Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2015 – College, Comics, & A Collection Of Cool Songs

Hello, everyone! Today is the last day of spring! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from March twentieth through through June twentieth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Spring

DSCN5319Taken in June at a 4-H photography workshop

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Spring

“I could never tell you that what you believe is wrong, any more than I could tell you that what you believe is right. It seems to me that the universe holds far too many secrets to deal in absolutes, and anyone who tries runs the risk of being found out a fool. I am many things, but I like to think that a fool is not one of them.”

– The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy

This is one of my favorite Skulduggery quotes… most of the time he’s either sarcastic or jokey, but every so often we catch him in a serious mood. And the things he says then are AMAZING and eloquent. I adore you, Skulduggery. THANKS FOR BEING AWESOME. I’LL MISS BEING ABLE TO READ BRAND-NEW STORIES ABOUT YOU AND VAL.

This Spring In One Word

Change.

Most Popular Review This Spring

I didn’t write any formal book reviews this spring? But I did see Avengers: Age of Ultron and then I reviewed it! I wasn’t THAT impressed by it, but it wasn’t the worst movie ever, either, so… I don’t know? It was OK, but definitely not my favorite Marvel movie.

Top Two Books I Read This Spring

  1. Um, soooo… I only read two books this spring?! I’m still in a reading slump, ew. ANYWAY. My favorite was The Dying of the Light, the final book in Derek Landy’s AMAZING Skulduggery Pleasant series. OMG. I laughed, I cried… I felt ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. It was great. (But so many characters died… nooooooo!)
  2. I also read Ms. Marvel, Volume 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson. OMG I LOVE KAMALA KHAN. Her superheroine costume is awesome.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Summer

  1. I can’t wait to exhibit my 4-H projects at the county fair! This is my tenth and final year, so I’m quite excited. I’ll be there pretty much everyday: Turning in my projects, volunteering at various 4-H activities, working in the 4-H office as a clerk, attending ten-year-member events, and representing my county’s 4-H program as a Reserve Achievement Ambassador.
  2. On August sixteenth, I head off to COLLEGE! I’ll be attending the University of Iowa, where I plan to double-major in creative writing and journalism. I’m so so excited, but also so so scared and nervous! GAH.

Three New Obsessions This Spring

  1. I started watching the X-Men movies! Why oh why did I use to think they were ridiculous and not worth bothering with?! They’re GREAT. Although Wolverine’s hair is a bit ridiculous. I looooove Professor X and Magneto and Rogue and Mystique and all the rest.
  2. I got my very own phone just a few days ago (finally!) and I have become… a little obsessed with it. But I’m working on that! The first night I had it, I stayed up way too late using it, but since then I’ve been shutting it off early and reading or something because I DON’T NEED TO BE ON MY PHONE AT ALL HOURS OF THE NIGHT.
  3. I hadn’t listened to audiobooks in forever but this spring I downloaded a bunch to my iPod! I’m currently listening to Cassandra Clare’s City of Ashes… I accidentally listened to some of the sections out of order, so I had to go back and figure out what I missed and then relisten to all the bits in order because otherwise I would’ve remained so confused.

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Spring

  1. Surprisingly, the most popular post of them all was… 82 Reasons I Enjoyed Cinderella? Huh. I wasn’t expecting that one to be the most popular, but I’m glad you all enjoyed it! (And you should totally go see this movie, if you haven’t already – it’s RIDICULOUSLY colorful and glittery. OMG. I fangirled.)
  2. Calling All Bloggers Who Are Graduating From Secondary School Within This School Year! was, as you may have already guessed… a call-out post for those who were interested in writing short pieces for a collab post about senior year! These posts will be published in July, provided the partipants actually send me their contributions… oh, dear…
  3. In 5 Things I Recently Did To Get Ready For College, I talked about scholarships, math placement tests, and more.
  4. Some Thoughts On That One Time I Labeled Myself As Questioning was a very personal post and as such, a little difficult to write. But you loved it! Apparently! I’m glad. A bunch of people said it was very helpful and true and that made me so so happy.
  5. I’m Glad That The NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program Is A Thing That Exists was my goodbye to an amazing website and truly fantastic community of writers. THANK YOU FOR BEING AWESOME AND ENCOURAGING MY PASSION FOR STORIES.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Spring

  1. Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes talked about accuracy, authenticity, and confusion in her studies in her post Nobody Knows: My Degree Is Unteaching Me. (She’s studying Anglo-Saxon, Norse, & Celtic at Cambridge. Evidently it’s pretty weird and confusing.)
  2. I desperately NEED the powers Emily @ Loony Literate lists in her post Ten Bookish Superpowers Every Reader Needs! Where is MY Invisibility Cloak?!
  3. Chloe @ The Book Hugger discussed inspiration, diversity, and J.K. Rowling in her post Why Do I Write?
  4. Cait @ Paper Fury is clearly the GREATEST because of her post Who Is The Better Sherlock? OMG CAIT I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU ENJOYED ELEMENTARY IT IS THE BESTEST. Now go read the Arthur Conan Doyle originals.
  5. Mawa Mahima @ All Things Wordy talked about the awesomeness of LISTS in her post How-to To Do Lists.

Five Things That Happened This Spring

  1. I graduated! IT WAS GLORIOUS. But also low-key. I was sooo happy to finally be done with high school, but at the same time… I pretty much just finished my last assignment and that was it? We went out for dinner that night, but otherwise we didn’t do anything special. But that’s totally OK! I’d rather have a quiet celebration, because I am a teeny tiny introvert.
  2. On June third and fourth, I attended an orientation session at the U of Iowa! It was AWESOME. I can actually sort of find my way around the campus now, LOL. And I registered for all my classes on the second day of orientation! I managed to get all the classes I wanted, yay!
  3. I went to a comic book store for the very first time! IT WAS AWESOME. I bought Captain America: The Winter Soldier by Ed Brubaker right away because I’ve read it before and just love it soooo much. CAPTAIN AMERICA FTW TBH.
  4. I freaked out a lot because of Game of Thrones… for both good and bad reasons. I HATE how the showrunners changed the Sand Snakes, but Jon was awesome! ALSO OMG I JUST WANT TO WRAP CERSEI AND SANSA IN FUZZY BLANKETS AND TELL THEM EVERYTHING WILL BE OK.
  5. very ambitiously decided to write an entire month’s worth of LGBTQ+ posts for Pride, and so far it’s going very well! I haven’t missed a single day yet… and my blog views have skyrocketed!

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Spring

1. “Buzzcut Season” – Lorde

My appreciation for Lorde is a recent development – from sometime within the last month, maybe? ANYWAY. This is one of my favorites from her. PRAISE THE LORDE.

2. “It Will Come Back” – Hozier

My online friend Annie told me to listen to this… she said it reminded her of the relationship between Carmilla & Laura on Carmilla. And OMG I HAVE TO AGREE.

3. “Captain America” (Captain America: The Winter Soldier) – Henry Jackman

…what can I say? I rewatched this movie (and The First Avenger, too!) this spring because I wanted to show my mom how awesome they are. So I’ve been listening to this film score a lot. This particular piece takes a while to really get going, but once it does? OOH. IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL. Just like Peggy Carter. 

4. “Where The Streets Have No Name” [cover] – 2CELLOS

I loooooove instrumental covers! 2CELLOS is a Croatian music duo and they’re awesome. I actually think I might prefer this cover to the U2 original? I feel like this one has more power and amazingness. And they get so absorbed in the music! OMG.

5. “Blank Space” – Taylor Swift

Yes, I will admit that I did not listen to this song until about March or so. Even though it’d been released MONTHS before. One of my friends was obsessed with Taylor’s country music (and she still is, I think) but I could never get into it, no matter how much she played it? Country just isn’t my thing. But this song? Yeah, this is more to my tastes… my other favorites from 1989 are “Bad Blood” (of course) and “Style.” Also can we please talk about how “Blank Space” has the best mondegreen ever? “ALL THE LONELY STARBUCKS LOVERS.” I’m crying from laughing so hard.

6. “Love Will Have Its Sacrifices” (Carmilla) – SOLES

I was obsessed with this song last fall as well, when the full version was released after the season one finale. AND NOW SEASON TWO IS IN FULL SWING. So I’ve been listening to this a lot lately! Funny story: I hadn’t heard it in months – ever since the Christmas special, basically – and then when I heard it again it was just OMG MEMORIES and FANGIRLING and OMG SO MANY GAY FEELINGS AT ONCE. It was great. [Wipes away a tear of joy]

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this spring? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, LGBTQ+, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2015 – College, Comics, & A Collection Of Cool Songs

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ahh! An incredible recap. SO MUCH. AWESOME. *clicks all the things* Gawsh, I haven’t been commenting as much, WHICH IS SADNESS FOR ME. *glares at the busyness of life* But so awesome that your LGBTQ+ are making your blog go wild too!! AFJSKLD SO GREAT. And that Skulduggery Quote. I love it. I LOVE IT. I really need to stop being a wuss and get back into reading them. FJDASKLF ELEMENTARY IS AMAZING. Or, um, was amazing??? I watched the first episode of S3 and it made me not want to watch ANY more ever. Joan hates Sherlock for the stupidest little thing. o.O And he got a new Watson?????? LIKE. NO. I CANNOT. I’m not sure I’m going to watch S3, tbh. I need to preserve the awesomeness that is S1 and S2. because they are my favourite sherlock/Watson duo EVER. *hyperventilates with feels*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      UGH ALKJSGALSKGSDG ELEMENTARY IS SO AMAZING. And I compeltely understand that feeling – I wish I hadn’t read the later Maximum Ride books, because they completely ruined the series! 😦 I should’ve preserved the first book’s awesomeness. xD

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m rereading City of Ashes at the moment — matchy matchy book high five!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! *high-five* I haven’t listened to any more chapters in a few days, but I should get back to that… the humor reminds me a bit of Skulduggery Pleasant (although not QUITE as funny/deadpan/snarky), and that might help me get over the massive bookish hangover I’m experiencing after TDotL. :/

  3. SWIFTIES UNITE!!!!!!!!
    Thanks so much for mentioning my blog! I love yours soooooooo much. I really love your post on the label “questioning.” I saw that it helped a lot of people in the comments section, and it was great you were so open.
    Have an awesome summer!

  4. moosha23 says:

    Wow, so much happened! CONGRATS ON GRADUATING

  5. moosha23 says:

    I will continue on another comment because my keyboard had some sort of fit and decided to post the comment too early. GAH.
    As I was going to say I can relate to not graduating with a bang a little considering how I have to wait a whole month before we have prom (sigh), and finally end the year and my secondary school years with a big celebration.
    Also got a few invites to welcome days to the different colleges (not Unis, they’re the two years we study A-levels) which I’m too lazy to attend (I just want complete abandon this summer, is that too much to ask?).
    Gosh I need to go out to dinner with the family soon.
    Taylor Swift sure has upped her game these days, I’m still a bit sceptic of her songs. Bad Blood was brilliant, but the only thing I didn’t like was how the girls were picking fights with each other.
    But other than that, this season’s been alright. A lot better than last season. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe. *scolds your computer*

      Yeah, I guess… I saw it explained on someone’s blog and I really agreed with it but NOW I CAN’T FIND THE LINK UGH anyway it was basically about how you definitely shouldn’t go around picking fights with other women (or anyone TBH) just to cause trouble, but if someone treated you terribly, you shouldn’t have to pretend like nothing happened because “lol women supporting each other all the time.” ‘Cause it’s supposed to be about her friendship with Katy Perry? So, anyway. IDK, just my/their two cents.

  6. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

