3 LGBTQ+ Thingies In The News: “Fun Home” & Caitlyn Jenner & An Upcoming US Supreme Court Ruling On Marriage Equality

Hey, everyone. So, I know this post is much shorter than usual, but there’s a good reason – some of my upcoming posts (movie reviews! collab posts! collab movie reviews! yay!) will be super-long. I’m trying to strike a balance between long and short posts, especially because there is often a drop in comments and page views whenever I publish a Ridiculously Enormous Post. (Is the length intimidating, peoples? I WANT TO KNOW.)

Anyway, today I thought I’d share some LGBTQ+ news… thingies… with you? Here are some of the things that have happened lately, and relevant linkies upon which to click.

Enjoy!

1. Fun Home won five Tony Awards this week

“Tony history was made with the first all-female team winning for best score – women take up space with their songs and stories. Children who saw Sydney Lucas sing might have found a mirror; every gay adult found a mirror for the kid they once were. Actresses who might have otherwise sent themselves through the flower press can point to this musical and say, there. There. It is the Best Musical. For once in our damn lives, something made for mainstream labeled the masculine queer woman as ‘best.'”

– Autostraddle, “‘Fun Home’ Made History Last Night

All right, so I have yet to see this musical (I’ve never seen a musical, not even a filmed version or whatever they’re called) or even read the graphic novel that it’s based on, but this is HUGE. Fun Home is Alison Bechdel’s memoir about growing up, coming out as a lesbian, and discovering that her father, too, was gay.

Broadway (and musicals in general) have this reputation for being really, really gay… but their diversity usually consists of gay men, not lesbians. And butch lesbians? HAHAHAHA FORGET ABOUT IT – except in Fun Home.

Good. GOOD. I’m glad that this musical won, and I hope that things are slowly but surely beginning to change in the realm of stories. There aren’t a ton of portrayals – positive portrayals – of butch queer women in the media, and that is so very very frustrating. I can’t wait until things are different.

2. Caitlyn Jenner

The International Olympic Committee refuses to revoke her gold medal (!!!) and has even offered to change her name in the official records that will appear at the US Olympic Museum they’re currently building in Colorado Springs, CO (!!!!!!!!!).

3. US Supreme Court will rule on marriage equality later this month

…I have so many conflicting feelings about this. I do want SCOTUS to rule in favor of marriage equality, and I suspect they probably will – this issue has gained so much momentum that it’ll be difficult to backpedal now.

And yet I can’t help but feel that when the decision is announced, a whole bunch of straight allies will throw up their hands and go, “Well, I guess equality has been achieved! Our work here is done.” I don’t know… marriage equality is the only issue many allies know/care about, at least here in the United States. I don’t know. I’ll definitely be curious to see what happens next, and which issues will be talked about in days and months and years to come.

(Speaking of that, I’m… mildly worried that there will be just as much of a fight for, say, adoption rights or nondiscrimination laws in the workplace as there was for marriage equality. Can we just have our rights? Without fighting for them for a decade or two?)

 

-~-

…are there any other links about LGBTQ+ stuff in the news that you’d like to share with me? I’d love to see them, and even though this post was super-duper short, I really liked writing it: I don’t do a ton of posts about current events in the queer community, but it’s always a nice change from all the posts about books. Isn’t it?

Have a lovely night!

P.S. Yes, I am too fond of the word “thingy” (and “stuff”) and yes, I am far too fond of ampersands. But they’re so cute and squiggly, so what more can I say?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3 LGBTQ+ Thingies In The News: “Fun Home” & Caitlyn Jenner & An Upcoming US Supreme Court Ruling On Marriage Equality

  1. YAY CAITLYN JENNER. Also, you’re right about gay marriage – it’s gaining momentum in Australia too (except our dickhead Prime Minister pretty much turns a blind eye to EVERYTHING…ugh) but there are SO many other issues.

    Very excited for these collab posts 🙂 OH, speaking of which, I AM still doing the graduation post thing – sorry it’s taking so long, I haven’t graduated yet and I’m flooded with assessments 😛

  2. Mo says:

    Someday, Engie. Someday you shall understand the joys of musicals. Anyways, typically a filmed musical is called a movie musical, unless it’s a filmed version of a stage production, when it is called a proshot. And then of course there are illegal videos, but that’s a whole different story…

    I mean, you know I love Fun Home, but to actually relate to this post, there was an AfterEllen article about queer women in musical theatre (and yes, I could name all the couples going in, thank you very much).

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes, hopefully. 😛 I think Rent is on Netflix… I should watch that.

      OK, thanks for clarifying. 😛 I wasn’t sure what they were called.

      Ooh, thanks!

  3. YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN THE MOST CLASSIC SOUND OF MUSIC? OR MARY POPPINS? OR WICKED? CHILD. Get yourself a musical movie night!
    Ahem.
    That’s an interesting point you brought up about straight allies only there for marriage equality. That’s definitely not me! Just like feminism, I won’t stop fighting until everything is achieved.
    And Caitlyn Jenner’s whole story and process is so cool. I really hope it brings more light to transgender people since she’s more famous than others.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I might’ve seen Mary Poppins? When I was little? Who knows. 😛

      Well, I guess you’re really awesome, then. 😛 I have noticed that most of the allies only there for marriage equality tend to be my parents’ generation (and haven’t been exposed to any other LGBTQ+ topics??? IDK), so that might be a factor. Our generation seems to know more about it at a younger age.

      Saaaaaame. 🙂

  4. Pingback: An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

