4 Book Recs For The Fourth Of July (And Also For Captain America’s Birthday, Because Why Not?)

DSCN4010Happy Fourth of July!

I wanted to post something special today since it’s a holiday, but… well, it’s a holiday! Which means people – my American readers, anyway – will probably be outside hanging out with friends and family, and NOT reading super-long blog posts! So. Today’s post will be short and sweet!

I thought I’d make a list of four of my favorite books/series that are about the United States, or that take place here! I hasten to add that I am NOT trying to make a “best of the best” list or determine which book wins the title of Great American Novel. I’m just talking about four books (or series) that I’ve enjoyed over the years! Some of you may disagree with my choices and think I should’ve picked some more serious books, and that’s completely OK – tell me what you would have chosen in the comment section below!

Anyway, let’s get started.DSCN3807

1. The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

I grew up reading these! For our first family vacation (when I was five), we visited De Smet, South Dakota, where Laura’s family eventually settled when she was in her teens… and I was basically in TINY NERD HEAVEN. I learned so much history from these books – just everyday stuff, you know? How people lived and thought and moved from homestead to homestead in search of a better life.

2. Don’t Know Much About History: Everything You Need to Know About American History But Never Learned by Kenneth C. Davis

Although this book is aimed at American adults, I’ve been browsing through it off and on since I was about twelve… and I think it would work just as well for international readers who would like to learn about our history. I love the book’s Q & A format, and Davis’ fun, non-nap-inducing writing style is THE BEST. I hate how most history textbooks are so boring that I can’t even process the information because they’re! Just! So! Dull!

DSCN23633. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

This is hardly a highbrow choice, but I DON’T CARE. It’s fun! And Percy’s adventures are basically the Ultimate Road Trip, am I right?! Even better, I’ve BEEN to a lot of the places Percy visits. (When we visited the Empire State Building in NYC, I asked a security guard how to get to the 600th floor and he was like, “…I know that’s from a book, but I don’t know which one.” OH MY GOD, MAN, HOW DID YOU SURVIVE WITHOUT READING THIS WONDERFUL SERIES.) I’ve traveled all over the United States, which really makes the books come alive in my mind!

4. Captain America: Man Out of Time by Mark Waid and Jorge Molina

You should always save the best for last, right? Ha ha. My favorite Captain America story is actually The Winter Soldier by Ed Brubaker, but this one just seemed more… um, American, I guess?! HOW IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE. HOW CAN SOME VERSIONS OFDSCN3996 CAPTAIN AMERICA BE MORE AMERICAN THAN OTHERS. Anywayyyyy, this comic takes place immediately after Steve Rogers wakes up in the twenty-first century. I thought it was a really interesting little story about how he struggles to adjust to modern America, and how he must accept that all of his friends are either long since dead or else quite different from who they used to be.

-~-

Well, I hope you enjoyed my short list! Now I want to go sit outside on the deck with a book and read… OH MY GOD, YOU GUYS, TODAY IS CAPTAIN AMERICA’S 97TH BIRTHDAY AND I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD READ A COMIC ABOUT HIM BUT I HAVEN’T BORROWED ANY FROM THE LIBRARY RECENTLY. UGH.

(Yes, I totally have my priorities in order: My nation’s 239th birthday? Meh. Captain America’s birthday? OH MY GOD YESSSS HE’S THE STAR-SPANGLED MAN WITH A PLANNNNNNN.)

Have a lovely Fourth, and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

P.S. All of the photos included in this post are my own!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 4 Book Recs For The Fourth Of July (And Also For Captain America’s Birthday, Because Why Not?)

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I so love that photo with the flag reflection. SO AMAZING. ahem, but yes, I totally think of Little House when I think of 4th of July actually!! We read that series SO MUCH when I was little, omg, I hate it now, but back then I liked it. 😉 When my sister married an American and they said they were going to do a 4th of July celebration with us, we’re all like, “Oh good! Fried chicken and pink lemonade!” LEAST TO SAY THEY DIDN’T AND WE WERE SAD. Little House in the Prairie creates unreal expectations. Boo. 😉

    HAPPY DAY OF REBELLION AND FIREWORKS AND FOOD AND STUFF!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂 *whispers* It’s one of my favorites too.

      Pffft, COME VISIT ME HERE IN ‘MURICA AND *I* WILL MAKE FRIED CHICKEN AND PINK LEMONADE FOR YOU. 😛

      *sighs* Sooooo many fireworks. Our neighbors have been shooting off fireworks since this afternoon! …even though you can’t, you know, actually SEE them in the daylight or anything. *facepalm* Whyyyy. They should be really pretty tonight, though.

  2. Erin says:

    Yes! I grew up with the Little House series too. I was so into those when I was a wee child.

    That’s so funny that you actually asked a security guard about the 600th floor! I wonder though how many people ask them that question…

    Great list! Though I would add the American Girl books (I don’t know if you have read them). I also grew up reading those books!

    And happy birthday to my favorite super soldier! Cap is the bae. ❤

    • nevillegirl says:

      I loved the American Girl books! LOL, I had the biggest crush on Samantha and shipped her and Nellie together before I even knew what shipping was… 😛 Good times, good times. I WISH I HADN’T GIVEN ALL MY AG BOOKS AWAY NOW I KINDA WANT TO REREAD THEM.

      Cappppppp. ❤ I'm SO EXCITED for Captain America: Civil War! 😀

      • Erin says:

        I never owned any of them, unfortunately, but I think I read them all…My favorites were Felicity and Samantha, I remember. 🙂
        Yesssss I can’t wait!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeahhhh, Felicity was awesome too! 🙂

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I got to the evening of the fourth before realising how appropriate my Captain America t-shirt was. It was a complete coincidence — I literally just grabbed the nearest clothes. UNINTENTIONAL PATRIOTISM FOR A COUNTRY I DON’T BELONG TO HOORAY

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

