Orphan Is The New Black

Hello, everyone! Today, I’m talking about TV… specifically, two TV shows that I’m thinking about adding to my “to-watch” list. They both sound awesome, and they’re both hella queer, but… DECISIONS, DECISIONS. I mean, I already did a post about the movies and TV shows that I want to watch this summer, and I hardly need to add anything more, but on the other hand I’ve heard soooo many good things about these two shows!

I’d probably end up watching them in late summer, after I’ve finished doing 4-H Thingies at the county fair but before I head off to college. Because a girl needs something to do with her time, and hella queer shows about pretty women sound like an excellent way of passing that time. Anyway, I shall list the pros and cons of each and then you can tell me what you think – which show you think I should watch!

orange is the new black_From IMDB:

Piper Chapman is a public relations executive with a career and a fiancé when her past suddenly catches up to her. In her mid-thirties she is sentenced to spend time in a minimum-security women’s prison in Connecticut for her association with a drug runner ten years earlier. Forced to trade power suits for prison orange, Chapman makes her way through the corrections system and adjusts to life behind bars, making friends with the many eccentric, unusual and unexpected people she meets.

Pros

  • Sooooooooooooooooooooooo many LGBTQ+ characters
  • It’s hilarious, apparently?
  • LAVERNE COX OMG OMG OMGGGGGG
  • A bunch of my friends, both queer and straight, watch this show, so I’d have loads of people to fangirl with
  • Samira Wiley is part of the cast AND SHE IS FLIPPIN’ GORGEOUS OH MY GOD I CANNOT HANDLE HER HOTNESS
  • There are soooo many female characters and that’s a welcome change from most other popular shows
  • One of the characters is a transgender woman AND SHE’S ACTUALLY PLAYED BY A TRANS ACTRESS YIPPEE

Cons

  • It’s contemporary and that genre is usually not my favorite
  • The main character is technically bi but I’ve heard that the show is afraid to label her as such?
  • Not quite sure if I’m comfortable with that much stuff about sex and drugs

Season three will premiere on June twelfth and the show is available on Netflix – which my family has, yay! Even better, the show is a Netflix original, meaning that all the new episodes will be available for viewing at the same time.

orphan blackFrom IMDB:

When Sarah witnesses the suicide of a woman, Beth – who looks like her – she decides to steal Beth’s identity – boyfriend and money included – in an attempt to begin a new life for herself. But assuming Beth’s life – Sarah eventually learns that Beth was her clone – doesn’t go as smoothly as she anticipates because Beth was a cop caught in the middle of a deadly conspiracy, making Sarah the new target. Sarah must fight to stay alive while trying to escape from the complex web.

Pros

  • SCIENCE FICTION WITH QUEER WOMEN WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT FROM LIFE?
  • Clones!
  • Deals with Big Important Questions About Scientific Ethics
  • One of the characters is a trans man
  • One of the main characters is a scientist (a really cute one, BTW) and her girlfriend is also a scientist and they do science-y things together and… I don’t know, I think that’s really adorable
  • Did I mention that said girlfriend has a sexy French accent and that… OMG, Engie is so very very gay and weak?
  • One of the characters is bisexual and the show doesn’t avoid labeling her!
  • The leading actress (Tatiana Maslany) plays nine different characters and I think that’s fantastic

Cons

  • I’m pretty sure it’s Super Serious and not funny?
  • Actually I know that season three is sad
  • Its trans character isn’t played by a trans actor
  • Not quite as many LGBTQ+ characters as Orange Is The New Black

There are currently three seasons, but if I’m not sure how many (if any) seasons are available for US Netflix users. Apparently seasons one and two can be streamed through Amazon Prime Instant Video, but I would have to figure out how that service even works first.

-~-

Well, then. I’d really appreciate it if you would recommend which show I should watch – I’ll doubtless watch both shows eventually, but I wanna know which one I should choose for this summer versus for, like, months and months from now! And even if you haven’t seen either Orange Is The New Black or Orphan Black, which show sounds more interesting to you? I NEED SOME ANSWERS BECAUSE I CAN’T DECIDE. Both shows sound lovely, but there are only so many hours in a day, so I’m limiting myself to just one. But which one?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Orphan Is The New Black

  1. Cait says:

    I HAVEN’T SEEN EITHER. #superhelpfulCait But I want to watch Orphan Black because criiiiiime. I love crimey things. Also clones sound cool. Also black. So watch them both, obviously, and then tell ME if they’re good. xD heh. heheheh.

  2. First of all, I love the title of this post. You wouldn’t think two shows like this would get mixed up, but they so, so easily do.

    Orphan Black is great but definitely not something you sit down to watch if you’re after a relaxing summer afternoon. The first season is by far the best in terms of tension and intrigue, and I was stressed out and entirely hooked for most of the time I was watching it. It has, wonder of wonders, a mostly female cast, and themes that deal with a lot of important issues to women as well as letting them be badass and multi-faceted in all sorts of ways. Tatiana does an excptional job with her acting, which is reason enough to watch it :L

    I wouldn’t watch it JUST for the queer girls, though–that aspect is pretty disappointing, without spoiling too much, simply because the relationship itself is actually based on an unhealthy power play. They tried to balance it off with all the cute sciencey stuff, but it fell flat for me. The trans character is also only there for one episode, and interesting as it was, it kind of felt like a token.

    But if you’re interested in badass mums and found family stories and suburban housewives beating people up, definitely give it a shot!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, yeah… I keep confusing the two titles and being all like, “Oh yeah, I want to watch Orange Black!” Um. What. 😛

      Ughhhh, really? That sucks… it’s odd, though, I haven’t seen anything on the Internet about that aspect of their relationship? IDK.

      Thanks for pointing that out, though, so I know what I’m in for if I do choose OB.

      (…is Cosima’s relationship with IDK-her-name-but-that-other-woman OK, though? Like… I’ve only heard this stuff secondhand from friends who are fans, but I thought she broke up with Delphine and is dating someone else now?? Maybe?)

      “Suburban housewives beating people up” sounds delightful. 😛 And I loooove found family stories dfkgsjfskjgfg omg!

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    Orphan Black has its light hearted moments even if it’s mostly not funny — in season three so far, Donny and Alison are most of the comic relief; Felix is sassy and hilarious a lot of the time, too. But on the whole it is a more serious show. Still. I like it a lot. I’m a bit behind on season three because of exams — I’m going to catch up soon. The acting in the show is phenomenal.

    • nevillegirl says:

      From everything I’ve seen/heard, Felix sounds wonderful. 😀

      Is Alison the blonde one? I can’t remember anyone’s name, I literally just know “this one’s definitely Cosima” and then I just call all of the ones either Sarah or Alison. Oh, and Tony – I know which one is Tony.
      But other than that, I am very confused about all the clones. 😛

  4. Heather says:

    I’ve only seen Orphan Black, and you have to watch it. It’s so good. You forget that Tatiana Maslani plays so many characters and that they’re characters in and of themselves. Also, it’s a Canadian show, and being a Canadian I love it. Watch it. You won’t be disappointed.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’ve only seen a few of OB’s trailers, and I’m *already* like “…wait what how does she play SO MANY PEOPLE they must have a really good makeup & costuming department omg.” 😀

  5. matttblack42 says:

    *reads comments to find that Orphan Black is winning*

    No! Orange is the New Black, all the way. And it’s perfect timing, what with season 3 coming out in two days, three hours and thirty minutes (not that I’m counting). It’s hilarious and affecting, and it shines the spotlight on a group of people who you rarely ever see on TV. Plus, there’s Crazy Eyes.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OB certainly does seem to be winning… 😀

      OMG. Yesssssss Shakespeare. I’m cracking up, that’s awesome.

      That is true… I can’t think of any other shows that are remotely similar?? I saw a thingy online about how “OITNB has some of the best LGBTQ+ representation of any show today, which is… cool but unfortunate, because apparently one of the few places queer women can see themselves on TV is in PRISON” and I just. FSJGHKFHSGFKDSJGLSH

  6. matttblack42 says:

    No! Orphan Black can’t win! Samirah Wiley isn’t in it! She plays one of the best characters. We’re still not sure what she’s in for exactly, but I like to think it’s for something awesome, like round-house kicking a homophobe in the face.

    Yeah, that upsetting. Though I should also mention that OITNB not only features a lot of LGBTQ+ characters, but also women of color and women with mental illnesses (and various combinations of those three). I can’t really think of any other show that seriously deals with mentally ill characters.

  7. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

