Top Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer

Hello, everyone! Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly link-up, Top Ten Tuesday. This week, there are TWO prompts and we get to choose between them!

One of the prompts is “top ten books I think make great beach reads,” but… nah, I’d rather choose the other: “top ten books I plan to have in my beach bag this summer.” I’ve already
talked about some of the books mentioned below in the posts about my summer 2015 goals, so I apologize for any overlap in THIS post. But I’d really, really like to write down some of my thoughts about specific books!

(And by the way, you can learn more about my summer reading goals here.)

Enjoy!

lament1. Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

FAIRIES. And music. Yay! I’m interested to see how Stiefvater’s writing has changed over the years, because I’ve only read The Scorpio Races and the first three books in her Raven Cycle series. I hope I like Lament just as much as I like her later novels!

2. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

I AM KIND OF INTIMIDATED BY THIS BOOK. And afraid to start reading it. Because the first book in this series, City of Bones, started sooooo slooooowly. The first time I was actually interested in the story was like three-quarters of the way through the book! I hope that this book, and the others in this series (and the prequel series, The Infernal Devices, which I also hope to read this summer) have faster plots.

3. Graceling by Kristin Cashorebatwoman elegy

This looks like a fun, feminist YA fantasy! And it’s the first in a trilogy! Yay!

4. Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka and J.H. Williams III

I borrowed this from the library a few months ago, but had to return it before I got a chance to read it. And it looks really cool! LESBIAN SUPERHEROES, EVERYONE. LESBIAN SUPERHEROES AAAAAAAH OMG OMG DFKJSHGDKGHDSKFJHFG. Queer superheroes (and queer comics/graphic novels in general) are so freaking important to me.

5. Winger by Andrew Smith

I’ve borrowed the audiobook version from the library and plan to download it to my iPod! And then hopefully I can go for walks while listening to it! It’ll be like having a little gremlin follow me around everywhere, reading stories to me. YAY.

harry potter and philosophy6. The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

One of my friends is reading (rereading?) The Silmarillion this summer and suggested that we read it together so that I could actually understand what was going on. And I think that’s a wonderful idea, because I’ve tried to read this book before and I was utterly confused!

7. Harry Potter and Philosophy: If Aristotle Ran Hogwarts by David Baggett and Shawn E. Klein 

Because A) I’m planning to reread the Harry Potter series this summer and B) I didn’t understand this book, either, when I tried to read it a few years ago. I bought it when I was, like, eleven and was SO EXCITED to read it, but… it made absolutely no sense to me. So I’m wondering if maybe I’ll understand the concepts it discussed now that I’m a few years older and (hopefully) a little bit wiser?simon vs. the homo sapiens agenda

8. Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch by Steve Englehart et al

I found this book at the library and promptly FANGIRLED WITH GLEE. The Vision is cool, and Scarlet Witch is one of my FAVORITES, but I’ve never read any comics that focused on either character! So far, I’ve only read about them in, like, Captain America comic books in which they are secondary characters. So I’m looking forward to reading an entire story devoted to these two!

8. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I talked a bit about this novel here, but I haven’t, um, actually read it yet. BUT I NEED TO. It looks like a really cute LGBTQ+ YA story! Normally I prefer F/F romance, not M/M romance, but this looks like it could be fun. Also, apparently Oreos play a large role in this story: Perfect!

10. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I have heard SO MANY good things about this dystopian YA novel! Mostly, I’m excited for ACTUAL DIVERSE CHARACTERS. I am sooooooo frustrated with the lack of diversity in YA dystopian fiction, and I hope this book will be the literary equivalent of a fuzzy warm hug for me!

-~-

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt reminded me: I totally should go to the beach more often! Normally I go with my family for, like, picnics and whatnot, and that’s fine, but… I could go by myself, too! We live sooooo close to a beautiful beach and I might as well visit it more often, and bring along a bag of books!

Even if I just end up reading outside on our swing or up in the treehouse or while sitting in a lawn chair on our deck, I should definitely try to read outside more often this summer! Just for a change of scenery, right? And for some fresh air!

-~-

Tell me all about the top ten books on YOUR summer reading list! Why did you choose them? And are you going to the beach this summer?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer

  1. Cait says:

    I would totally live ON the beach if I could. I love it. The smell, the sand, the salt in ones hair… *happy sigh* We live like 30mins away but don’t get there that often, which is sadness. ANYWAY. I’m monstrously jealous of your library’s comic collection. xD Mine is horrendous! I want to read about Scarlet Witch and can I find one?! Noooooo. I should look up Vision though and see if there are any. hehe.

    • nevillegirl says:

      That sounds like an excellent plan. 😛

      *patpat* I wish I could teletransport myself because then I would go to Australia and bring you an armful of comic books from my library. 🙂

  2. GREAT PICS. Yep, if Simon Vs was F/F it’d probably be my favourite book ever 🙂 F/F romances are just so fridging ADORABLE. But Simon was as well so it made me very happy 🙂 I’ve never read any non-fiction Harry Potter books but that one looks really good. Maybe I should try it…

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? F/F always, always, ALWAYS makes my heart melt. ❤ It's just so freaking cute! 😀 I’m hoping that Simon Vs. will give me the same sort of feeling.

  3. Mo says:

    Well, I’ve already been to the beach (ish) this year! We have a community dock area, and I’ve been going down there to read ever since it was warm enough to put on shorts.

    As for my TBR list… I don’t honestly have a huge one. My reading style is more like “Hey! Book! I shall read it!” rather than saying “Wait, maybe I have other responsibilities and it should wait.” I do want to read Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn trilogy (Star Wars EU) and my brother and I are going to watch the Sarah Jane Adventures together.

  4. Great list. I have City of Ashes still sitting on my bookshelf for the exact same reason. Looks like a great selection of books for the beach. Thanks so much for sharing. Happy reading My TT

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

