#VeryRealisticYA: The LGBTQ+ Edition

I have the BEST friends, OK?! They are so funny and clever and weird. And famous on the Internet, in the case of John Hansen. I’ve known him since 2012, when I joined the Teens Can Write, Too! blog chain… which he started, because he’s just so awesome that way. He’s dorky and bookish and A COMPLETE NERD OMG.

And a few months ago, he started the bestest hashtag ever, #VeryRealisticYA. Behold:

So, basically, it’s about YA without the usual ridiculous plots – YA that actually reflects what life is like for teenagers! #VeryRealisticYA trended on Twitter, and Buzzfeed did an article about it, and I was so amused because A) my friends are utter dorks and B) I, too, want YA that actually makes sense.

Anyway, today I thought it might be fun to take a look at the LGBTQ+ #VeryRealisticYA tweets. The following tweets are my favorites because they’re hilarious and so very, very, very true!

-~-

OH MY GOD THIS IS SO ME. [Binge-watches Carmilla]

If you tell us a character is gay before you kill them off, or even just include a mention of it somewhere in your book, you’re already a much better writer than J.K. Rowling. Congratulations!

IS THIS NOT EVERY SINGLE HETEROSEXUAL BOY EVER. They are sooooo weird and I don’t understand them at all. They’re like a completely separate species. (Hetero sapiens, probably, because they just can’t stand the thought of someone calling them HOMO sapiens.)

I would read this story in a heartbeat.

Ugh. Life really sucks sometimes, doesn’t it? It isn’t all sunshine and rainbows and glitter, and sometimes the cute people are actually HORRIBLE deep down inside.

This is also sucky. And I can relate to it, as well… I did this very thing until the summer before my junior year of high school. UGH WHY DID I DO THAT.

And then he dates their brothers. NICE.

OH MY GOD THE SASS HERE. YES.

Why hasn’t this been written yet?! I would totally read it.

OH MY GOD. YES PLEASE. I mean, come on – Peeta and Gale should get together, and then Katniss can date Johanna. DUH. Non-queer love triangles are so ridiculous and I want fewer of them.

SO REALISTIC. And yet, I could blather on and on here about how queer people are generally good actors because, you know, WE HAVE TO BE. I spent sixteen years acting straight and everyone was completely surprised when I came out, so… yeah, I have pretty good acting skills. THE END.

I would also read THIS in a heartbeat.

OH MY GOD MO THIS ONE’S FOR YOU.

Oh my gosh, really?!

You can expect an entire blog post about this topic… sometime later this month.

OH THE PAIN.

This is adorable, and also basically the plot of Malinda Lo’s books Adaptation and Inheritance.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD MICHA THIS ONE’S FOR YOU.

Again, why don’t we already have a story like this?

UGH I CAN SO RELATE. I only know, like, maybe three queer girls IRL… and they either already have a girlfriend, or we have very little in common. So we don’t talk to one another very often, and we’re definitely not going to end up dating.

 And last but not least, the most important reason to write LGBTQ+ diversity into your story. You don’t have to justify it – just include them.

-~-

Which tweets are your favorite? Are there any that you’d like to add?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to #VeryRealisticYA: The LGBTQ+ Edition

  1. Cait says:

    I WANT ALL OF THESE, LIKE, NOW. SERIOUSLY. I’M DYING LAUGHING HERE BECAUSE THEY’RE SO PERFECT AND YA NEEDS BOOKS LIKE THESE.

  2. YES QUEER PEOPLE WITH QUEER FRIENDS OMG. Two of my best friends (one’s a guy, one’s a girl) dated each other a couple of years ago before they both came out as gay. We all thought it was like the funniest thing ever. BASICALLY I WOULD READ ALL OF THESE.

  3. Mo says:


    What can I even say

  4. The Lovely Llama says:

    Hetero sapiens isn’t just a different species it’s an entirely different genus as well which i think really encapsulates just how different the C.I.S.***Hets are from queer ppl…

    (the best one imo is the “there is more than one queer person in the world” one… idk why straight people think that more than one “Diverse” character is unrealistic… and that happens with race too omg it’s so annoying)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Wow, really? Hmmm, that explains so much about straight people… 😛

      YESSSSS YES YES OMG. It’s really annoying, especially when I see Goodreads reviews and the person who wrote it is all like, “Why was the character a black lesbian? TOO UNREALISTIC.” Um. No? Why do people freak out so much when they think about someone who belongs to more than one minority group? Like, there are even studies and stuff about how most queer people AREN’T white.

  5. aishamonet says:

    OMG. This was fabulous!! And you are fabulous. John is less fabulous then both things, but still fabulous.

  6. SO JUST SAW THIS BUT. THE JAEGER ONE.

  7. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

