“The Girl King” & Some Intense Fangirling About Kristina, Queen Of Sweden

Today is the tenth of June; therefore, I am one-third of the way through my month-long LGBTQ+ Pride post extravaganza… thingy. And it’s going very well so far! I haven’t missed a single day yet, and I’m really enjoying myself – all these posts are fun to write. (And I enjoy reading your comments and reactions to them!)

But some posts are more fun to write than others, honestly – because I’ve been looking forward to them for quite a while now! Some of the posts you’ve seen (and will see) this month are EXTRA-SPECIAL to me because they’re about stuff that I really, really adore.

And that includes this post! I’ve been saving up this post idea for a few months now, ever since Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes shared an awesome link with me… she knows me too well, knows what will make me fangirl. (Thanks, you NERD.)

This is the trailer for an upcoming Finnish film, The Girl King:

 

[Rolls around on the ground, flailing and grinning]

Can I just say that this is everything I’ve ever wanted from a story? Because this IS everything I’ve ever wanted from a story.

Princesses.

Queer princesses.

Queer princesses KICKING ASS.

Beautiful women.

Swordfighting.

Cross-dressing.

Princesses looking hella gorgeous and intimidating in armor.

(Did I mention the swordfighting already? SWORDFIGHTING. OMG.)

Political intrigue.

Ladies kissing other ladies.

Ridiculously fancy old-fashioned clothes.

A foreign setting.

AN AMAZING HEROINE.

This is all based on a true story, by the way, which makes it even better. Queen Kristina of Sweden was a real person who was born in 1626 and died in 1689. She was only six when she succeeded her father on the throne after his death in a battle, and began ruling the country LIKE FOR REALSIES at the age of eighteen.

She was considered one of the most educated women of the seventeenth century, speaking some nine languages. She was particularly interested in philosophy, mathematics, and alchemy.

She never married, and in fact ended up abdicating the throne only three years after her coronation (but twenty-one years after succeeding her father) because the royal council was so frustrated with her continuous refusal to marry. (And then basically spent the rest of her years traveling around southern Europe and doing whatever she wished. #yougogirl)

And oh boy, she was super super queer. Historians disagree on whether she was bisexual or a lesbian, but the one thing they ALL agree on is that she had, like, sooooo many girlfriends. She hated feminine fashion and dressed primarily in men’s clothes throughout her life. At her coronation the official title she held was “king,” and there seems to be some speculation as to whether or not she was intersex? We don’t know for sure, though, because obviously only her skeleton is left and scientists don’t have enough information to know how being intersex would affect one’s skeletal structure.

All in all, pretty cool stuff.

Can you tell I did a ton of googling just now? I couldn’t help myself – Kristina sounds fascinating, and I love learning about powerful, butt-kicking women in history. I am so so SO glad that her life story is being turned into a film. (Technically, there’s already a film about her, produced in 1933 with Greta Garbo as the lead, buuuuuut… it only hinted at all the queer stuff, so.)

As mentioned above, The Girl King is a Finnish film and will be released in Canada, German, and Finland (duh) in September 2015. It seems like some US distributor also has rights to the movie, but I can’t for the life of me find out which one, and I have no idea WHEN I’ll be able to see it here.

Nevertheless, I am tremendously excited for this film.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Girl King” & Some Intense Fangirling About Kristina, Queen Of Sweden

  1. Ohmigosh this seems so cool! Queer princesses sound awesome!

  2. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Pingback: 2015 End-Of-Year Book Survey! | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: 3 LGBTQ+ Movies I Want To Watch This Summer | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

