First Reactions To The “Jurassic World” Film Trailer

I don’t remember exactly how old I was when I first watched Jurassic Park, but I must have been about nine or ten. And I fell in love with that movie – its great mix of adventure and thrills and humor and science and, well, DINOSAURS. I’ve seen that movie multiple times and would happily rewatch it in a heartbeat.

When I was a little older – fourteen, I think – I read the book by Michael Crichton, which is very different from the movie. The book’s science is HARDCORE, and the overall tone is much darker and more violent. I got chills from reading that book, basically.

And I love it just as much as I love the movie. That’s rare, for me – I hardly ever like both a book and its movie (or TV) adaptation, because I’m super picky about movies that diverge from the book’s canon. But in the case of Jurassic Park, I love both versions BECAUSE of their differences. The movie has a playful mood, while the book is much more grown-up. I appreciate both of those things!

Well, being the huge Jurassic Park fangirl that I am, I watched the sequels a few years ago, too. And let’s just say that I was… less than impressed? I knew that there was supposed to be a fourth movie, but A) it seemed like it would never be made and B) I wasn’t so sure I even wanted a fourth movie, because #2 and #3 pretty much SUCKED.

But now there will be a fourth movie – and better yet, it looks amazing! For a start, it’s basically going to ignore the second and third movies. GOOD. I’M GLAD. Jurassic World is set approximately twenty years after Jurassic Park, but will evidently not discuss anything that happened during the movies in between.

Consider me excited.

Earlier this week, I talked about some movies and TV shows I want to watch this summer, and in it I promised to write up a film trailer reaction post for Jurassic World. Well, that’s what I’ll be doing today!

Enjoy!

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:11 – [Pouts] Two boys, though? I liked the little boy and little girl in Jurassic Park because, you know, actually including a few women in stories is always nice…

0:14 – Oh my god, what if this is foreshadowing AND THE LITTLE KID IS EATEN BY DINOSAURS?! Just kidding. I don’t really want to see that happen.

0:25 – [Screams internally]

0:28 – [More screaming]

0:36 – [Screaming] JURASSIC PARK WORLD IT’S GOOD TO SEE YOU AGAIN OH HOW I MISSED YOU.

0:43 – Look at that huge crowd of people! SO MANY TINY SNACKS FOR DINOS.

0:46 – My brother runs like these dinosaurs.

0:48 – Oh my gosh! This looks like one of the scenes from the book that didn’t make it into the first movie! I loved this part in the book, with the dinosaurs next to the river. It was supposed to be so idyllic, and instead… IT WAS TERRIFYING.

0:50 – I approve of this gorgeous scenery.

0:55 – Oh, look! It’s a human-sized hamster ball! That looks really dangerous, BTW – I’d be worried about being smushed to death by a ginormous dinosaur foot. Ouch.

1:01 – Wow, that water is a really pretty color!

1:05[Quiet, nerdy nervous anticipation]

1:09 – OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD.

1:13 – SPLOOOOOOSH.

1:18 – …is this true? Can this be real?! An actual WOMAN in this film? Nice.

1:30 – Why the hell would you create a hybrid dinosaur? Like, did no one consider how dangerous that creation might be?

1:36 – Ooh ooh ooh! Chris Pratt looks like a great protagonist. I can’t even explain why, he just… fits in this movie. Also, looking forward to seeing him in this movie because a bunch of my friends really like him but I still haven’t seen him in any movies. (I missed Guardians of the Galaxy, for example. But I plan to watch that on DVD this summer, so.)

1:43[Scared whimpering]

1:51 – Well, if that’s not ominous, then I don’t know what is.

1:55 – I AM FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW BECAUSE OF THE JURASSIC PARK THEME.

1:59 – OK, I’m guessing this dude gets eaten?

2:02 – Really? A dress? Why oh why didn’t you choose something a little more, um, PRACTICAL for running around and fleeing from dinosaurs?

2:07 – Run run run!

2:10 – Aaaaand the tiny snacks (AKA humans) have returned!

2:16 – I like how there’s all these intimidating dinosaur noises in this scene, and then there’s a cute cartoonish T-rex in the background. Nice.

2:21 – Again… why? What is this, a dinosaur racetrack? With starting gates? Why?

2:24 – OH MY GOD HE IS BIKING WITH DINOSAURS I REPEAT HE IS BIKING WITH DINOSAURS I AM SO AMUSED AAAAAAAAH WOW WHAT AN EXCELLENT WAY TO END THIS TRAILER.

-~-

So. THAT WAS A PRETTY AWESOME TRAILER. I’m excited to go see this movie, and to compare and contrast it with Jurassic Park.

And after seeing this movie, I’ll be interested in reading about this movie’s scientific inaccuracies. I know that sounds like a weird, super-critical thing to say, but it’s not… not really. I mean, this is science fiction, after all – if I wanted science fact, I’d watch a nonfiction program like the BBC miniseries Walking with Dinosaurs (and all its equally amazing sequels).

Take, for instance, the mosasaur. (AKA the “OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD” creature-that-isn’t-technically-a-dinosaur from 1:09 in the trailer above.) Some nerd on the Internet did a bunch of calculations and figured out that the mosasaur in Jurassic World is roughly six hundred and sixty-seven feet long, while a real mosasaur reached about fifty feet in length.

But I don’t really mind that. In fact, to me it’s part of the fun – watching people demonstrate, using SCIENCE, the flaws. And again, when I want Lots Of Accuracy, I know where to find it – nonfiction programs. When I just want to watch people being chased by dinosaurs (and riding motorcycles with them, apparently?), I know that I’ll find that in Jurassic Park… and now, in Jurassic World too.

-~-

What’s your opinion of this trailer for Jurassic World? Ooh, and WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITEST DINOSAUR OF THEM ALL?! Let me know in the comments section below!

P.S. …and what is your opinion of the new composer?! Michael Giacchino wrote the film score and while I’ve liked some of his previous work… I am not sure how I feel about this movie’s LACK OF JOHN WILLIAMS. Apparently Giaachino will incorporate the original, iconic theme, but still. I DON’T KNOW. It feels weird not to have John Williams working on this project.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Reactions To The “Jurassic World” Film Trailer

  1. I am so excited for this to come out! I only saw Jurassic Park recently, but I can’t wait for this one. And yes, Chris Pratt does seem to be a perfect fit!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

