Ten LGBTQ+ Books I Really, Really Want To Read Soon

So I only recently got back into reading… after, like, a five-month break. (Long story, but you can find out why this happened here, if you are so inclined.) I started reading again at the end of May and I’m so glad I did – my break was nice, but I missed books!

I’ve been listening to City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare on audiobook – shh, yes, I’m totally counting this as “starting to read once again” – and, well, that’s been fun. And that prompted me to borrow a bunch of books from the library, now that I’m actually in the mood to read!

huntressSo without further ado, here is a list of the top ten LGBTQ+ books I would like to read sometime soon… this summer, this fall, or maybe even this winter. OMG THERE ARE SO MANY STORIES I’M EXCITED ABOUT READING NOW THAT I’M BACK IN THE HABIT OF PICKING UP BOOKS.

1. Huntress by Malinda Lo

I’m happy because Malinda Lo writes some of the BEST fantasy and science fiction that I have EVER had the pleasure of reading. I’m sad because this is her only book I haven’t yet read, and then I’ll have to – gasp – WAIT for a new one to be published.

2. Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters

I read one of her earlier books, Far From Xanadu, a few years ago but it didn’t leave a huge impression on me… this book, though, looks fun and MYSTERIOUS.

3. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCoureverything leads to you

OMGGGGG this looks like the cutest F/F romance ever! And its cover is so adorably pink. OMG OMG OMG.

4. Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters

I have been meaning to read this for aaaaages. Crossdressing lesbians in Victorian London?! THIS IS EVERYTHING I’VE EVER WANTED FROM A STORY. It’s nearly five hundred pages, too, which is even better!

5. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

An LGBTQ+ graphic novel? BRING IT ON. Also, yay for autobiographies told in graphic novel format – I haven’t found many, but have thoroughly enjoyed those that I did find. (Such as Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi.)

6. This Day in June by Gayle E. Pitman and Kristyna Litten

batwoman elegyIT’S A PICTURE BOOK! I love picture books: I feel so accomplished after reading something in only ten minutes. Never mind that it’s only thirty-two pages long in the first place…

7. Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka and J.H. Williams III

The world needs more butt-kicking lesbian superheroines, doesn’t it? (That was a rhetorical question; the answer is yes. The answer is ALWAYS yes.)

8. Sister Mischief by Laura Goode

This is about an all-girl band! It looks like so much fun, and I’m loving the outrageously-rainbow cover art.

9. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simon vs. the homo sapiens agendaBeing gay + eating Oreos = two of the best things in the whole wide world, TBH. Also, it’s about Internet friendships…. YAY!

10. GLBTQ: The Survival Guide for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Teens by Kelly Huegel

See? I do read nonfiction. I’ve borrowed this from the library before, and quickly flipped through it, but haven’t actually sat down and read the thing from cover to cover. So. I shall do that soonish.

Which of these LGBTQ+ books have you read? Are there any books on this list that you would like to read? And, finally, are there any that you would recommend I start reading right away?!

P.S. LOL, I just noticed that with the exception of #9 and #10, all my other choices are about queer girls… I guess it’s obvious where my literary interests lie. I’m usually rather “meh” when it comes to reading any love story that’s between two girls, although there are some exceptions to that mehness. (Why yes, I just coined a new word.)

-~-

You may have noticed how late this post is – sorry about that! I just got back from a two-day orientation session at the University of Iowa, where I’ll be studying this fall. It was a TON of fun and I learned so much about getting ready for college and finding my way around campus and whatnot! Orientation made me simultaneously excited and nervous, but mostly just EXHAUSTED.

So. That’s why this post was so late, and also why it’s so SHORT. I don’t often write short posts, although I do try to – I just get carried away with my ideas, and only seem to be able to keep my posts short when I have time constraints.

AAAAAANYWAY. Orientation. It was fun. I registered for classes today and managed to enroll in all the classes I wanted, which was nice. And now I’m tired and can’t think of much more to say, so I’m going to call it quits and log off and GO TO BED, where I will (hopefully) dream sweet dreams of cute girls falling in love with kickass superheroines. Or something like that.

(And speaking of stories about cute gay girls, I’m far too tired to even watch the new Carmilla episode, even though it’s only four minutes long. OH WELL. I shall watch it and fangirl with you in the morning. I was looking forward to it for the entire almost-five-hour car ride home because I’m just such a NERD that way. But I digress.)

Have a lovely night!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Ten LGBTQ+ Books I Really, Really Want To Read Soon

  1. Cait says:

    I want to read Simon’s too!!! All the blogs I follow basically have gone batty with love over it AND I WANT TO KNOW WHAT THE FUSS IS ABOUT. *hyperventilates quietly* Basically I want to read all the books of ever. Not a ridiculous ambition at all. Nope.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Same!! I have read a TON of reviews of Simon on all the different book blogs I follow!
      (Hey, we should read it at the same time and fangirl together!)

  2. YESSS I REALLY NEED TO READ EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU. That’s another one on my wishlist. Oh, also Ash, because I haven’t read any Malinda Lo yet and I feel like that needs to change.

    PS you really have to read Simon Vs
    PPS I’m so glad your orientation was awesome!! 🙂

  3. Mo says:

    So I’ve only read half of these–Huntress, Everything Leads to You, Fun Home, Batwoman: Elegy, and Sister Mischief–and I’ll admit, they haven’t been my favorites (I’ll elaborate if you want, but I’m also happy to see what you think on their own). Also, make sure you have a giant box of Kleenex when you read Fun Home.

    I’ve also been meaning to read Tipping the Velvet for a while, but my library only has it in ebook format, so I’ve been searching for some old paperback version to read.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Really? I thought Batwoman and Fun Home were your favorites…

      I, um. I actually put in a special request at the library because they had all of Waters’ other books but NOT Tipping the Velvet? So that was awesome. 😛 They told me they had to buy a copy from the UK because they couldn’t find copies here??? Which seemed odd, but w/e. I can read about crossdressing lesbians in Victorian London now, yay.

      • Mo says:

        Sorry, I didn’t make that clear. I realize you mostly heard about Batwoman and Fun Home from me–those two I do like, but the others I feel kind of meh about.

        Yay! Your library must really love you to order a book from across the pond. As for me, it looks like my grandparents’ library has it, so I’ll probably read it this July. I’m also thinking about trying to read some of Alison Bechdel’s Dykes to Watch Out For–there are a couple collected editions, as well as some being online. She also has another autobiographical book about her mom, but I haven’t read it yet.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, all right. That makes a little more sense.

      They DO love me. 🙂
      Oooooooh yes, I also want to read Dykes to Watch Out For! I think thay told me about those books a few years ago, actually… I am very very slow at reading books on my TBR list.

  4. ASDFGHJK this list. I was so close to buying Everything Leads to You the other day, but I didn’t have enough money. *cries a million fangirl tears*. Oooh, Tipping the Velvet looks super interesting! BUT CARMILLA CARMILLA Perry got in the strawberry pies…

  5. I’ve heard of some of these books, but haven’t read any…. Better do that ASAP!
    Btw, about the collab LGBTQ+ posts, not to be pushy, but could you maybe get that in in the next week or so? Thanks!

  6. orphu44 says:

    Oh my goodness, I haven’t even heard of most of these … except for Huntress and Tipping the Velvet. And even then, Huntress is the only one I’ve read. I didn’t even realize Tipping the Velvet was such a long book ( … I should read it).
    But yay for getting back into reading!

  7. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

