What Have I Been Doing Lately? | Traveling, Reading, & Freaking Out About COLLEGE

The past two weeks have been lovely, if a little odd. I keep freaking out on the inside because OH MY GOD I WILL SOON BE AT COLLEGE AND I AM NERVOUS, but in some ways, these weeks have also been kind of relaxing. Does that make any sense? It’s like… there’s not much to do, apart from packing and finding things that I need to pack and checking things off of my packing list.

Otherwise, though? My life has been fairly quiet. No jobs, no volunteering… just a few fun days at the end of summer. I’ve been busy, I suppose, but not nearly as busy as usual, and when I have been busy, I’ve been doing fun things!

Here is what I have been doing!

1. Visited Chicago

Last week, the other Achievement Ambassadors, our adult leader, and I spent a day in Chicago as a sort of celebration of all our hard work! We took a train into the city, which I looooove: It always makes me feel like I’m riding the Hogwarts Express!

Our first stop was the Willis Tower (also/previously known as the Sears Tower). At 108 stories and some 1400 feet tall, it is the tallest building in Chicago and the second-tallest in the United States. Now, I HATE HEIGHTS, so I was terrified to go to the top, but it actually wasn’t too bad! I got vertigo a couple of times, but the view was AMAZING. (Divergent wasn’t my cup of tea, but if you are in that fandom… the Willis Tower and The Hub are the same thing. TRIS WHY WOULD YOU ZIPLINE FROM THAT BUILDING DO YOU HAVE A DEATH WISH.)

Anyway, then we had deep-dish pizza (YUM YUM YUM) for lunch, and after that we went on a bus tour, and after that we did a boat tour of the city’s architecture, during which I learned a bunch of useless nerdy facts about history!

We concluded the day by hanging out in Millennium Park, where we found this awesome new playground and promptly turned into giant kids. There was a GINORMOUS SLIDE there, all right? IT WAS THE GREATEST.

All in all, it was a wonderful – if exhausting – day!

2. Attended my library’s Comic-Con

There was a costume contest, and vendors selling their own graphic novels and comic books, but… I came for the trivia contest! AND I FAILED. I SO, SO FAILED. I answered only six out of thirty-five questions correctly! A lot of the questions were about DC Comics or comics from, like, the eighties, so I just didn’t know the answers! I’M PROUD TO SAY I DID KNOW ALL THE STUFF ABOUT DAREDEVIL AND THE X-MEN, THOUGH.

Anywayyyy. Most importantly, I had fun! I may not have won a goody bag of comic book stuff, but I SPENT THE AFTERNOON GEEKING OUT DURING THE CONTEST. YAY.

3. Read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Ohhhh my god, this book was so disappointing! It wasn’t BAD, but… well, I read it because of all the hype, and I just don’t think it lived up to that hype? It was very AVERAGE – dare I even call it bland and boring? Neither the novel nor its protagonist were as adorable, funny, charming, et cetera as I’d been promised.

…and I didn’t care for the romance, either, BECAUSE I DIDN’T SEE ANY. All of my friends who’ve read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda LOVED the romance and totally shipped Simon/Blue, and I… don’t. I WANTED TO, THOUGH. I SO WANTED TO. I read this story because I’d been promised a cute romance, but I didn’t see even one spark of romantic chemistry between Simon and Blue. I didn’t even particularly like them as friends? I don’t know. That whole aspect of the story felt rather flat.

Like I said, it wasn’t a bad novel, but it’s soooo disappointing when I expect something mind-blowingly awesome and end up with something average. Meh.  EXCUSE ME WHILE I CURL UP IN A CORNER AND SULK ABOUT STORIES THAT DIDN’T LIVE UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS.

I will eventually review Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda as part of my regular feature, Reading The Rainbow.

4. Read twenty-seven graphic novels and comic books

I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather lately, so I spent much of the past few days lying on the couch or in bed… reading, reading, and MORE READING. Here is what I’ve read since 8/6/15:

  • Daredevil vs. Bullseye by Marv Wolfman
  • Batman: Joker’s Asylum by Jason Aaron
  • Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelly Sue DeConnick
  • Black Widow, Vol. 1: The Finely Woven Thread by Nathan Edmondson
  • Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson
  • Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka and J.H. Williams III
  • SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki
  • Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. the World by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron
  • Thor, God of Thunder: Vol. 1 – The God Butcher by Jason Aaron
  • Thor, God of Thunder: Vol. 2 – Godbomb by Jason Aaron
  • Hatter M: Love of Wonder (Free Comic Book Day 2015) by Frank Beddor
  • The All-New All-Different Avengers FCBD 2015 by Mark Waid
  • Doctor Who: Free Comic Book Day by Nick Abadzis
  • Once Upon A Time: Shadow of the Queen by Daniel T. Thomsen
  • Saga: Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan
  • Saga: Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan
  • Saga: Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughan
  • Saga: Volume 4 by Brian K. Vaughan
  • 300 by Frank Miller
  • Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson
  • Daredevil: Father by Joe Quesada

I plan to write full-length reviews for Batwoman: ElegyBlack Widow, Scott Pilgrim, Saga, Lumberjanes, and Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder. You can ALSO expect a post filled with mini reviews of all the other books!

5. Did some back-to-school shopping

My family hasn’t really done much back-to-school shopping in a long time, because… we’re homeschoolers, and I guess the start of school just isn’t a big deal to us? But now I’m headed off to college, so some back-to-school shopping was in order. OH HOW I LOVE THE SCENT OF PENCILS AND NEW NOTEBOOKS.

I also got some new clothes and… MAKEUP! I’ve never had my own makeup before, because I’ve only worn it like maybe six times in my whole entire life. Now, however, I want to start teaching myself and experimenting with makeup and wearing some every day, not just for special occasions. WISH ME LUCK AND HOPE THAT I DON’T POKE MY EYE OUT WITH THE MASCARA WAND.

-~-

What have you been doing lately?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Have I Been Doing Lately? | Traveling, Reading, & Freaking Out About COLLEGE

  1. YAY FOR ALL THE THINGS YOU’VE BEEN DOING. I liked Simon Vs (I gave it 4 stars) but I didn’t fall in LOVE with it like everyone else has. I’m a much bigger fan of m/f or f/f romance, tbh. BUT YAY FOR BACK-TO-SCHOOL SHOPPING. I LOVE stationery. Oh, and make-up!!! Yesssss, I love make-up. I wear eyeliner and mascara practically every day but I’d like to experiment more as well 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, I had plenty of issues with the writing style, but even apart from that? I started reading Simon vs. knowing that I probably wouldn’t like it as much as an F/F story ’cause M/M and F/M just aren’t usually my “thing.”

      Stationeryyyyyyyyyyy. ❤ I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I HOPE YOU DON’T POKE YOUR EYE OUT WITH A MASCARA WAND. XDXD And good luck! I have worn make up once in my life I think, and I hated it. I HATE STUFF TOUCHING ME. I hate even sunscreen. So yes. >_> Ahhh the smell of notebooks and nice sharp pencils and new pens. :’) SUCH GLORIOUSNESS.
    Ahhh, so jealous of your library’s comic collection.
    Omg, Simon is disappointing?! That is sadness. 😦 I do want to read it still because of aaaall the rave reviews, but I’m kind of expecting a lot too, so I’m duly nervous.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *clutches notebooks and pencils* SO GLORIOUS.

      Yeah, it… I LIKED it, but I didn’t LOVE it and that really disappointed me because I was expecting The Next Great YA Novel and it was so so… average. :/

  3. orphu44 says:

    Ahh, I’ve just realized how close you are to going to college! /Good luck/! And I hope you don’t poke your eye out with mascara wand and/or other make-up.

  4. Levi says:

    omg you read scott pilgrim! it’s on my tbr list as a western comic, since i’ve read like no comics originally written in english. actually i’ve pretty much only read manga. do you have any recommendations for comics n stuff?

    if you have eyeliner or are gonna get some, get the one that looks like a pen. it’s SO MUCH EASIER TO APPLY like seriously, that stuff is amazing 😀

    good luck about college yo!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah! I loved the /concept/ of Scott Pilgrim, like… fighting all those evil exes like he’s in a video game, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the art. And the biphobia is strong with this series. -_-
      Oh my gosh, yessssss. I do! I’ve split this list into graphic novels and comic books…

      Graphic novels:
      V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd
      American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
      Boxers (and Saints) by Gene Luen Yang
      The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff
      Persepolis (and Persepolis 2) by Marjane Satrapi
      Maus (and Maus II) by Art Spiegelman
      Malice (and Havoc) by Chris Wooding
      Saga by Brian K. Vaughan
      Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson

      Comic books:
      Young Avengers series by Kieron Gillen
      Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka
      Black Widow: The Finely Woven Thread (and Black Widow: The Tightly Tangled Web) by Nathan Edmondson
      Captain America: The Winter Soldier by Ed Brubaker
      Captain America: Man out of Time by Mark Waid
      Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelly Sue DeConnick
      Ms. Marvel, Vol.1: No Normal by G. Willow Williams
      Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron
      Thor, God of Thunder: Vol. 1 – The God Butcher by Jason Aaron
      Thor, God of Thunder: Vol. 2 – Godbomb by Jason Aaron
      Daredevil: Father by Joe Quesada

      …and that should be MORE than enough to get you started! 😀 Have fun reading!

      Hmmm, I have like a little pot of eyeliner and a brush to apply it with. Is that harder than using a pen?? *worried face* I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MAKEUP I NEED HELP.

      Thank you so much!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

