Why I’m Writing A Month’s Worth Of LGBTQ+ Posts (& Which Topics I’ll Blog About)

Hey, everyone! Today I’m excited to announce the beginning of my 2015 Pride post-a-day thingamajig. I’ve mentioned this in passing a few times before but in case you missed it, I’ll do a quick recap: I’m going to publish one LGBTQ+ post per day for the duration of June… because June is Pride month!

Read on to find out A) why I’m doing this and B) what kinds of posts to expect!

-~-

Why I’m Writing A Month’s Worth of LGBTQ+ Posts

1. It’s relevant to my life

Being queer affects my life in a vast number of ways… so I think about it a lot. Simply put, it’s important to me.

2. To find other LGBTQ+ people, particularly other LGBTQ+ bloggers

I don’t follow nearly enough LGBTQ+ blogs! And many of the ones I do follow are written and hosted by multiple people – not that that’s a bad thing, but I would like to discover more individually-written blogs like mine.

3. To educate others

One of the best feelings in the world is having someone tell you, “Oh… I never thought of it that way, but you helped me understand (because you have experience with this and I don’t).” OMG I LOVE GETTING BLOG COMMENTS LIKE THIS.

4. It will (hopefully) increase blog traffic

Posting frequently increases blog traffic, everyone. THIS IS, LIKE, ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT THINGIES TO REMEMBER ABOUT BLOGGING. I hope my Pride posts will help increase my number of followers to over four hundred!

5. It will challenge me

I like writing challenges! Honestly, the biggest challenge will be time management… because I get distracted by shiny things and pictures of cute cats on the Internet.

6. I have sooooo many ideas for posts

And I want to write about all of them. ALL OF THEM!

(See what I mean about my biggest challenge being time management? I have loads of ideas, so thinking of more won’t be difficult. But not procrastinating? SO HARD.)

7. There are sooooo many wildly different LGBTQ+ topics to talk about

One of the points I’d like to emphasize in this month-long series of posts is that there are soooooo many LGBTQ+ topics! There’s mundane stuff, and cool stuff, and funny stuff. I think most people’s minds go directly to marriage equality or homophobia or sex when they think about LGBTQ+ people, but there is soooooo much more to us.

8. I’ve been saving certain post ideas for a while just for this purpose

You might’ve noticed that lately, I haven’t written that much about LGBTQ+ stuff? There was a reason for that.

9. To celebrate LGBTQ+ people

I mean, that’s basically what Pride is about… so you’ll definitely find posts here in which I fangirl about my real-life LGBTQ+ role models as well as my fave LGBTQ+ fictional characters.

10. Because I freaking want to, that’s why

BECAUSE I AM THE QUEEN OF THIS BLOG AND I DECREE AN AWESOME POST-Y SERIES ALL ABOUT LGBTQ+ AWESOMENESS. SO THERE.

-~-

LGBTQ+ Topics I Plan To Write About 

1. Reading The Rainbow

In case you didn’t know… and you might not, since I haven’t published any RTR posts in a while… Reading The Rainbow is an ongoing feature here at Musings From Neville’s Navel. It involves reading LGBTQ+ books – in any genre, and written for any age group, not just YA – and reviewing them!

I’ve been saving some reviews just for this month, and there will definitely be some reviews of books I’m reading right now and/or soon. (I finally got back into reading after a five-month break! I’m currently listening to City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare on audiobook. It’s pretty fun so far… not nearly gay enough, though, IMO.)

2. More general bookish stuff

Such as the lack of LGBTQ+ in [insert genre here], or LGBTQ+ story ideas that I’d like to see as novels, or whatever. “More general bookish stuff” covers anything that isn’t an RTR review, basically.

3. Music

Haven’t yet decided on any specific posts about this topic, but I’m considering writing a post about older LGBTQ+ artists/bands – like from my parents’ generation and before – and then another post about newer ones.

4. Movies and TV

OMG CARMILLA SEASON TWO STARTS TOMORROW AND I AM SO EXCITED THAT IS MY FAVORITE SHOW EVER.

So you can expect a post about that show. Also, I’m planning to watch a few LGBTQ+ movies, so you might see some posts about them.

5. Lists of some sort

Sooooo as you may have guessed, I LOVE LISTS. I included two lists in this post because lists are just that awesome.

6. Stuff about my personal experiences

[Insert blathering about self here]

7. Coming out

Probably in the form of advice, but I’m still figuring out that post idea!

8. Marvel Comics & Marvel Cinematic Universe

HA HA HA HA fifty points to the Hogwarts house of your choice if you can guess which three characters I’m going to fangirl about! SO EXCITED FOR THESE POSTS TBH.

9. History

Expect several posts about this topic! (…one of which is related to the MCU, which should be a big hint.) Additionally, I’m definitely going to write a post about Stonewall on the 28th.

10. Collab posts

So, those LGBTQ+ movies I talked about earlier? I’m planning to watch some of them with Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words (and possibly some other friends as well). I thought it might be fun to review those movies together!

11. Humor

I am unsure which posts will end up being funny but knowing me, there will doubtless be sarcasm somewhere.

12. Blog tags

I haven’t had much luck in finding very many of these, but I’ll keep trying. (And if you’ve been tagged in one, or are planning to create one, let me know! I’d love to join in.)

13. Character analysis post thingies

Kind of related to books/movies/TV, but with one big difference: Instead of talking about, say, the entire book, I’ll just focus on one character. This works better for series, actually, because there’s more to say.

I have SO MANY thoughts about the queer characters from A Song of Ice and Fire, all right?! I NEED TO TALK ABOUT MY OBERYN MARTELL FEELS OR I WILL EXPLODE FROM SHEER ADORATION.

14. Other stuff

Such as…? Such as role models, labels, culture, et cetera. Anything that wasn’t mentioned above, and any ideas that I haven’t thought of yet but will eventually enter my mind and become AWESOME. I don’t know. I’ll talk about a bunch of things, OK?

-~-

I look forward to writing all these Pride posts, and I certainly hope you enjoy reading them! I’ve told you why I’m doing this, and briefly discussed some of the topics I’ll be posting about, but now I’d like to hear from you: Are there any specific LGBTQ+ topics YOU would like me to blog about? I can’t guarantee that I will post about all of them, but I’ll definitely at least consider them… I already have loads of my own ideas, but I also want to stay in tune with what my readers want!

Happy Pride!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why I’m Writing A Month’s Worth Of LGBTQ+ Posts (& Which Topics I’ll Blog About)

  1. Bridget says:

    All of these ideas look so cool! I’m really looking forward to it 🙂

  2. I’m always in the look for new LGBTQ+ TV shows so shoot them at me! Will check Carmilla out! I’m currently obssessed about Orphan Black and am thoroughtly enjoying Faking It, not sure if you know about that one?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Carmilla is soooooo good. ❤ And I really really really want to watch Orphan Black! Not quite so sure if I want to watch Faking It, though… a straight girl pretending to be a lesbian? Blech.

  3. I AM SO SO SO EXCITED ABOUT ALL THESE POSTS!!!! You’ll definitely be educating me (straight white girl alert). I’ll pretty much be stalking your blog all through June 😉

  4. Mo says:

    [dusts off Bucky Barnes, Steve Rogers, and Peggy Carter and hands them to you] Would these be the lovely people you’re referring to?

    Also, maybe write about Caitlyn Jenner? Cause that’s a thing that just happened.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I was actually thinking of America, not Bucky, but I should totally write about him too, and the other two were correct. (Of course.) They ARE the loveliest. sEND HELP I HAVE TOO MANY FEELS ABOUT CAPTAIN AMERICA. ❤

      Ooh, yes! 🙂

      • Mo says:

        Ooh, what, a canon queer Marvel character? What’s that about? 😛 But then you basically have all the Young Avengers.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes! 🙂 And… actually, I was planning to write about the Young Avengers series, but America is my special favorite. ❤

  5. Pingback: Who, Not Why: I Blog For Tiny LGBTQ+ Kids | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: This Girl Likes Girls | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

