The Rainbow Book Tag

Hello, everyone! I’m sooooo happy to announce that I FINALLY found an LGBTQ+ blog tag! I’ve been searching for one for quite some time now, but haven’t had much luck… until now. I found this LGBTQ+ YA book tag at Brin’s Book Blog. You should go check out her posts, BTW – they’re great!

DJGADKHGDKJGKDAH I AM SO SO SO SO VERY EXCITED FOR THIS TAG. Let’s get started!

Guess who just now figured out how to use colored text on WordPress?! [Strikes a proud pose] I am brilliant, clearly. BOW DOWN TO ME. 

RED
The color of passion and desire

If you could own only one LGBTQ+ YA story for the rest of your life, which book would you choose and why? What makes you desire that particular book so much that you just have to have it on your shelf – characters, plot, author, cover, et cetera?

the miseducation of cameron postOh, this is an EASY question – I would choose The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth because it is my FAVORITE! And I don’t just mean my fave LGBTQ+ YA novel… I mean it’s my favorite book from ANY genre EVER.

I love The Miseducation of Cameron Post because of its beautiful writing and complex characters. I love the way its scenes feel so REAL, as if I were standing right beside Cameron as she experienced everything. I love the emotions it makes me feel. (ALL OF THE SADS, FYI.) I love its subject matter – coming of age in a small Montana town, kissing girls, and getting sent off to conversion therapy. I love how INTENSE this book is.

I just really really really love it, all right? GO READ IT.

ORANGE
The color of creativity

If you were to create your perfect LGBTQ+ YA book in your mind, what would it look like? Romance? Non-romance? Fantasy? Sci fi? Contemporary? Historical fiction? Some other genre/genre mix? Novel? Short story? What about the characters – lesbian, gay, bi, trans, intersex, queer, questioning, asexual? Who would you want to write this novel? Would it have a happy or sad ending? Where would it be set? Is it a series or a standalone?

OH MY GOSH I LOOOOOVE THIS QUESTION. I’d love to have a long fantasy inheritanceseries, similar to the Lord of the Rings trilogy or A Song of Ice and Firebut with, like, lots and lots of queer female characters. I don’t have any specific requests concerning its setting – just some suitably fantastical and gorgeous fantasy world.

There would be bi princesses and lesbian queens and quests and DRAGONS and buried treasure and plenty of other cool things like that… and it would have a bittersweet ending, because I love that mixture of happiness and sadness. And it’d have to be written by Malinda Lo, OBVIOUSLY, because she is incredibly talented and awesome.

I need this series, like, NOW.

YELLOW
The color of sunshine and sand

Let’s talk beach books! Imagine you are going to the beach with a friend, who is looking for some YA LGBTQ+ books to read there. Which book(s) would you recommend?

young avengers mic drop at the edge of time and spaceLGBTQ+ beach reads? Gah… I can’t think of very many, but Malinda Lo’s Imrian Duology, consisting of Adaptation and Inheritance, takes place during the summer. (Last summer, to be more specific! I started reading it right before the events of the series happened, which was pretty cool.) These books have aliens, government conspiracies, one of the few love triangles I’ve actually enjoyed, and a bisexual female protagonist! I ADORED this story.

Other than that, well… Kieron Gillen’s Young Avengers comic books aren’t set during the summer (I think), but they’re suitably lighthearted, soooo I’m going to recommend them anyway. They’re quick reads, too, and so                                                                     much fun!

GREEN
The color of money

If you could get any five YA LGBTQ+ books for free,
which five would you choose?annie on my mind

I’m going to choose five that I haven’t read yet, just to keep things interesting:

  • Annie On My Mind by Nancy Garden (classic lesbians)
  • Ask the Passengers by A.S. King (angsty lesbians)
  • Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour (adorable lesbians)
  • Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley (historical lesbians)
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (gay boys and Oreos)

about a girlBLUE
The color of longing

Which upcoming YA LGBTQ+ release(s) are you dying to get your hands on?

About a Girl by Sarah McCarry! Admittedly, this is the final book of a trilogy… a trilogy I still haven’t begun reading, but ANYWAY. It’s about a lesbian astronomer and the little part of me that still wants to be an astronaut is VERY INTRIGUED by this story’s science-y gay premise.

INDIGOafterworlds
The color of intuition

An LGBTQ+ YA book that you haven’t had the chance to read
(yet), but have a good feeling about.

Hmm, probably Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds – its protagonist is a Indian lesbian who is also a teen writer! And she sells the novel that she wrote for NaNoWriMo! And half the book is actually the story that she published! AAAAAH. THIS STORY SOUNDS LIKE PERFECTION.

VIOLET
The color of dreams

You are hosting a tea party and can invite one LGBTQ+ YA author, two LGBTQ+ YA characters, and three non-LGBTQ+ characters (from any YA book) to any restaurant/place – real or fictional – you like. Who would you invite? Where would your party take place?

ashOoh! I’d invite Malinda Lo, definitely, and Aisling from her book Ash, and then Ronan Lynch from Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle. (Ronan would absolutely HATE going to a tea party and would probably curse up a storm, but hey – I love him. I can’t NOT include Ronan!)

As for non-LGBTQ+ YA characters… probably Frankie and Sadye from E. Lockhart’s books The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and Dramarama, because they’re kickass and clever and full of ideas. Aaaaaand, let’s see… how about Ghastly Bespoke from the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy? He’s a sweetie.

Where would my party take place? Um. How about the world of Ash? I quite liked its magical, dreamlike setting.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.

-~-

So. Now it’s YOUR turn! What LGBTQ+ books – YA or otherwise – have you read lately?! And what is your ideal LGBTQ+ story?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Rainbow Book Tag

  1. This is such a cool tag! Also, sorry, but where was it in the books in which it discussed Ronan’s sexuality? I was curious because I see people mention it a lot and I’m just confused if I missed a section. 😛 but lovely post!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      Oh, well, I don’t own a copy of The Dream Thieves or I would tell you which page numbers… but it’s mentioned here:

      1) The opening scene, when we’re told that Ronan has three secrets and he’ll never tell us one of them
      2) The dream about Adam
      3) Multiple sections with Kavinsky (who teases him about having a crush on Gansey, but he was wrong… he has a crush on Adam, not Gansey)

      I thought that was a pretty clever way of introducing a character’s queerness! I mean, the readers are able to get inside Ronan’s head… why would he come out to himself? His crushes (and whatnot) would just be something he’d think about from time to time, so Maggie Stiefvater doesn’t flat-out say, “HE’S GAY,” but she doesn’t dodge the subject either – it’s not just subtext and queerbaiting, it’s right there in the text, albeit in a subtle way. I loved it. 🙂

      P.S. I also LOVED the way his queerness is present even early in the story – when Ronan thinks that Blue’s dress makes her look like a lampshade, “but he didn’t care much for lampshades.” And the bit when Adam’s getting beaten up and Ronan fights off Adam’s dad, or when he pays the rent for Adam… IDK, it’s just like… wow, dude, you have SUCH A CRUSH on that boy omg.

      • Oh, that makes sense! I caught the part, I think it was in the Dream Thieves too, where he and Adam were doing something and Adam thought something about Ronan not deserving to have a crush on him. IDK. Now I want to reread it to catch all of this because that’s awesome! Maggie Stiefvater is so clever. Like how does she manage it? *falls over trying to learn her ways* Ah, now that you mention it, I remember reading that part when Ronan helped fight off Adam’s dad and going “SHIIIIIIIP”. Hehehe. I really hope something works out for him though in the last book. 🙂 thanks!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I have no idea, but she is seriously a writing GENIUS and I am in awe of her many talents. 🙂 (Including her non-writing talents… omg, her art and music? KDFJSHGDKGJFDG.)

      *gay feels* Ronan is the best, isn’t he? I didn’t fully appreciate him until The Dream Thieves, but now I think he’s great.

      • SHE DOES ART AND MUSIC? Wow. good gosh.
        I absolutely HATED Ronan until The Dream Thieves. I thought he was rude and mean and pointless. And then Dream Thieves rolled around and I was like “COME HERE AND LET ME HUG YOU. YOU NEED HUGGING.” XD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes! Here’s some of her artwork on copies of TRC for a giveaway she did: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7392/9544321886_67b73e8277.jpg

      YES. Saaaaame.

  2. OH MY GOODNESS I LOVE THIS TAG SO MUCH ❤ ❤ ❤ Already thinking of my answers. I really need to get a new job so I can get some money so I can buy ALL THE LGBTQI+ BOOKS. ALL OF THEM. And you totally need to read Afterworlds, btw – it's so satirical and funny and brilliant and writerly and just awesome 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yesssss. *creates money from thin air and hands it to you* GO BUY ALLLLL OF THE LGBTQ+ BOOKS.

      Yay! I’ll have to see if I can find it at the library. 🙂

  3. Cait says:

    Eeep, this looks fun! ^_^ I REALLY want to read Afterworlds…because writing?! I love books about writing! IT’s like writing-inception or something. And the book you described for orange…gawsh. What are you doing, Engie. GO WRITE THAT. IT NEEDS BE WRITTEN.

    • nevillegirl says:

      It IS writing-Inception! 😀

      YES YES I SHOULD. Actually I have some story drafts that are a bit similar? Except with no dragons (yet), because every time I’ve tried to write about dragons I feel like I’m ripping off Game of Thrones. :/ I NEED MORE DRAGON IDEAS.

  4. I haven’t read like any of the books on this list and I feel horrible! Honestly, Chloe. Hehe.
    But I have read Afterworlds and damn that book is good. I didn’t enjoy the girl’s novel as much as the real world (you could probably read them separately tbh) but the irl parts were really fun.
    Will add these to my TBR asap!!!!

  5. Brin Guivera says:

    Love your answers (and you have totally reminded me that I still have to read The Miseducation of Cameron Post)!

    I think Ronan would be a hoot at the party (he would be soooo out of his comfort zone lol) and I also think your idea for a fantasy novel with queer characters is awesome! There are actually quite a few fantasy novels with gay protagonists but it would be awesome to have bi and lesbian characters take centre stage for a change. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      OMG, you HAVE to read Miseducation. IT’S AMAZING. ❤

      I feel like Ronan would probably sit there pouting and complaining? xD What a cute dork.

      Yep! I've been able to find some good fantasy novels with gay/bi men, but not many with women. :/

  6. Wait, what? YOUNG AVENGERS has lgbt in it? What kind – M/M or F/F? Whichever doesn’t matter (even though I prefer M/M :P) but I like knowing in advance. Super post! Will try to do this tag soon!

    • nevillegirl says:

      YES! It does! It has F/F and M/M (AND M/F as well)! There’s a bi dude, two gay guys, a lesbian, and a… queer girl? I don’t think we’re actually ever told what her orientation is, but she’s definitely not straight. And… I read these comics a while ago, so I can’t remember if Loki flirts with anyone in THIS particular storyline, but in other comics he’s canonically bisexual, which is awesome. 🙂

      I personally found the gay guys (who have the main romance in the story) rather bland, but I actually cried when Prodigy came out as bi because his section is awesome… and America (who’s a lesbian) KICKS BUTT OMG SHE IS ONE OF MY FAVE COMIC BOOK CHARACTERS EVER. ❤

      Thank you! 🙂

  7. Pingback: The Rainbow Book Tag | The Little Engine that Couldn't

  8. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

