How Will This Blog Change When I Begin College?

This question has been on my mind a lot lately, because I’ll be at college in just over a week – I leave for the University of Iowa on August sixteenth. EURGHHHH THAT’S SO SOON UGH EVERYTHING IS HAPPENING SO FAST AND I CAN’T HANDLE IT.

Anyway.

I’d love to continue blogging during college, so you need not worry that I’ll disappear, buuuut… my blog will definitely change. I’m not exactly sure how it’ll change, just that change will happen… and I have a few ideas about how it might change. Expect at least one or more – or maybe even all – of the changes listed below.

1. Fewer posts

I know that once I’m a full-time college student, I won’t have as much free time! So I may not blog as frequently, but when I do I’ll be sure to make each post really count by writing something AWESOME.

2. Shorter posts

…of course, one solution to the whole “less time for blogging” thing is to write shorter posts! I looooove writing long thinky posts, and I’ll probably still do that from time to time whilst in college, but definitely not as often as I currently do. I need to write more posts that are ready to be published in fifteen minutes or fewer!

3. More scheduled posts

Another solution to my rapidly approaching sharp decrease in blogging time involves writing a bunch of posts when I have lots of time, and then not writing anything when I’m short on time… because I will have scheduled posts in advance! When I don’t have any homework, studying, laundry, et cetera to do, I may very well spend an afternoon writing post after post, and then scheduling them to publish on days that I know I will be busy and won’t have time to write.

4. More posts about college

DUH. I actually applied to be one of my school’s official bloggers, and I still have no idea if I’ve been chosen yet, but either way… I WILL BLOG ABOUT COLLEGE. I plan to talk about my classes, any clubs I’ve joined, how I’m adjusting to college life, et cetera. I’M KIND OF EXCITED TO WRITE ABOUT SOMETHING NEW BUT I’M ALSO SLIGHTLY TERRIFIED AT THE VERY THOUGHT OF LIFE AWAY FROM HOME.

5. More lists

Because lists are easy and don’t require very much time to write. Because my list posts are generally short. And because lists are just plain fun!

6. More link-ups/tags/original features

These posts are also quick, fun, easy, and short! I’ve actually been saving a lot of the tags I’ve been, well, tagged in because they’ll be perfect for my future short-on-blogging-time-because-college self! I also plan to do more link-ups (some of which are also lists, such as Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish) and original features, such as Reading The Rainbow. Because these posts follow a specific format, they don’t require as much time and planning as regular posts do!

-~-

How do you feel about the upcoming changes to Musings From Neville’s Navel? Excited? Surprised? Curious?

P.S. If you are or have been a college student, do you have any advice for blogging while in college?! I’d love to hear what you have to say, so please put your suggestions in the comment section below!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How Will This Blog Change When I Begin College?

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I remember that feeling of terror very well (though term doesn’t start until October for me, because Cambridge is weird like that and also Britain). You’re gonna be fine! You have life skills! In terms of blogging while adjusting to uni life, though, I would definitely say prioritise settling in over talking to randomers on the internet. Maybe schedule some posts for your first couple of weeks, so that you don’t have to think about it (but don’t schedule them too often, so if you do want to write something, you can slot it in without bombarding your readers). I found it a pretty hard adjustment, and the last thing you need is to be trying to keep on top of other commitments. Don’t be afraid to disappear for a little while in order to get yourself settled in.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, I have a bunch of scheduled posts ready to go, but I’ve also left some gaps – like, I’m going to write something on Friday about how my first week went, but I have posts already scheduled for Wednesday, Sunday, et cetera.

      I actually think I’ll manage to stay on top of my own blogging stuff, but reading/commenting on others’ blogs? I doubt I’ll have very much time for that. I’ll do my best, though! 🙂

  2. moosha23 says:

    I’m all for these new changes. Joining college will bring with it many new things to write about and I’m so looking forward to all these new posts!!! Will be sad about fewer posts, and less talk-y posts but who said reading link-ups isn’t fun? HOPE YOU GET TO BE AN OFFICIAL SCHOOL BLOGGER THING. 😀

  3. Holly says:

    I can totally relate to this! I’m going to college at the end of August, and I know that my blog will change but I don’t know exactly how and it’s KIND OF freaking me out but… I’m just going to go with the flow, you know? I plan on scheduling a bunch of posts, and hopefully I can write some in advance with what’s left of my summer. Anyways, best of luck with the transition! 🙂

  4. SpunFromInk says:

    I might have struggled last semester with keeping up with my blog, but I have all kinds of plans for this school year and I’ve learned a lot from my mistakes, so here goes nothing:
    Write about what you’ve learned in your classes. I have a huge list of ideas from taking my creative writing and just general English classes.
    Have friends in real life who know about you blog and who are willing to keep you accountable for posting. Ask one of said friends to do a guest post you can put up when you just don’t have time to put anything up.
    Take control of your time! Make sure that you are using your time wisely and planning your schoolwork and blog stuff ahead of time so that you don’t feel stressed all the time.
    Have reasonable goals that you can work towards every day.

    Most of all, just enjoy college! It’s such a great experience and you’re going to be exposed to so many new things and ideas and BOOKS! Make connections with people and stay in touch with your favorite professors. They make great references and can be a huge assist in getting a job later on.
    If you ever need any more advice, feel free to shoot me an e-mail! I’m on my third year now, so I like to pretend I know what’s going on.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahhh, thank you so much! I definitely plan on blogging about what I’ve learned in my classes, and all your other suggestions were great too! Thanks! 🙂

      I’m so excited to start classes and talk to my professors… I’m already tired of all the school spirit/orientation/get-to-know-you activities already. I’M HERE FOR AN EDUCATION, GAH. LET’S START.

      What college do you go to?

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    NO I AM SAD BECAUSE I LIKED THAT TIME WHEN YOU POSTED EVERY DAY BECAUSE THAT WAS AWESOME AND I ALWAYS HAD AN ENGIE POST TO LOOK FORWARD TO. hehee Ooookay, just kidding. 😉 I will still be here even if you post, like, once a month. Butbutbut how dare you leave me in the middle of Game of Thrones while you are not online as much. I will have to suffer alone?? ENGIIIIIIE.

  6. AHHHHH SO EXCITED FOR YOU TO GO TO COLLEGE. In like six months I’ll be nearly at university so we can swap tips on blogging 😉 But whatever you post, I’ll read it, so don’t worry about that. Fingers crossed you get to be an official blogger!

  7. ACK GOOD LUCK!!! You still make me feel like such the blogging baby XD Anyway, I’m eager to see your own adventures and know you’ll do awesome!!!

  8. Melissa R. says:

    Wish I could give you advice but there was no “blogging” back when I was in college. I can give you tips though as a full time mommy (always busy). Blog when you can but don’t feel you “HAVE” to blog. Children’s books are great for posting quick reviews. They take two minutes to read and another 5 to write review post. Some people are into doing the whole guest blogger thing which is another way of you post without having to do much work. You’ve already lamented over your overly large TBR pile so post about some of the books on there. You can feature books on your site without reading them. Cover reveals, author spotlights etc. Either way good luck with school and blogging!!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

