The Harry Potter Tag

Official-DH-Chapter-Art-harry-potter--26-the-deathly-hallows-200206_400_501[1]Today is Harry Potter’s birthday! I told myself I wasn’t going to write any kind of post about it: “Engie, you’re not even all that into Harry Potter anymore.” And then I saw that Bianca Monterro @ The Ultimate Fangirl had done this Harry Potter-themed tag AND I JUST COULDN’T RESIST IT! I haven’t done very many tags lately! And I’ve been meaning to! SO I’M DOING THIS ONE. Even though I am indeed “not all that into Harry Potter anymore” – but more on that later. Like, towards the end of this post.

P.S. I added two questions, because reasons. AND BECAUSE I WANTED TO, THAT’S WHY. I added “favorite quote” and “favorite music from the films” because I felt that they needed to be here.

Enjoy!

Favorite book?Cover-PrisonerOfAzkaban[1]

Prisoner of Azkaban, definitely! I love the friendships in that book – both the Trio and the Marauders. And I love all the MYSTERIES in this book: What does Sirius really want? Why is Scabbers ill? Why does Harry keep seeing the Grim? IS THAT EVEN THE GRIM?!

TBH, I feel like this book is perfectly written. Every word just feels right, and when I read it… I feel like I’m a little kid again.

Favorite movie?

Deathly Hallows Part I was the only movie I enjoyed! I’m REALLY picky about book-to-movie adaptations, and I think that the other movies are, um, really crappy? But this one was BEAUTIFUL. I’m soooo glad they chose to split the final book into two movies, because the pacing was perfect.

The emotions were perfect. The cinematography was perfect. The animation for “The Tale of the Three Brothers” was perfect. THE MUSIC WAS PERFECT OH HOW IT MADE ME CRY. I saw this movie on its opening day and I remember sitting in the theater and trying not to cry  when Hermione erased her parents’ memories as “Obliviate” played in the background.

5th book endLeast favorite book?

I have never liked Chamber of Secrets, and it’s hard to explain why. I guess it feels more… juvenile, I guess? In comparison to the other books? I found Colin Creevey annoying, and the whole “oh no, everyone is being Petrified by the basilisk!” thing was tedious.

Least favorite film?

BAHAHAHA. Probably Prisoner of Azkaban? Or maybe Half-Blood Prince? Those books were SO GOOD, and the movies just ruined them. I’m particularly bitter about the film version of Prisoner of Azkaban because NOOOOO YOU CANNOT MESS WITH MY FAVORITE BOOK IN THAT WAY NO STOP WHAT ARE YOU DOING. YOU COMPLETELY MESSED UP SIRIUS AND REMUS.

Parts of the books/movies that make you cry?

OH MY GOSH. Basically anything with Lupin? I cried whenever he talked about his friendship with the Marauders, especially Sirius. I cried when he cried after Dumbledore died, and I REALLY cried when he and Tonks died. I HAVE SO MANY EMOTIONS ABOUT LUPIN.

If you could hook up with any character, who would it be?gringotts!

I’VE HAD A CRUSH ON TONKS SINCE BEFORE I EVEN KNEW THAT IT WAS POSSIBLE FOR GIRLS TO LOVE OTHER GIRLS OMG. I thought I just, like, wanted to be best friends with her? But it was totally a crush. SHE IS SO REBELLIOUS AND CUTE AND GORGEOUS AND KICKASS.

Favorite character?

Remus Lupin! He’s just so KIND. And SWEET. I would happily read seven books about Lupin, if J.K. Rowling ever decides to write them. SEND HELP I’M HAVING AN EMOTION.

Least favorite character?

…well, this is easy. Severus Snape, because he’s abusive. And because he thinks the friendzone is A Thing.

Cover-HalfBlood[1]Favorite quote?

“What’s comin’ will come, an’ we’ll meet it when it does,” from Goblet of Fire. I HAVE A LOT OF EMOTIONS ABOUT HAGRID AS WELL.

Least favorite quote?

“Always.” Enough said.

Favorite music from the films? 

There’s a piece titled “Leaving Hogwarts” that was used in the first movie, and then again in the last one. UGH IT MAKES ME SO SAD AND NOSTALGIC. I love it when composers do this!

What would your Patronus be?

IT WOULD BE GRUMPY CAT.Official-DH-Chapter-Art-harry-potter--26-the-deathly-hallows-200227_400_358[1]

If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which one would you choose?

What kind of question is this?! The Resurrection Stone causes more misery than it’s worth, and owning the Elder Wand will result in bloodshed. So… yeah, I’ll take the Invisibility Cloak. And then I would use it to steal your books and cats and chocolate.

What House would you be in?

SLYTHERIN PRIDE FTW. I’m clever and ridiculously ambitious. Sneaky, too – excuse you, I had everyone convinced I was straight. Surely that counts as some top-notch Slytherin deception?slytherin

If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?

I would love to meet Maggie Smith because I think she did a FANTASTIC job as Professor McGonagall! I’m generally pretty unsatisfied with this cast’s portrayals of their characters (which is one of the reasons I dislike the movies so much…), but she stands out to me as one of the best.

If you were on the Quidditch team, what position would you play?

I WOULD BE THE SEEKER, OBVIOUSLY.

Were you happy with the ending?

Meh. Not really? I don’t think the epilogue was necessary.

How much does Harry Potter mean to you?

A lot, but not as much as it used to.

Harry Potter will always have a special place in my heart… its characters, plots, Big Ideas, et cetera will likely remain in my mind for all my life, because they meant so much to me as a child. I read those books over and over and over again, until my copy of Order of the Phoenix nearly fell apart.

And then I grew up, and things changed, and I don’t LOVE Harry Potter anymore. I became a much more critical reader, first of all, and began to see things that bothered me: The near-total worship of Snape, the fandom’s terrible treatment of female characters (Cho Chang? Lavender Brown?), J.K. Rowling’s continual insistence that she is The Best at writing diversity when she actually sucks at it.

hogwarts-crest2[1]Secondly, I found new books to love. Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant series is foremost in this group, closely followed by George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle, and J.R.R. Tolkien’s books.

(And that’s just the fantasy books! There’s so much more, from comic books and graphic novels to Malinda Lo’s books and a whole bunch of YA dystopian series. But I digress.)

Simply put, Harry Potter is not something I think or care abut very much now…. but once upon a time, I did. And I can’t ignore that. Can’t ignore its influence on my life.

I have SO MANY MEMORIES of growing up with this series. This series is like a friend I used to be close to, from whom I have slowly drifted apart. Or… since I’m heading off to college in sixteen days, perhaps a more accurate analogy would be “a hometown I haven’t been back to in practically forever.”

This series and I have a long history together. THAT’S what Harry Potter means to me.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.) If you’ve read Harry Potter, consider this your invitation to do this tag on your own blog. 

-~-

Did you do anything fun to celebrate Harry’s birthday – rereading any of the books, watching the films, baking delicious treats mentioned in the story, cosplaying your favorite character, et cetera? Tell me all about it in the comment section below!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Harry Potter Tag

  1. Ahhhhh just listened to Leaving Hogwarts and now I’m nostalgic ❤ I didn't have time to celebrate HP's birthday this year because it was my drama performance night (and my drama teacher's birthday! How coincidental) but I definitely want to do this tag because…Harry Potter. And also, yep, sooooo agree that Snape is an awful human being.

  2. Bridget says:

    Ooh, this one looks like a lot of fun 😀 Thanks for tagging me!

  3. matttblack42 says:

    Wait, you didn’t like the Prisoner of Azkaban movie? But, but . . . the cinematography! I feel like that was the most beautifully filmed of the Harry Potter movies. (Except for possibly Deathly Hallows Part 1). The book and the film have sort of blended together in my mind, so I don’t really remember how the plot diverged.

    Completely agree on Snape. Just because you were obsessed with a girl who chose another man doesn’t mean you get to be a terrible person to said man’s son, who had nothing to do with any of that. And there’s really no excuse for how he treats Hermione, or Neville. I mean, just the fact that the boggart appears as Snape when Neville opens it shows just how horrible he is to him.

    • nevillegirl says:

      But, but… the plot! It was horrible and completely unlike that of the book! 😦 But I have to agree, DH1’s cinematography was STUNNING.

      I know, right? And I can’t believe Dumbledore hired him… I mean, Snape literally ABUSED his students. :/

  4. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, thank you for tagging me!
    (Although looking at the pictures in this post, it occurs to me to ask … do the American Harry Potters have illustrations in them?)

  5. moosha23 says:

    OH MY DAYS! IT’S POTTER’S BIRTHDAY?! Whaddya know, I totally forgot about that.
    Harry Potter is a brilliantly written series…but after finishing the last book I was left feeling the same way I did when I started reading it. It’s special, and beautiful, and of course it has its flaws…but I don’t know. I’m very casual about my love for it, it hasn’t impacted me nearly as much as it has anybody else. I mean, when it rocketed into success and fame there was almost this HP culture. Everyone was reading the books and then watching the movies and it was very much a communal thing that happened. Nowadays that connection is kind of lost, I mean with all the internet references to HP (and tags like this one which I, despite my casual-ness with this series, am very excited to do because omd tags!) you kind of have to read Harry Potter. There’s just this huge, sort of, imaginary cloud stored with all the HP things. So yeah HP impacted pop culture to such a huge extent that it’s common knowledge now, but on the personal level it’s quite…meh.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right?! It really IS like a culture/communal Thing. It’s one of those things that you pretty much have to read/watch as a pop culture reference, if nothing else. 🙂

  6. Hmm… I know I wasn’t tagged but I really want to do this on my blog! And I also have to read the last 4 Harry Potter books (it’s part of my summer bucket list)! Anyway, mind checking out my blog? http://www.myhopefulpencil.blogspot.com

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. Pingback: The Harry Potter Tag | allthingswordy

  9. Pingback: Harry Potter Book Tag | Bitches With Books

  10. Pingback: The Harry Potter Tag – The Controversy

  11. I hate Snape too! I don’t understand how so many people love him so much. He is abusive, and how does no one notice this???
    And Remus Lupin is definitely one of my favorite characters.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

