Reading The Rainbow: Princess Princess

reading the rainbowReading The Rainbow is an original regular feature at Musings From Neville’s Navel. I’m a queer bookworm who loves to geek out about books and LGBTQ+ topics, so why not talk about both subjects at once?! Basically, I review books with queer characters and/or themes, discuss the pros and cons of each, and tell you which stories are worth your time!

princess princessTitle: Princess Princess

Author: Katie O’Neill

Genre: Fantasy, graphic novel, webcomic, romance

Length: 44 pages

Published by: Self-published online

Date of publication: 2014

Source: Internet

Amira and Sadie are two very different princesses who decide to take their happily ever after into their own hands.

Previous Reading The Rainbow posts may be found here.

As promised, here is another post for Reading The Rainbow! I said I wanted to publish ten or even fifteen RTR post this month, and I will try my hardest to stick to that promise…

This past winter, I read one of my first webcomics – Princess Princess by Katie O’Neill! After falling in love with graphic novels and comic books, it was only natural that I’d begin to explore the world of webcomics as well.

And Princess Princess was a marvelous introduction. It’s so much fun that I wish it were longer, but at the same time? Its shortness is one of the things that makes it great: I DEVOURED the story in no time flat.

Did you guess that Princess Princess was about two princesses? Well, if so… you are a genius. Pat yourself on the back and please accept this deliciously chocolatey cookie from me, because you’re absolutely correct. Even better, it’s about two princesses WHO FALL IN LOVE WITH EACH OTHER.

This is my ideal story, the sort of story I’ve been searching for since pretty much forever.

I love fantasy, but I’m continually disappointed by its lack of diversity. When I do manage to find a great high fantasy with LGBTQ+ characters, it’s usually rather sad and dark. I mean… A Song of Ice and Fire? It’s great, and some of my favorite LGBTQ+ characters are from that series, but so many of them DIE TERRIBLE DEATHS because everyone in that story DIES A TERRIBLE DEATH.

And sometimes I like reading a story that makes me cry, but sometimes I just want sunshine and rainbows and glitter. Happy endings. Princesses kissing each other and then riding off into the sunset, beginning a new life together and being adorable feminist queens.

And Princess Princess has that in spades.

The illustrations are DISGUSTINGLY ADORABLE, and as for the plot? It’s very simple, but I don’t even mind because A) this book is only forty-four pages long and B) I am so desperate for adorable high fantasy lesbians that I don’t even mind if the plot is a little thin!

I am so very very grateful to Katie O’Neill for writing and illustrating this webcomic – even though it is tiny, it means a great deal to me. It’s cute. It’s pure fluff. It’s high fantasy with lesbians, finally! This is the sort of story I would’ve loved to read when I was nine or ten or eleven and just beginning to realize that I liked girls. This is the sort of story that makes me want to grab a random small child, hoist them up onto my lap, and read aloud to them. IT’S SO CUTE THAT I AM EXPLODING WITH UNICORNS AND GLITTER AND GLITTERY UNICORNS.

What are you waiting for? Read Princess Princess – like, TODAY. Here’s the link; now go. GO READ. AND THEN COME BACK HERE AND GIVE ME YOUR OPINION.

I would recommend this book to…

  • Fans of high fantasy
  • Anyone who loves disgustingly adorable (and mushy!) love stories
  • Tiny cute queer children who are looking for something good to read
  • Fans of Malinda Lo’s novel Ash (IMO, the two stories have a lot in common)
  • Fans of webcomics, graphic novels, comic books, et cetera
  • Anyone who’s just looking for a quick, fun, lighthearted read

Princess Princess is SO worth your time – or should I say it’s MORE than worth your time? It’s such a quick read but to me, at least, the time I spent reading it was time well spent… a better use of time than reading a story many times its length!

If you know of any other ridiculously cutesy novels (or movies/TV shows) about queer girls, let me know! In the meantime, I’ll keep persuading every single person I know to read Princess Princess.

Rating: 4/5

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reading The Rainbow: Princess Princess

  1. HIGH FANTASY LESBIANS YES OMGGGGGG. I actually wrote a post once about why there wasn’t any diversity in fantasy – what’s up with that??? I saw this idea on the internet that was like, what if two different witches got promised someone’s first-born child? And then the two witches raised the child together and fell in love. That’s like my perfect story. Maybe I’ll write it.

    ANYWAY THIS SOUNDS FABULOUS.

    • nevillegirl says:

      YES YES YES one of my friends told me about that! OMG, I would read that story in a heartbeat. Fantasy definitely needs more diversity.

      YES IT IS AND YOU SHOULD READ IT.

  2. ASDFGHJKL I’ve read this comic like ten times because of how short it is. XD “Disgustingly adorable” is a good word choice ’cause there’s so much pink! But I’m so glad you did a review of it! So awesome.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’ve read it at least three times! 🙂 I love it.

      I know, right? SOOOOO MUCH PINK. *collapses because she just can’t cope with all of the adorableness*

  3. I read this when Evi recommended it to me and OMIGOSH IT IS PERFECTION. The two MCs are just soon cute together and I love the ending and juste everything is fabulous and pink and awesome.
    I’m really trying to write a fantasy/dystopian novel that has LGBTQ+ characters, and while this may never get written, I’m working on planning a fantasy one. The two MCs are lesbian and fall in love over the course of an adventure. One is based on gender bent Flynn Rider/Eugene from Tangled and the other is a very quiet, scholarly girl. I’m super excited about this idea and I’ll see what happens! 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

