6 Factors That (Probably) Make My Posts Become Popular

In early July, I wrote a post titled Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read (Yet) as part of The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday link-up. And WOW THAT POST RECEIVED A LOT OF COMMENTS.

I mean, not hundreds, obviously, because my blog isn’t THAT popular, but you peoples left fifteen comments! This rarely happens to me! Also, l I just didn’t get very many comments in July in general.

Every so often I write a post and you wonderful readers SHOWER YOUR LOVE UPON IT, and it’s always weird to see which posts will be the most popular. Often, the posts I want to be popular – the posts I spend forever thinking about and then writing – aren’t the most popular!

Do I think there are Reasons that some of my posts are more popular than others? WHY YES I DO.

HERE ARE MY THEORIES ABOUT WHICH FACTORS MAKE SOME OF MY POSTS POPULAR.

1. Length

I never seem to get as many views on my long posts as I do on my short ones. And I can’t blame people for not reading (or commenting on) my long posts… because I totally skim other people’s long posts too! I’m always like AHHHH OMG SO MANY WORDS I’M GONNA READ SOMETHING SHORTER INSTEAD.

I have a very hard time reconciling my indifference to other people’s long posts with my love of writing long posts on my blog. I think sometimes there are topics that just can’t be discussed in a few words! I like to write down ALL OF MY THOUGHTS.

2. Lists

Lists are easy to read and comprehend! Also, they’re just plain fun. Luckily, I LOVE writing lists, so it’s not at all difficult to write more posts in list format! Lists help me organize my thoughts! I’m particularly fond of top ten lists because they’re just long enough to be interesting, but not so long that it takes me forever to write them. (Or forever for people to read them…)

3. Writing style

I’ve been blogging for almost five years (my blogiversary is October tenth!) and I’ve noticed that over the years, my writing style has changed. It was very, um, IMMATURE when I started. (Hey, cut me some slack – I was fourteen. And overfond of exclamation points too, apparently.)

Then I went through a period when I was SUPER FORMAL. I wrote suuuuuper long posts and didn’t use slang, like, EVER. At that point in my life, I would never have written a post with intermittent CAPS LOCK and the word “like,” like, in the manner that I just used it.

Now I’m much more informal. Naturally, I change my writing style if I feel that the topic of a particular post needs to be treated seriously, but most of the time I don’t worry about being informal! I think it’s friendlier and more fun.

Confession time: I made a conscious decision to change my writing style from formal to informal. I actually base it off of how Cait @ Paper Fury writes! I LOVE her writing style. It feels like I’m having a conversation with her.

(Also, “writing style” is definitely related to “length” and “lists.” I didn’t write many list posts a few years ago, and all my posts were long… some of them were probably longer than they needed to be. Oh, well.)

4. Subject

Posts about BOOKS almost always receive the most views – whether the post is a list, review, character analysis thingy, et cetera. This makes sense because I follow a lot of book bloggers and they follow me back! People are more likely to comment on a post they can relate to!

After bookish thingies, my next most popular subjects are probably LGBTQ+ issues, photography, and movie/TV stuff.

I couldn't find a relevant picture for this post, but since I literally just said that pictures are important, HERE IS A RANDOM GIF FROM "AGENT CARTER." IT AMUSES ME GREATLY.

I couldn’t find a relevant picture for this post, but since I literally just said that pictures are important, HERE IS A RANDOM GIF FROM “AGENT CARTER.” IT AMUSES ME GREATLY.

5. Pictures

Maybe this sounds silly, but posts without images never receive as many views/comments… at least not on Musings From Neville’s Navel! And I know why: Posts with pictures are eye-catching! Posts without visual interest are, um, a little dull. AND YET SOMETIMES I CAN’T FIND ANY PICTURES THAT I WANT TO USE IN A CERTAIN POST.

6. Questions

Obviously, interacting with my readers and asking what THEY think results in an uptick in comments! I love it when other bloggers ask me for my opinion at the end of each posts – it makes it easier to leave a comment when I’ve been prompted to answer a particular question!

-~-

…if you read my list of ten hyped books I haven’t read yet, you’ll recall that it included ALL OF THESE THINGIES. It was a short, informal list about BOOKS, complete with tons of book covers! I asked for your opinion at the end of it, too. I don’t think there is a hard and fast rule that something will AUTOMATICALLY make a post become popular, but I think there are some general thingies that may influence the popularity of a post.

-~-

SO. I’m pretty sure that if I want to increase the number of views, comments, and followers that I have, then I need to publish more posts that include at least one of the factors listed above. But how easy will this be?!

  • Length: Meh. This can be so HAAAARD, peoples! One of the reasons I’m fond of Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes is that she writes a lot of thinky posts. I love thinky posts! But it’s very, very hard to prevent my thinky posts from becoming super long. (Also, dude. You changed your theme and I soooo didn’t expect that! Whoa. What even. But I love it.)
  • Lists: Pfffft. EASY.
  • Writing style: Pretty easy, since I adapt my style according to the subject of my post.
  • Subject: Hmmmm. A bit difficult. My posts about, say, homeschooling or music don’t necessarily get a lot of views. BUT I LOVE POSTING ABOUT THOSE TOPICS.
  •  Pictures: Easy? Most of the time?
  • Questions: Fairly easy, unless I’m trying to be fancy and Super Serious by ending my post with something declarative.

-~-

WELL, THEN. This post was so much fun to write because it made me think about what I could to do improve my blog! Now I just need to remember to look at this post every so often in order to remind myself of my Blogging Goals!

What do YOU think? Did I list any of the same factors that you believe help to make a post become popular? Is there anything you’d add or delete from my list? WHAT MAKES YOUR POPULAR POSTS BECOME THAT WAY?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 6 Factors That (Probably) Make My Posts Become Popular

  1. matttblack42 says:

    With my posts, I feel like the more inspired I am to write the post, the better it does. The posts I have to force myself to finish never to do as well.

    Also, I love your lengthy posts! They never feel too long, to me at least.

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OMG I LOVE THIS POST. And not just because you mentioned me *dances like an insane squid* but because I LIKE ALL YOUR POSTS. Heck yes, I am the stalker…erm, I mean, an entirely normal and calm fan of your blog and writing. *nods* But I totally thought your style had relaxed a bit over time! I mean, I haven’t followed you forever, but I think I’ve snooped around here for a few years? Maybe not. 0-0 Internet time is different to real time. It totally is. BUT I CHANGED MY STYLE TOO. Probably about 2 years ago now? I just decided I was going to be 60% fangirl and 40% pineapple and turn everything into a ginormous joke. I THINK IT WORKED CAUSE I HAVE A LOT OF FRIENDS. hehe. I do like to read some thinky long posts and blogs too though. Balance. Yesss..

    Oh , I don’t even know what makes some of my posts more popular than others. -_- I did NOT expect my post about unfollowing blogs to boom, but SHEESH IT’S LIKE OF MY MOST POPULAR POSTS IN MONTHS. And my TTT posts always seem to do well, but I comment around a lot for those. 😀 It’s annoying though, for the posts I put like a million percent effort into and everyone’s like “Eh.” 😄 HAHA. I CAN NEVER PICK WHICH IS GONNA EXCITE PEOPLE.

    Anyway. I liked this post. I shall leave now before I write a small novel here in the comments.

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I’M SORRY. My change of theme wasn’t intended to alarm you. (I did write two posts in which I was like, “BY THE WAY I CHANGED MY THEME,” so yeah.) Also, while I like writing long thinky posts, I’m trying to keep my posts shorter… because you’re right, people don’t read long posts so much.

    People like pictures because they break up the wall of text, too. When I write long posts I get more responses on the long posts with pictures than the long posts without — I guess they’re less intimidating.

  4. LOVE THIS! and it’s actually true; posts i put the most deep thought into hardly ever receive as many comments as fluffy ones

  5. orphu44 says:

    I noticed your switch to less formal writing! And I appreciate your choice of random picture.
    My posts would probably be more popular if I actually wrote blog posts instead of just thinking, ‘that would be a good blog post’ every once in a while and then never doing anything about it. Although I’m pretty sure my two most popular posts are a) the one where I ended up with an argument about homophobia in the comments, and b) the one where I quoted Lady Macbeth in the blog title because apparently a surprising number of people look up what ‘screw your courage to the sticking place’ means.

  6. moosha23 says:

    Oooh, ooh, this sounds super interesting. And yah, it’s true that the ones we want to get the most views never do. Sigh. But hey, at least list posts go viral huh? We live in a world of shortening attention spans…which is probably why all the short posts get the most views/comments.

  7. Nevillegirl, I just started reading some of your blog posts and I am really enjoying them. I aslo am a homeschooler soon to be graduating and a crazy book lady!!
    Recently, I created a Facebook Page called Below the Surface. ( The link, if anyone is interested, is here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Below-The-Surface/415515315301030 )

    Thank you again for making such amazing posts!!!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

