10 Books I Recently Acquired

It’s time for another list! OOH. LISTS.

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s prompt is “the last ten books that came into my possession” and we can include any and all methods of book-acquiring – buying, borrowing from the library/friends, review copies, et cetera.

I think this list says a lot about me: First of all, all ten books are from the library. I visited TWO libraries yesterday! (Because I had errands to run in two different towns, so yeah.) And it was awesome! So many books! I hardly ever buy books – instead, I borrow oodles and oodles from the library.

Secondly, I love love love comic books and graphic novels. Seven of the stories listed below are comic books, and two are graphic novels. Only ONE is written in prose.

Finally, I love books with kickass female characters. Basically, I wandered around the libraries and scanned the shelves for various comics books with awesome lady protagonists. One of my summer reading goals involves reading more comic books, so I thought it would be fun to read primarily about superheroines! I read Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson a few weeks ago and I LOVED it, but I haven’t been able to find the sequels at either library!

Enjoy!

captain marvel higher further faster more10. Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch by Steve Engelhart et al

I love Scarlet Witch! She’s been a minor character in TONS of the Captain America stories I’ve read, so I’m excited to read a story in which she plays a bigger role.

9. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

This one is actually for my mom! I was teasing her about how she only reads nonfiction or stories about boring middle-aged BORING BORING BORING people, and then I convinced her to try this book! I might reread it, too, because it’s HILARIOUS.

8. Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelly Sue DeConnick and David López

All I know about Captain Marvel is that Kamala Khan (AKA Ms. Marvel) adores her! So I need to read her stories, OBVIOUSLY. Also she looks rather gorgeous… how is it even possible for freaking comic book characters to look so attractive?!batwoman elegy

7. Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka and J.H. Williams III

Because I’ve been procrastinating on this book since forever. Also, because LESBIAN SUPERHEROINES.

6. Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson

OH MY GOD I’M SCREAMING I FINALLY FOUND THESE I DID NOT REALIZE THAT ONE OF MY LIBRARIES HAS AN ADULT GRAPHIC NOVEL SECTION IN ADDITION TO THE YA GRAPHIC NOVEL SECTION (THAT I CHECK ALL THE TIME) AND OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD SDKJAHGDKJHGDSKFJ AHHHHHHH!

5. Black Widow, Vol. 1: The Finely Woven Thread by Nathan Edmondson

BLACK WIDOW BLACK WIDOW BLACK WIDOW SOOOOOO EXCITED TO FINALLY READ SOME STORIES THAT ARE JUST ABOUT HER OH MY GOD. (Also, I’ve heard that this current run is really really good and sakdjhgdskjhdsk I’m so excited! I hope that Marvel Studios announces a Black Widow movie SOON because honestly, she is AWESOME and who cares about Ant-Man anyway?!)

black widow the finely woven thread4. Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman

OH MY GOD I CAN’T BELIEVE I FOUND IT I FINALLY FOUND IT! This is part of the latest run of Thor comics – female Thor! OH MY GOD AHHHHH YAY! I’ve been searching for this for practically forever, and now my library finally has it!

3. Batman: Joker’s Asylum by Jason
Aaron et al

I want to read about Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy, but neither library has very many books about them! Here, they’re minor characters in a story about Batman, but I’ll take whatever I can get. (Also, Marvel? You’re not as diverse as you think… Batwoman AND Harley Quinn AND Poison Ivy are all queer, and you still haven’t bothered to, like, confirm that Captain America is bi? UGH. Try harder, Marvel.)

2. A Game of Thrones: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 by George R.R. Martin, Daniel Abraham, and Tommy Patterson

I didn’t even KNOW there was a series of graphic novel adaptations for this book! Last summer I read a graphic novel version of the short story The Hedge Knight, but I didn’t know about any other graphic novels based on A Song of Ice and Fire! And oh my god, A Game of Thrones is soooo long – I saw at least two other volumes of this graphic novel series on the shelf! Wow.

1. Y: The Last Man – Deluxe Edition Book One by Brian K. Vaughan, Pia Guerra, and José Marzán

I’ve heard SOOOO much about this book! Actually, when I interviewed the owner of a local comic book store for a class project, he recommended it to me! Basically it’s about a mysterious plague that kills all the men and boys on Earth except for one – and he’s trying to figure out why he survived!

-~-

I’m so excited to read these books! I’m still kind of reading-slump-ish and making very very slow progress on any books that I do pick up, but I’m trying. And it’s easier for me to pick up a graphic novel or comic book and stick with it until the end of the story because they’re so much shorter! Also, I recently started my second summer job (which I will probably post about later this month) and these stories would be absolutely PERFECT to read during my breaks! Most of them are about one hundred and fifty pages long, which is totally doable in my mandatory, hour-long dinner breaks.

Now it’s YOUR turn: Tell me about the ten most-recently-acquired books in your life! How did you acquire them? Why did you choose them? Which ones are you looking forward to the most? And which ones, in your excitement, did you sit down and read almost as soon as you got them?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 Books I Recently Acquired

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    SO MANY COMICS. SO MUCH WANTING. 😄 haha! Oh, but really, your libraries have an epic collection and ajdkls so much super hero awesome. Unless it’s Batman or Iron man or Wolverine, apparently, my library has limited. -_- I want black widow SO SO BADLY. Because she is awesome. Eep. Anyway! I hope you enjoy all these and yaay that your mum is reading Good Omens. I LOVE that book so freakishly much. 😄

  2. Mo says:

    OH MAN I WANNA KNOW WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT BLACK WIDOW BECAUSE I ADORE THAT SERIES. Anyways, because of my general practice of buying the first issue of a comics run, and then waiting for the trade volumes to come out, I have the #1 issue of Thor, but it’s kind of boring and doesn’t have much kick-butt action in it. Batwoman: Elegy, too. ❤

    I just read a book called Chicks Dig Comics that I really liked. It's by some of the same people who wrote Chicks Dig Time Lords, and it's a pretty quick read, but it's nice to hear some similar experiences from female comic book fans. I also read a TPB of Kitty Pryde and Wolverine; the story honestly wasn't that great, but it was a fun read. And apparently Kitty Pryde wore Ugg boots before they were cool. I've also been reading the Marvel Oz series (I really like comics, okay?) and I love them. I've been a fan of the original Oz books for a while, and these graphic adaptations are really well done and true to the book.

    But the BEST book that I've gotten recently (yesterday, in fact) is an ARC of the Welcome to Night Vale novel. It may or may not have been acquired through black magic, but since it doesn't come out until October, I was super happy to stumble across a copy.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

