Plans For The Summer Of 2015

Hello there! Today I’m talking about summer goals… yes, AGAIN! But don’t worry: This is the last post. I already discussed my reading goals (in two separate posts), and I posted a list of some of the movies and TV shows I’d like to watch during my free time this summer.

Now, I’m making a MASTER LIST of goals/plans/thingies for summer 2015! This list includes my plans concerning books/movies/TV, as well as five other things I would like to work on during the summer.

This list is also, hopefully, WAY more realistic than my lists from years past have ever been: I have a bad habit of wanting/trying to do everything. And then I become extremely frustrated with myself when I don’t finish everything on my list, even though I know I shouldn’t have included such unattainable goals in the first place! This summer, I’d like to work on setting realistic expectations, not idealistic ones.

Enjoy!

1. Accomplish my three definite reading goals

They are as follows:

  • Reread the Harry Potter series (and related nonfiction books)
  • Further explore the comic book genre
  • Listen to a few audiobooks

You can read more about those goals here.

2. Accomplish my four flexible reading goals

I asked my blog readers to vote for which series and/or authors I should read this summer, based on a predetermined list of possibilities. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP WITH THIS. Here’s what I’ll be reading this summer, as per your recommendations!

  • The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
  • The Wolves of Mercy Falls series and the Books of Faerie series by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Graceling Realm trilogy by Kristin Cashore
  • The Silmarillion and The Children of Húrin by J.R.R. Tolkien

You can read more about those goals here.

3. Watch some movies and TV shows

Just for fun, right?

  • Watch Jurassic World, Minions, and Mr. Holmes in theaters
  • Borrow InterstellarJupiter AscendingInto the WildPrideGuardians of the Galaxy, and Big Hero 6 from the library’s DVD collection
  • Watch a movie at the local drive-in theater with my 4-H Junior Leader group
  • Watch some LGBTQ+ movies with online friends
  • Watch Carmilla, season two, and try season one of Sense8

You can read more about those plans here.

4. Exercise four or five times per week

During the school year I set a goal of going to the local YMCA three time per week; however, I usually ended up going only two times each week. But one of my biggest goals this summer is becoming more fit, and now that I don’t have any more schoolwork to complete, I don’t really have an excuse to slack off. I can’t just say, “OH GOSH LOOK AT THIS PILE OF SCHOOLWORK! I JUST DON’T HAVE TIME TO GO TO THE Y BECAUSE I NEED TO FINISH THIS FIRST!” anymore.

Ever since I graduated a few weeks ago, I’ve begun to exercise more frequently, and I’d like to maintain that habit throughout this summer, and hopefully during my semesters at college, as well. I’ve been running, swimming, and using the rowing machine, and that seems to work well for me.

5. Buy a new camera and experiment with it

I’ve been meaning to do this for AAAAAGES but I still haven’t gotten around to it! Ugh. It’s ridiculous, honestly, because I already know which brand and model I want! So basically all I have to do is buy it and then begin using it – messing around with the settings, trying out different techniques, et cetera. You just might see some more photography posts on my blog this summer, as I experiment with my new camera!

6. Slowly but surely get ready for college

THERE’S SO MUCH STUFF TO DO. I hadn’t realized that, hadn’t realized how many little things I needed to do in order to be ready. I need to figure out what to pack, and what we still need to buy (laundry basket, new sheets, et cetera). And I have an orientation session on… oh god, I don’t remember the exact date, but it’s sometime during the first week of June! I’m so excited!

7. Participate in various 4-H activities

These activities include:

  • Completing my 4-H projects
  • Leading a gardening-themed workshop for Exploring 4-H members (AKA TINY MESSY CHILDREN)
  • Serve as a Reserve Achievement Ambassador during the county fair (basically, I represent 4-H as a graduate/ten-year member of the program)
  • Work as an assistant clerk in the 4-H office at the fair, as I did last year
  • Help out with the second annual 4-H race (which my Junior Leader group hosts and uses as a way to raise money that we later spend on community service projects)

SO MANY 4-H THINGIES TO DO. I plan to work steadily on my 4-H projects, doing a little bit of work each day, so that I finish them in a timely manner. Usually I leave at least a few major things left undone until the very last minute, but I’d prefer if my last year went a bit more smoothly instead.

8. Publish an LGBTQ+-themed post every single day for a month in June

Because June is Pride month! I have LOADS of post ideas and have been saving up some of those ideas for quite a while just for this purpose, so this should be easy. And fun! I plan to talk about all sorts of topics, from books and movies and other forms of stories to current events and my own personal experiences.

The only day when I will not publish an LGBTQ+-themed post will be June twentieth, since that is the last official day of spring – which means I’ll be posting a quarterly rewind instead!

(Also, feel free to suggest any LGBTQ+ topics that you’d like me to blog about!)

 -~-

What are your plans, goals, hopes, wishes, dreams for this summer? TELL ME ALL ABOUT YOUR UPCOMING ADVENTURES. I’d love to know what you’ll be doing this summer!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Plans For The Summer Of 2015

  1. Alexandrina Brant says:

    It’s good to have a plan-list of goals that aren’t writing. I always forget that. It’s like “writing, woo! Everything-else, boo!” xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ha ha, yeah… I’d like to keep practicing my writing skills this summer but since I don’t have any BIG PROJECTS (other than the month of Pride posts) I didn’t include any other writing goals… 🙂

  2. COLLEGE THOUGH, HOW EXCITING. I probably won’t move out for a year or so, which means the change from high school to university won’t be AS much. LOL I should probably exercise more too. As in…more than none 😛

  3. Cait says:

    Ohh, new camera! YAY. I just bought a new camera and i’m soo in love with it. I’ve finally relinquished my parents camera and they’re so happy to have it back. xD You could do a post on photography tips?! PUH-LEASE??? *puppy dog eyes* These are epic goals and I hope you get through them all!! I started exercising a lot when I finished school too. Mostly running and loads of walking for me. Although less on the running now for my tired old bones..heh. heh.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I totally should! 😀

      Thank you!!

      Ha ha, maybe I’ll be motivated to go for more walks now if I have audiobooks to listen to on my iPod! Then I won’t get bored. 😛

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

