First Reactions To “The Scorch Trials” Film Trailer

A bunch of trailers for sci fi movies/TV shows have been released within the past six weeks or so! I’m particularly interested in the ones for The Scorch TrialsMockingjay Part One, and Doctor Who. (EEEEEEP, the series nine trailer came out yesterday and I. FREAKED. OUT. Maisie Williams will be in one of the episodes! OH MY GOD OH MY GOD.)

…but I should save my enthusiasm about Doctor Who for my actual reaction post about it, right? Right. Moving on… EEEEEEEEE THE SCORCH TRIALS.

I was impressed when I saw The Maze Runner last fall – and coming from me, that praise means a LOT. I am really really really picky about book-to-movie adaptations, and I definitely don’t hand out compliments left and right: I’m pretty choosy.

The Maze Runner, however, was a REALLY accurate adaptation. It wasn’t perfect – I did have a few issues, especially with the pacing – but the costuming and scenery and other cool design stuff? OH MY GOD THAT WAS PERFECT. I don’t really care that much about casting: I’m interested in all the behind-the-scenes work, like the props and costumes and film score.

And, well… the music was great. (It was composed by John Paesano, who is also doing the score for The Scorch Trials! Yay for continuity!) And the design was SUPERB. Everything was exactly as I had imagined it and it just felt so REAL and BELIEVABLE.

Basically, I am super super excited for The Scorch Trials because it’s a feast for the eyes. I mean, it’s set in a freaking DYSTOPIAN WORLD for heaven’s sake, but visually it’s still really amazing. Anyway, I’ve rambled on for long enough, so I’ll shut up with my little intro and move on to the actual reaction-y part of this post.

Enjoy!

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:11 – SEE? IS THIS NOT STUNNING AND… OK, MORE THAN A LITTLE INTIMIDATING?

0:20 – Thomas is so adorably clueless. About, like, EVERYTHING.

0:22 – Oh my goddddd, my first look at the Scorch!

0:25 – OH MY GOD THE SCORCH. It’s exactly as I’d imagined it – desolate and creepy, yet somehow majestic. AHHHHHHHHH.

0:27 – It’s Petyr Baelish! (Side note: Did he leave Sansa in this past season of Game of Thrones because he had to go be evil in the Scorch? #headcanon)

0:34 – Did the Rat Man wear a turtleneck in the book? I can’t remember. Either way, he looks ridiculous.

0:36 – I am too gay for this scene of shirtless-Thomas-in-the-shower.

0:42 – …have I ever told you guys that one of my uncles looks like Rat Man / Petyr Baelish? Because he totally does. I think about that a lot when I watch Game of Thrones – and now, apparently, this.

0:45 – THOMAS MAKES THE BEST WEIRD FACES OH MY GOD.

1:00 – Newt is so tiny and adorkable! I MUST PROTECT HIM AT ALL COSTS.

1:16 – Thomas, you SHOW-OFF. Pfffft.

1:23 – OH MY GOD.

1:30 – I need my own little group of post-apocalyptic, rebellious friends.

1:33 – THOMAS YOU CAN’T KISS TERESA BECAUSE I SHIP YOU WITH NEWT. AND MINHO. AND ALSO WITH ALBY. (True story: I ship hardly any M/M couples, but there are so many possibilities in this series.)

1:37 – So. Many. EXPLOSIONS.

1:42 – Thomas, you’re making that weird face again. WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR FACE.

-~-

Aaaaaand that’s a wrap! WOW. I can’t wait to see this movie in the fall! I wasn’t in this fandom when the trailer for The Maze Runner was released, so I haven’t actually, um… seen it that many times. Because I hadn’t read the books yet, so I just wasn’t interested! But now I am, and it’s just… interesting to see how things change, I guess. A year ago I was all like, “James Dashner who?” and now I’m like, “I MISS THOMAS AND HIS FRIENDS AND I WISH THE MOVIE COULD BE HERE SOONER UGHHHH.”

What’s your opinion of this trailer for The Scorch Trials? And are you looking forward to any other upcoming science fiction movies/TV shows?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Reactions To “The Scorch Trials” Film Trailer

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AFJDSKL I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO IT SO MUCH I CANNOT EVEN. LIKE, MOSTLY. DYLAN OBRIEN. BUT I LEGITIMATELY ENJOY THE BOOKS AND THE MOVIE AS WELL. I like never watch movies anymore. 0_0 but this is a series I am so aaaall over. Newt with his adorable sad little cute baby face. fjdaslkdsjalkj Ahem.
    And the scenery is perfect.
    I am having trouble seeing the Rat Man as anything but Little Finger, but tbh, his face is so freaking perfect for the Rat Man.
    AHEM.
    SO YEAH I’M SERIOUSLY EXCITED TOO.

  2. Omg, I got tons of shivers. Love, love, love the trailer! I now have to read book 2 soon, thanks for the reminding 😉 Heard it’s not very good… but whatever, I love the characters (except for the girl, she’s kind of banal). Hey, have you watched The Giver?? It’s SUCH a beautiful movie *.*

  3. Pingback: Spun From Ink’s August Reading List | A Soul Spun from Ink

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

