably going to laugh at me, because my love for the minions is RIDICULOUS.

Mr. Holmes

Release date: July 17

Sherlock Holmes and Ian McKellen? OOH YES PLEASE THOSE ARE TWO OF MY FAVORITE THINGS. I am basically just giddy with glee right now, all right? Because first there’s Elementary and then an upcoming new show called S(her)lock and now there’s THIS adaptation.

I’m also curious to see if Watson will even be in this movie – it’s about an older Holmes, and maybe Watson won’t be there anymore. I mean, Watson is listed in the credits, but there’s also supposed to be flashback scenes, so maybe he’ll be in those and not the main scenes? It would be really interesting to see how the film handles that, if it even goes that route.

-~-

Finally, there are a few movies I plan to borrow from the library – it dawned on me that rather than complaining about how they’re not on Netflix / available to watch for free online, I should just get the DVDs from the library. DUH.

1. Interstellar

 This looks like an AMAZING science fiction movie, with an awesome score composed by Hans Zimmer (which I’ve already listened to)! My brother has expressed interest in it, as well – maybe we’ll watch it together!

2. Jupiter Ascending

I’ve heard that this was an exceptionally ridiculous sci fi story, but also a great deal of fun. Yay! Also, the costume design looks incredible.

3. Into the Wild

I read the book (by Jon Krakauer) this was based on last fall, and REALLY enjoyed it. I love listening to its soundtrack, too – YAY FOR EDDIE VEDDER. I’m interested in seeing the differences between the book and the movie, because Into the Wild is a true story and I wonder if the filmmakers changed any bits to make them more dramatic.

4. Pride

My friend Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes adores this movie and talks about it a LOT, so I’m looking forward to it! I want to watch it because LGBTQ+ history fascinates me, but I don’t know much about non-US-based LGBTQ+ history – this is based on the true story of a group of queer activists from the UK.

5. Guardians of the Galaxy

I can’t believe I still haven’t seen this movie! But I DEFINITELY want to see it this summer, because I’m slowly trying to read/watch more Marvel stories that aren’t just Captain America or the Avengers. Guardians of the Galaxy looks really funny and awesome!

6. Big Hero 6

An adorable animated kid’s movie… based on a story from Marvel Comics! SQUEE.

-~-

Also, I’d like to:

1. Watch a movie at the local drive-in theater

My town still has one of these! And even though the image quality is terrible and it’s kind of hard to hear the movie well, it’s… it’s the experience that matters, right?! It’s fun to watch a movie on a gigantic screen under the stars! My 4-H Junior Leader group is meeting up at the drive-in next month for our end-of-the-year celebration, and I can’t wait!

2. Watch some LGBTQ+ movies with online friends

Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words and I have been thinking about doing this for quite a while now, and I recently discussed the idea with Artgirl @ Alien Cows, too. And if anyone else is interested, let me know! We live waaaay too far away from one another to actually hang out in real life, but it’s still fun to do things “together”!

So I thought it might be fun to pick an LGBTQ+ movie (because I am SO EMOTIONALLY INVESTED IN FICTIONAL LESBIANS) and watch it at the same time and send FANGIRLY MESSAGES back and forth during and/or after the movie. I think Imagine You and Me might be a good movie to start with, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

-~-

The other day, my online friend Fanta sent me a SUPER FANGIRLY message about this new science fiction TV show, Sense8, and… yeah, there’s something else I’m looking forward to watching this summer! It’s about eight people who suddenly find themselves telepathically linked to one another, and have to figure out why/how that happened.

And FREEMA AGYEMAN will be in it. I’ve had a ginormous crush on her from the moment I began watching series three of Doctor Who, so clearly I NEED this show.

According to the creators, the show will explore subjects that the writers felt were often ignored by science fiction – such as sexual orientation, gender, and religion. OH MY GOD THIS IS EVERYTHING I’VE EVER WANTED FROM SCI FI. Like, there’ll be a trans woman character, who’s actually being played by a trans woman actor? (This isn’t as common as you might think, unfortunately.) And Freema Agyeman will play her girlfriend?! OH MY GOD JUST GIVE IT TO ME ALREADY I NEED THIS SHOW WHERE HAS IT BEEN ALL MY LIFE.

The entire first season will premiere on Netflix streaming on June fifth. Yay!

-~-

Oh, and then of course there’s Carmilla. SO EXCITED FOR BROODY GAY VAMPIRES AND THEIR TINY ADORKABLE GIRLFRIENDS. Season two airs on June second!

And if I have time towards the end of this summer, after I’ve watched all the thingies mentioned above, I might start watching either Orphan Black (science fiction with loads of women and queer characters) or Once Upon A Time (fairy tale retellings set in the modern world).

-~-

What movies and/or TV shows would you like to watch this summer? Are they brand-new-coming-out-this-summer, or will you borrow DVDs and whatnot in order to watch them? And based on the movies and shows I’ve talked about in this post, do you have any recommendations for me?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Summer Movies + TV: “Jurassic World,” “Sense8,” & More!

  1. AHHHH these all look amazing! I am so excited for Jurassic World, I’ve seen the trailer at least six times and it just gets better and better. Big Hero 6 is the best, honestly. AND CARMILLA ASDFGHJKL;

  2. Cait says:

    I have never ever seen any of the Jurassics so. yup. Nope, won’t be watching that. BUT MINIONS. YUUUUUSS. And what is this about S(her)lock?! I must look that up asap! I’m absolutely ridiculously obsessed with all things Sherlock Holmes. XD And I want to see the Gandalf version too. *nods* It looks like it’s going to be a sweet movie. :’) I’m really excited for, um..omg, I don’t even know what’s coming out! :O I can’t wait until Insurgent is on DVD so I can finally see it. AND OMG PAPER TOWNS! Nearly forgot! Doesn’t that come out in June or July??

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my goddddd Cait, then you totally should! OK, so the second and third movies aren’t any good, but Jurassic Park is MARVELOUS. 😀

      “The Gandalf version” HAHAHAHA. :p

      Um… July, I think? I only know because YouTube keeps showing me ads for Paper Towns and won’t let me click past the ads! 😛

  3. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, we have a lot of the same movies we want to watch — most notably Pride and Jupiter Ascending. (I actually suggested Pride at Pride Club when they were asking for movie night suggestions, but then I ended up not being able to attend the movie night.)
    And yes, yes, yes, Sense8 does sound wonderful.
    Also pfft, we’ve been saying we’d watch a movie together since sometime last year, I’m pretty sure. We’ll have to eventually!
    My first impulse for shows I want to watch this summer is to say Kaamelott, but I literally just finished it, so probably not. Agent Carter though, as I mentioned. And maybe OUAT or BBC Merlin.

    • nevillegirl says:

      …you’re silly. *patpat* ❤ Maybe we can watch Pride together! 🙂

      Of course it sounds wonderful – Freema Agyeman's in it! 😀

      I know, right? We've been talking about that for a loooooong time.
      (Yes, yes, watch Agent Carter! It is THE BEST.)

  4. Pingback: Birds and the Big Dipper // The Beautiful Blogger Award | Nut Free Nerd

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    I finally got Pride on DVD! When my exams are over I’m going to invite all my friends who haven’t yet seen it (or those want to watch it again) and we’ll have a movie night. It’ll be the fourth time I’ve seen it, but whatever. It bears rewatching, and I’m also excited about having my own copy because it means I get the special features. Maybe I’ll watch it with the commentary some time…

  6. matttblack42 says:

    So I just recently binge-watched almost the entire first season of Sense8 and decided to search the show on your site to see if you’d ever watched it and now I must ask: did you ever get to watch the whole thing? Because I only have one episode left of the season and I’m loving it, and there’s no one to really talk with about the show because it ended like nine months ago.

    (Freema Agyeman is amazing in it btw.)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

