4-H Fair 2015: Aerospace, Holiday Ornaments, Junior Leaders, Music, Foods & Nutrition, Creative Writing, And Personality

Hey, everyone. I was at the county fair for most of the day again, BUT I CAN SEE THE LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL NOW. Today I was at the beef competition with the other Achievement Ambassadors and the fair queen/her runners-up. Actually, I hung out with this year’s Miss Congeniality and I can say that without a doubt, she is indeed very congenial? We watched screaming goat songs from YouTube on her phone and it was an A+ use of time.

…but I digress. HERE IS A POST. I THOUGHT ABOUT WRITING IT ALL DAY BUT I COULDN’T BECAUSE THE WIFI AT THE FAIRGROUNDS IS PRETTY TERRIBLE.

I talked about my Photography exhibits on Monday here, if you’re interested… and today, I’m discussing my seven other projects!

Here is the ribbon hierarchy, organized from lowest to highest score:

  • Completion
  • C
  • B
  • A
  • Honor
  • Reserve Champion
  • Champion
  • Reserve Grand Champion
  • Grand Champion

You must earn the previous ribbon in order to win the next one; in other words, you can’t win… say, a C ribbon and an Honor ribbon. Recipients of both A and Honor ribbons are the only ones eligible to win Reserve Champion / Champion ribbons (second and first, respectively, in their specific division of the project), and only Reserve Champions / Champions are eligible to win Reserve Grand Champion and Grand Champion (second and first, respectively, in the entire project).

…I feel like I made that whole thing sound way more complicated than it actually is. Anywayyyyy. If I mention a State Fair ribbon, this means that my exhibit was selected for further competition at the Indiana State Fair!

Oh, and one more thing: I decided to list how many years I have participated in this project, because… this is my tenth and final year, I guess? And this year I signed up for only the projects I really really loved, only the projects that I’ve been doing for years and years BECAUSE ENTHUSIASM. At this point, I decided to stick with things I already knew.

Aerospace: A

I MADE A GLITTERY MODEL ROCKET THIS YEAR. Part of the rocket is painted dark blue, and part of it is covered in LIGHT BLUE GLITTER. BECAUSE REASONS. I mean, why not? I AM A RIDICULOUS PERSON WHO LOVES GLITTER. I’m still finding glitter all around the house from that particular adventure of mine…

Anyway, I’m satisfied with my score in Aerospace. I’m not in it to win it – I’m in it to have fun! I’M IN IT TO GLITTERIZE ALL THE THINGS.

This is my tenth year in Aerospace!

Holiday Ornament: A, Honor

I made a Christmas ornament this year. I found this really neat string that has a twisty pattern of red, white, and green strands. I wound the string around and around a styrofoam ball, hot-gluing as I went, and it formed this cool swirly pattern that reminds me of peppermints, or maybe candy canes!

This is my ninth year in Holiday Ornaments!

Junior Leaders: No results available

This project isn’t graded! Instead, it’s… sort of a pass/fail thing? There are requirements you have to fulfill, such as attending a certain number of meetings and community service events.

What is Junior Leaders? Good question! This project is available to 4-Hers in grades seven through twelve, and it teaches us leadership skills. I’ve had so much fun over the years that now I sort of wish that I’d joined earlier… but seventh-/eighth-grade me was painfully shy, so. Yeah.

This is my fourth year in Junior Leader!

Music: A, Honor

There are two competition options for this project: Recital or poster. For the past nine years, I’ve always participated in the recital, but… not this year. (You can read more about my decision to try something new here, if you’re interested.) This year, I created an educational poster about one of my favorite composers – Hans Zimmer!

I had dreams of winning first or second place in this project, and that… didn’t happen. But honestly? I’m OK with that, because I had so much fun creating my poster. I’M SUPER HAPPY WITH ITS DESIGN, TOO. To decorate my poster, I made these little film strips with images from many of the movies he’s composed for. It took aaaaaages because I am not very experienced with MS Paint.

This is my tenth year in Music!

Foods & Nutrition: A, Honor, Champion, State Fair

I made strawberry jam and it was DELIGHTFUL, if I do say so myself. My score, though… I mean, it was yummy jam, but… only one other person made jam for the competition, and we were scored against each other. YAY ME FOR WINNING FIRST PLACE OUT OF TWO, I GUESS?

This is my tenth year in Foods & Nutrition!

Creative Writing: A, Honor, Reserve Champion, Reserve Grand Champion

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD. I received the same scores last year! I am SO HAPPY with my results in this project because… well, I’m going to double-major in creative writing and journalism starting this fall. AHHHHH OMG I FEEL SO REASSURED AND VALIDATED ABOUT MY CAREER CHOICES.

Members in my division (tenth, eleventh, and twelfth grade) are required to submit at least two and no more than… four? five? writing samples. Last year I chose two blog post, modifying them slightly to make them more formal and less conversational. (Because, like, saying “like” and using ALL CAPS probably wouldn’t impress the judge.)

This year I used the same approach, since it worked so well the year before! This year’s entries consisted of a book review and an essay. I included my review of Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson… and the judge said it was VERY ENTHUSIASTIC! I also chose a post I wrote a few days after Terry Pratchett’s death, and the judge basically said it was “very touching” and that my love of Pratchett’s writing really shone through. YAY YAY YAY.

(Many thanks to everyone who proofread my writing samples and gave me their thoughts!)

I’m suuuuuper happy about winning Reserve Grand Champion because… like I said, I’m planning a career in writing. Also, I’m really glad that the judge liked my creative nonfiction so much, because almost everyone includes fiction – and often only fiction – in their writing notebooks. Most people probably think of stories when they hear the term “creative writing,” but stories just aren’t my THING. I enjoy writing them, but I’m really passionate about essays.

This is my ninth year in Creative Writing!

Personality: A, Honor, Champion, Grand Champion, State Fair

…this is my favorite project, and it’s a bit difficult to explain. Basically, in the Personality project I have learned about myself, my friends, my family, my community, my career, my goals, et cetera. IT’S SO DIFFICULT TO CATEGORIZE THIS PROJECT. (But if it’s offered in your county, I definitely recommend trying it!)

This year I was required to make an “employment portfolio,” so I created one that I might use for applying for a writing-related job. I included my high school and dual-credit college transcripts, my résumé, a few letters of recommendation, and – of course – several writing samples.

I love Personality… and along with Photography, it’s the project on which I work the hardest. The superintendent actually told me that she’s sad that this is my last year in the project because I put so much effort into creating my exhibits! (…I may have won first place, like… multiple times in the past. BECAUSE ENTHUSIASM.)

This is my eighth year in Personality!

-~-

Are you in 4-H? Tell me about your projects’ results! Did you win any SHINY RIBBONS?!

P.S. If you would like to see my projects, I will post photos on Facebook in just a sec!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4-H Fair 2015: Aerospace, Holiday Ornaments, Junior Leaders, Music, Foods & Nutrition, Creative Writing, And Personality

  1. moosha23 says:

    Wow, 4-H fairs sound so amazing..and you have such unique competitions…I mean Personality? Wow. It sounds so creative as well, I mean glitter, duh. Haha. And it’s also a testimony to your brilliant talents isn’t it? Freakin heck, Grand Champion is a title I’d be telling everyone about. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

