2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August

HELLO, EVERYONE!

My 2015 Pride blogfest thingy officially concluded last night! OMG I AM SO GLAD I DECIDED TO DO IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. And I’m even happier knowing that I didn’t miss a single day, posting-wise!

WOW. That was an experience. I haven’t written that many posts in one month since… oh gosh, I don’t even remember off the top of my head. Let me go check my Archives widget. OK, the most posts I did recently was twenty-four, and that was back in August of last year. And before that? Well, I did write thirty-two posts as part of a blogging challenge wayyyyyy back in AUGUST 2011!

So basically, I haven’t done that for a while. I average around eighteen or nineteen posts each month – one post on each odd-numbered days, and usually a few extra posts thrown in on special occasions.

I DON’T USUALLY WRITE THIS MANY POSTS IN ONE MONTH. So this Pride blogfest thingy was challenging! I’m not used to having to A) get an idea and B) write a decent post about it EVERY. SINGLE. DAY!

But please don’t think I’m complaining! I’m glad I did this. It was just… intense.

I’m glad I devoted last month to LGBTQ+ posts. I had a lot of them saved up just for Pride Month, because I am a person with way too many ideas in her head! I’m also glad that I spent the entire month saying things that are difficult to say, as I mentioned in last night’s post. I’m trying to become more comfortable expressing myself and being out and whatnot, and I was determined to stick with this blogfest thingy even when I wanted to quit.

ANYWAY. The rest of this post is comprised of two sections: The past and the future, more or less. First I’m going to do a quick recap of last month’s posts, and then I’ll talk about what posts you can expect to see here in the next few months! Enjoy!

-~-

So in case you missed any of my posts and want to check them out… here are all thirty of them, sorted according to subject!

Reading The Rainbow

General bookish stuff

Movies/TV

Current events

Personal

Miscellaneous 

That one time I did not post about LGBTQ+ stuff

-~-

OH. MY. GOD. I can post about whatever I want now?! YAY YAY YAY!

I mean, it’s not like anyone was making me write LGBTQ+ posts for an entire month, but I did say that I was going to, and I like to stick to my promises. So I spent an entire month doing that, and it was fun, but I’m also super excited to write about ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING now!

Honestly, I think spending a very long time writing about any one topic can be very refreshing. It’s fun to focus so strongly on just one thing, and when you’re done? It’s sooooo refreshing to know that you can post about anything now!

I don’t know about you, buuuuut… if I’m being COMPLETELY honest, I’d been feeling pretty lackluster about blogging before I started my 2015 Pride blogfest thingy. I loooove blogging, but sometimes I also felt like it was a chore! And now I don’t feel that way anymore, because I am SERIOUSLY EXCITED about writing all the non-LGBTQ+ posts I wasn’t able to publish last month!

Now I’m like, “Ooh! I have sixty-three kazillion book tags saved up! SLKDGDFLKGSDLGHD!”

Well, now you know that some of my upcoming posts will be book tags. What else can you expect to see on Musings From Neville’s Navel in July and August?!

+ Collaborative posts. Like, a ridiculous amount of them. I love doing collab posts! I wish I’d started doing them years and years ago!

+ High school / graduation posts. These are all collab posts! I’m SO EXCITED to begin publishing them in a few days. (And if you are one of the three people who still need to send me theirs… you know who you are! Don’t stress about it too much, just send them in as soon as you can. Hopefully no later than July fifth?)

+ Movie reviews. Some of these will be collab posts! Some will not!

+ TV show reviews. I still, um, need to finish some shows first, though.

+ Book reviews / general bookish posts. Duh. This is me you’re talking me; of course there will be bookish posts!

+ 4-H stuff. Because the county fair is rapidly approaching, and this is my tenth (and final) year in 4-H.

+ COLLEGE. I want to tell you all about the classes I’ve signed up for! And about all the work that goes into getting ready for college, and about my occasional panicky “oh my god oh my god COLLEGE IS INTIMIDATING” feelings.

+ LGBTQ+ posts. But, like, wayyyyyyyy fewer than I posted last month, obviously. Pfffft. But I do already have ideas for a few posts!

Aaaaaaaaaand tomorrow – if all goes according to plan – there will be a VERY SPECIAL post! It’s funny, I thought I’d take a break from blogging tomorrow, and I definitely thought I’d take a break from LGBTQ+ posts, but it didn’t work out that way! There WILL be another one tomorrow, one that was completely unforeseen, and it’ll be a collab post with John Hansen, the creator of Teens Can Write, Too!

But as I said, that’s only if everything goes according to plan and we manage to send all of our collab bits back and forth in time. SO. We shall see. If not, then there… won’t be anything new on the blog tomorrow, and it’ll be posted a few weeks from now!

-~-

All right, all right, I’ll shut up now, ha ha. It’s YOUR turn! What was your favorite part of my 2015 Pride blogfest THINGY? Yea or nay? And do you have any ideas about how I could improve?! Because I’m already thinking about Pride in 2016…

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2015 Pride Recap | And What To Expect In July & August

  1. YAY CONGRATS FOR YOUR WHOLE MONTH OF LGBTQ+ STUFF :D:D:D Yours is one of the only blogs I follow that’s not completely bookish, so it’s lovely to read your posts 🙂

    BUT STUFF THIS MONTH IS EXCITING TOO. Yay for collab posts and college and bookish things and just…gah, July is exciting 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, while I love reading book blogs… I would get SO BORED if I could only blog about books! I can handle writing about the same topic for, like, a month. And that’s about it. 🙂

      *is very excited* 😀

  2. Great job on a consistent LGBTQ+ month! Seriously awesome stuff right there. I personally loved it, and I actually learned some new things from reading your posts as well, so thank you 🙂

  3. Brynn says:

    I don’t know if you’ve heard (you probably have; my house has a very unfortunate lack of cable television and therefore I am very late on the times) but I Am Jazz is now a TV show!! It’s a show about the Jennings and their life with Jazz and I am. SO. EXCITED. after reading your post over the book in early June. Thanks for all the lovely Pride, support, and LGBT+ education posts!! Very excited for your coming topics.:)

    • nevillegirl says:

      My family doesn’t have cable TV either but yeah, I heard about that! That’s so cool… hopefully it will make more people aware of trans issues, especially the lives of trans kids! 🙂

      No, thank YOU! *blush* 😀

  4. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

