12 Pride Celebrations I Want To Attend Someday

Two days ago, I read Lonely Planet’s Guide to Pride: 20 Cities & Their Celebrations and… didn’t really love it? I was SO disappointed. But! I always try to look on the bright side, and find something I can appreciate.

In this case, I love how EXCITED and CURIOUS I am after reading this book’s descriptions of various Pride parades – I have a major urge to travel now! I want to attend SO MANY PRIDES someday, and Lonely Planet’s Guide to Pride made me super pumped about (hopefully) visiting many many different cities and countries some day.

So I’ve made a list! Here are the top ten LGBTQ+ Pride celebrations I would like to attend someday… if I had, like, infinite amounts of money. Or possibly my own private jet. Or the TARDIS.

1. Chicago

It takes only an hour or so to get from my hometown (in Indiana) to this city via train! I really really really want to go because it’s soooo close to where I live that I could make a day trip out of it! I hope to go within the next few years, maybe with some friends.

nyc pride2. New York City

Because this is where Pride began, and I LOVE HISTORY THINGS. I would love to visit the Stonewall Inn… and also Big Gay Ice Cream. (I would get a cone with rainbow sprinkles, obviously.) I wish I could go this year, because Ian McKellen AKA Gandalf the Gay is one of the parade’s grand marshals! ASLKJFASKLJFASLFAASFJALJKF.

3. Madrid

Spain is one of the most LGBTQ+ friendly nations in the world! Marriage equality and joint adoption rights have been the law of the land since 2005, and the country also has trans right and anti-discrimination laws.

And I have a bisexual friend who lives in Madrid! It would be awesome to visit her – after more than five years apart – and go to Pride! I’ve been studying Spanish for the past few years, so I could ask her semi-intelligent questions such as, “¡¿Dónde está la paella y las mujeres hermosas?!”* and she would respond, “¡Aquí están!”**

*”Where is the paella and the beautiful women?!”
**”Here they are!”

4. Indianapolis

Indy is the most boring city in the whole entire world according to yours truly, buuuuut… queerness makes everything better, doesn’t it? And it’s only a few hours south of my house, so I may as well go! I’d love to see the look on our homophobic governor’s face when the Pride parade is happening… or does he lock himself up in his office and hide? Probably the latter.

5. San Francisco

Because San Francisco is SUPER FREAKING GAY. Ridiculously gay. I would totally move to that city if the cost of living there weren’t so high. Also, it has AMAZING FOOD. Someday I would love to go there with my girlfriend for like a week or so, attending Pride celebrations during the day and going out to eat at a different restaurant every night. DUMPLINGS, PEOPLE. DUMPLINGSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

6. Brighton

I’ve heard that Brighton is the British equivalent of San Francisco! Their Pride is also the largest in the UK, so I’d love to visit – and maybe combine it with a trip to another city further down on this list? (#10.)

7. Seattle

Seattle is HELLA LESBIAN. I’ve been there before but I was only a few months ago, so obviously I don’t remember anything about that trip! Also, I was far too young to be flirting with gorgeous women back then. Soooooooooo clearly I need to visit again for their Pride! And I can go to the EMP Museum and Pike Palace Market while I’m there!

8. Vancouver

Because my cute, funny, sweet, talented friend Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words lives in British Columbia! Also, Vancouver apparently has one of the largest LGBTQ+ bookstores in Canada, so we could go there to ooh and aah at all the gay stories… and hopefully walk out with an armful of books!

9. Iowa City

So I know this place isn’t WORLD FAMOUS or anything, but it’s where my future college – the University of Iowa – is located! If I stick around during the summer for extra classes (and I probably will at least once), then I’d love to go to their Pride! Fun fact: The U of Iowa was the first college in the nation to have a GSA!

10. London

I would love to visit that city anyway, so why not go during Pride?! As with the other foreign cities on this list, I’d love to see the differences, if any, between Pride in the USA and Pride overseas. Like, what human rights are they fighting really hard for in another country that we either already have or haven’t even begun to campaign for?

amsterdam pride11. Amsterdam

I freaked out about Amsterdam’s Pride parade last week because OH MY GOSH THEIR PRIDE IS HELD ON A RIVER IN BOATS. Oh my god. That’s so cool, and such a good use of one of the city’s most unique features!

12. Dublin

I’ll have to double-check the dates, but the U of Iowa has a study-abroad program held in Dublin. (And it’s aimed at English majors, to boot! YAAAAAAY!) If there’s a summer program, then I would so go to Dublin Pride! Also, they just legalized marriage equality and expanded transgender rights! Hurrah!

-~-

Dublin, Vancouver, and London held their Pride parades today, while San Francisco, New York City, Seattle, and Chicago are all hosting theirs tomorrow! (On the anniversary of the Stonewall Riots, which will be the topic of tomorrow’s post.) The other cities either celebrated in early June or will do so in July or August. While writing this post, I looked at a bunch of pictures of people in today’s parades / people getting ready for tomorrow’s parades; you may want to as well! It was pretty cool.

Which Pride celebrations would YOU like to attend someday? (And why?!) Have you ever been to any Pride – large or small, famous or virtually unknown – before? Be sure to tell me all about it in the comment section below!

P.S. I recently did a collab post with Chloe @ The Book Hugger on the subject of LGBTQ+ YA books! You can read the post here if you’re interested. Thanks for letting me be part of this, Chloe! Also, kudos to all the other participants – Emily @ Loony Literate, Evi @ Adventuring Through Pages, and John @ Teens Can Write, Too! I loved reading what you had to say!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 12 Pride Celebrations I Want To Attend Someday

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    Huh, I was sure London was bigger than Brighton, but maybe there are different ways of measuring it (number of people, length of parade, etc etc). Tried Googling it, but couldn’t find proper numbers. Heh. Maybe it’s just the Londoner in me, assuming we’re the largest; Brighton certainly is something of a queer hotspot. (There’s a folk tune called “Brighton Camp” and more than once people around me have made jokes about how that says it all, really.)

    I was going to go to London Pride, which was yesterday, but didn’t have the spoons, alas. Maybe next year I’ll have more energy. Brighton’s in August, but I think I’m away at the time, so I don’t think I’ll be making it to that either.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, IDK how they calculated that. Maybe Brighton is to London what San Francisco is to New York? I mean, you’d think NYC Pride would be bigger (and more well known) because A) that’s where Pride STARTED and B) NYC is ten times as big as SF, but… that’s not the case. SF is hella liberal. 😀

      Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t feel well enough to go! Maybe you can go next year? *sends hugs*

  2. Pingback: 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

