Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten authors I’ve read the most books from,” a follow-up to the earlier post “top ten authors I own the most books of.”

I used Goodreads to determine which authors made the top ten list, and you can too: Go to “My Books,” then scroll down the left-hand column until you reach the “tools” category, then click “most read authors.” And that should work!

…mostly. For some reason, Goodreads keeps telling me that I’ve read more of Derek Landy’s books than I actually have, AND I DON’T KNOW WHY. So. Just letting you know that this feature more or less works, but it may screw up at times. (Does it count the books I want to read? Hmmm. I may have to look into that.)

Anywayyyy… this post was very interesting to write! I didn’t realize that I’d read so many books by certain authors, or so few by others! Like, J.R.R. Tolkien and George R.R. Martin? Their books are sooooo loooong, and I guess I kind of felt like I’ve read SO MANY OF THEIR BOOKS because their stories are longer than most. (Does anyone else feel this way about any authors’ books?!)

Enjoy!

10. Andrew Clementsfrindle

  1. Frindle
  2. The School Story
  3. The Landry News
  4. A Week in the Woods 
  5. Lunch Money
  6. No Talking
  7. The Report Card
  8. The Janitor’s Boy
  9. Room One

I love these middle grade books! OOH NOSTALGIA.

9. J.K. Rowling

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  8. The Tales of Beedle the Bard
  9. The Casual Vacancy 

Perhaps someday I’ll finally get around to reading the novels she penned under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith – The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm!

8. Terry Pratchettthe wee free men

  1. The Wee Free Men
  2. A Hat Full of Sky
  3. Wintersmith
  4. The Color of Magic
  5. Good Omens
  6. Only You Can Save Mankind
  7. Johnny and the Dead
  8. Johnny and the Bomb
  9. The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents

I felt really proud about reading so many books by one author, until I remembered that Pratchett wrote more than seventy. Um.

7. Anthony Horowitz

  1. Stormbreaker
  2. Point Blank
  3. Skeleton Key
  4. Eagle Strike
  5. Scorpia
  6. Ark Angel
  7. Snakehead
  8. Crocodile Tears
  9. Scorpia Rising
  10. Russian Roulette

I LOVE this YA series about a teenage spy – a few years ago, I spent an entire summer devouring these books! ITS ENDING BROKE MY HEART THOUGH.

6. Louise Rennisonangus thongs and full-frontal snogging

  1. Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging
  2. On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God
  3. Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
  4. Dancing in My Nuddy-Pants
  5. Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers
  6. Away Laughing On a Fast Camel
  7. Startled By His Furry Shorts
  8. Love Is A Many Trousered Thing
  9. Stop in the Name of Pants!
  10. Are These My Basoomas I See Before Me?

These books sound super… racy, don’t they? BUT THEY’RE NOT. REALLY. The teenage protagonist, Georgia, is desperate for a boyfriend, but she never gets any further than kissing. MOST OF THE TIME SHE JUST STAYS HOME WITH HER CAT AND DAYDREAMS OF BOYS BECAUSE SHE’S TOO FLUSTERED TO EVEN APPROACH THEM.

(If you want to know what my life is like, just substitute “girls” for “boys” in that last sentence. I have no social life whatsoever.)

5. Bill Bryson

  1. The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
  2. In a Sunburned Country
  3. Notes From A Small Island
  4. A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
  5. At Home: A Short History of Private Life
  6. Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe
  7. I’m A Stranger Here Myself: Notes on Returning to America After Twenty Years Away
  8. The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way
  9. Bill Bryson’s African Diary
  10. Made in America: An Informal History of the English Language in the United States

OH MY GOD THIS MAN WRITES THE MOST HILARIOUS TRAVELOGUES EVER.

4. Roald DahlMatilda[1]

 

  1. Matilda
  2. The BFG
  3. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  4. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
  5. Boy: Tales of Childhood
  6. Going Solo
  7. The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More
  8. James and the Giant Peach
  9. Fantastic Mr. Fox
  10. The Magic Finger

…and I have so, so many more left to read!

3. Derek Landy

  1. Skulduggery Pleasant
  2. Playing with Fire
  3. The Faceless Ones
  4. Dark Days
  5. Mortal Coil
  6. Death Bringer
  7. Kingdom of the Wicked
  8. Tanith Low in… The Maleficent Seven
  9. Last Stand of Dead Men
  10. Armageddon Outta Here
  11. The Dying of the Light

And soon Demon Road!

2. Rick Riordan070517_LightningThief_vmed_11a[1]

  1. The Lightning Thief
  2. The Sea of Monsters
  3. The Titan’s Curse
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth
  5. The Last Olympian
  6. The Lost Hero
  7. The Son of Neptune
  8. The Mark of Athena
  9. The House of Hades
  10. The Blood of Olympus
  11. The Red Pyramid
  12. The Throne of Fire

I need to finish the Kane Chronicles and then try some of his earlier detective stories!

1. Margaret Peterson Haddix

  1. Among the Hidden
  2. Among the Imposters
  3. Among the Betrayed
  4. Among the Barons
  5. Among the Brave
  6. Among the Enemy
  7. Among the Free
  8. Running Out of Time
  9. Turnabout
  10. Leaving Fishers
  11. Escape From Memory
  12. Double Identity
  13. Don’t You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey
  14. Just Ella
  15. Uprising

Either this author isn’t very well known, or I haven’t yet stumbled upon her Internet fangirls. Hmmm. Anyway, Margaret Peterson Haddix writes truly amazing YA dystopian fiction. KDSJHGKDSJHGDKHG.

-~-

Which authors have you read the most books from? Were you surprised to realize you’ve read so many books by a particular author? And… how did you end up reading so many of their books, anyway? Have you been a fan for aaaaages? Did your parents read many of one author’s books to you when you were little? Or did you binge-read?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

  1. This week I found out that I have read 69 books by Mercedes Lackey. I’m still in shock.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my god, I didn’t know she’d written that many books! Wow. I keep meaning to try her stories, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet… which ones would you recommend? 🙂

      • The scariest part is that I haven’t even read all of her books! She’s a machine!

        If you like fairytale retellings (like last week’s TTT) then you should try her Elemental Masters series. The Bardic Voices series is really good and “The Eagle and the Nightingales” is one of my favourite books ever. The Valdemar series is HUGE, so I would suggest just picking a trilogy that appeals to you and go from there. I’m convinced there is no best way to read her books.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK! Thanks so much for the recs! 🙂

  2. Melissa R. says:

    Great list of authors!! I’m trying to reread a lot of Dahl’s books. Partly for the 1001 children’s book challenges and partly because he was always my favorite author as a kid. Love your site by the way! Any Harry Potter fan is alright by me (but really Slytherin? I’m a Hufflepuff girl myself). Rereading the books right now and am on the third. I swear every time I read them I catch something I missed the last time. No TTT list for me this week.

  3. matttblack42 says:

    No Agatha Christie? *casts a disapproving eye on you*

    (Of course I’ve only read 2 of her books, so I can’t really say anything, but still.)

  4. Ellie says:

    I had Rowling and Riordan as well! (I really need to reread HP and PJO/HoO, though. It’s been too long.) I ended up restricting my list to books read within the past couple of years, which cut Roald Dahl from the list, but it also kept me from having to put Magic Tree House and Secrets of Droon and whatnot. . .

    My TTT: http://thespellboundreader.blogspot.com/2015/08/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-authors-ive.html

  5. I had so many of the same ones as you, Derek Landy, JK Rowling, Rick Riordan and Roald Dahl were all on my list this week too. Is it weird that I didn’t know you’d read Skulduggery until today?
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/08/11/top-ten-tuesday-17/

  6. AHH YES the Stormbreaker books are awesome. I remember reading them in primary school. I also love Louise Rennison’s books. They’re just so funny 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay yay yay! I don’t know many people who’ve read either series, so I’m glad to hear that you liked these books as well!

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Literally everyone I knew lower down in school had read at least some of the Alex Rider books. They were staples for British teenagers for a while. Heh. The school library I was working in had some very, very battered copies which I glued back together.

    • nevillegirl says:

      It probably has something to do with where I live… he’s a UK author, so I’m not surprised that his books aren’t as well known on my side of the pond.

  7. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh oh I want to try something by Anthony Horowitz. ALL his books are on audio at the library and I kind of look at them and think “eh” and move on but if yooooou like them, then maybe I should try?! 😀 I haven’t read nearly enough Derek Landy because I’m a WIMP. And I want to read the Kane Chronicles!! It’s like The Year of Rick Riordan for me….I’m just going to read Blood of Olympus and Magnus Chase and then KANE CHRONICLES HERE I COME.
    Also I probably should’ve put Roald Dahl on my list, hehe, or the Boxcar Children. Omg, I think I read 60 of those when I was little. 0_0

    • nevillegirl says:

      They’re sooooooo good! The first few books are a bit formulaic, but then Horowitz starts adding all this intrigue and SADNESS and ahhhh omg it’s just really, really good. ❤ By the end of Scorpia Rising I was just like OH MY GOD WHAT HAPPENED I CANNOT HANDLE THIS.

    • Miriam Joy says:

      I used to love Anthony Horowitz, but I went off his style after a while, and kind of … never finished the Alex Rider books. Literally, I got as far as Snakehead (which is really close to the end of the series) and just never got around to seeking out the last couple of books. WHOOPS.

    • nevillegirl says:

      AHHHHH YOU NEED TO FINISH THEM THEY BROKE MY HEART.

  8. Carrie says:

    love Roald Dahl! Love the blog time he’s getting today 🙂
    My TTT

  9. Miriam Joy says:

    Goodreads says I’ve read the most by Cassandra Clare, but this isn’t actually true — partly because I’ve read some of her books in more than one edition, so I think it counted them twice, and partly because it doesn’t take into account the books I read before I got Goodreads. I tend not to add things retrospectively unless I’m rereading them, so it only counts 9 Terry Pratchett books — and I’ve read at least 40, since I’ve read almost all the Discworld books as well as Nation, The Long Earth, and Good Omens. As for books I read in my childhood… I have no clue what I read, so I wouldn’t be able to add most of them if I tried.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I haven’t updated a lot of the books I read before I got a Goodreads account – I mean, unless they were my FAVORITES or if I still read a lot from that author now. (Terry Pratchett, Rick Riordan, et cetera.)

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Because I tend to reread everything, I hold off adding them so that I don’t confuse the issue when I eventually get around to rereading it and want to add the book to shelves, ha ha. But there are so many books to read for the first time that I don’t know as I’ll ever reread them all…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

