Packing | My Room Looks Empty & I Want To Bring ALL THE BOOKS I OWN

Well, here it is. A MOMENTOUS DAY IS UPON US. Or upon me, at least. Today is the last full day I spend at home – early tomorrow morning, my parents and I will drive to the University of Iowa. I probably won’t be home again until Thanksgiving break. (Late November, for my non-American readers.)

So, yeah. That’ll be quite a big change.

The whole going-off-to-college thing suddenly became more, well, real on Thursday when I looked around my room and noticed how empty it was, how many things were missing from shelves and drawers and closets. My brother teased me about bringing so much stuff to school but A) I’m not even bringing that much stuff compared to what some people I know are bringing to their schools and B) I’m going to be living in that tiny dorm room for the next few months, so I had better make sure that I have everything I need.

(I mean, in a pinch, my parents could mail something I’ve forgotten, but I’d rather avoid that hassle.)

I mean… clothes! I don’t normally give that much thought to what I wear, but I had to sort through my clothes and decide what I would actually wear, and what would be more likely to hang, neglected, at the back of my closet. And SHOES! I’m arriving in the summer and leaving when there may very well be snow on the ground, so it’s just like… ahhh, so much to pack.

And BOOKS! I wish I could bring all of my books, but… that isn’t happening, unfortunately. So I had to decide what I wanted to bring along to college, because I can’t exactly pop back home and grab a story that I forgot.

I don’t know. It’s just very weird to think that I’m moving away and more or less living on my own – that I’m packing up a bunch of my things as if I were just heading off to summer camp, but… unlike summer camp, I won’t be coming back for several months. My family has moved once before, but I was barely five years old, so I don’t remember it very well. (And it’s not even as if we moved far, far away – we literally just moved to a different house in the same town.) I’ve lived in the same house for almost fourteen years, and the same town for my whole entire life, so… yeah. I’m kind of wondering how I’ll adjust to this change?

Tomorrow my life will change in a number of ways… I’m EXCITED, yet also NERVOUS/TERRIFIED. I’M FEELING ALL OF THE EMOTIONS RIGHT NOW.

I’m also feeling like my brain is fried. There was a point to this post, I swear, but I’ve quite forgotten what it was, so I’ll end my ramblings here. I need to go do more packing thingies, like double-checking my “books to pack” list! (Because I want ALL OF THE STORIES, peoples. But I can only pick so many.)

Have a lovely day!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Packing | My Room Looks Empty & I Want To Bring ALL THE BOOKS I OWN

  1. ACK GOOD LUCK!!! Packing sounds not fun. 🙂 Somebody mentioned something the other day about not being able to bring all their books to college and I think I just gave them this look of pure horror 😄 What will I do without them… Anyhow, lovely post and I hope you enjoy college!

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    It’s a big change — I’d never moved at all, so I was super scared about it. My recommendation with books is to bring a couple of favourites, but then find the nearest local library when you get to uni (or if there’s fiction in the university library, that works too) and haunt that whenever you have time. It makes it a lot easier. Heh.

    Also, take posters or pictures to put on the walls! If you’re not allowed to stick things in your dorm room, bring some kind of noticeboard to pin them on (if there won’t be one already) — having some colour in there is pretty important, it gets so dull afterwards. At least I find that.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, that’s what I did – I brought some of my favorites, plus some stuff I didn’t know if I’d be able to even find at the local library, but otherwise I’ll just rely on the town library for random new YA books and whatnot.

      I have a bulletin board on my side of the room (and my roommate does not, for some reason – mine came with the room) so I’m going to stick SO MANY THINGS up there! 😀 Right now I just have a library brochure up there, haha.

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omggg, so nervous and exciting! (I would be a wreck, but hheehe, I’m so bad at change.) OH GOSH YOU’VE LIVED IN THE SAME TOWN YOUR WHOLE LIFE? I AM OFFICIALLY JEALOUS. I’ve lived, um, in like 6 or 7 houses and that many towns. -_- I hate moving.

    AHHHH GOOD LUCK WHEN YOU LEAVE TOMORROW!!! 😀

  4. Boquinha says:

    I hate packing! But, oh, you’re in for the time of your life!! I can’t believe it’s already here for you. Enjoy and learn lots! So exciting!

  5. SO EXCITING 😀 Good luck for the move! Like Cait up there, I’ve lived in about 7 houses but I think moving out on your OWN is quite a big difference 😉 I’ll still be living with my family next year for university so I won’t have so many big changes at once. AHHH I can’t even imagine how you would choose which books to bring O_O

  6. matttblack42 says:

    I wish you luck on your life in college. Make the best of it! Or at the very least, make the best of most of it, and then just sort of stay away from all the bad parts. For instance, I hear there’s a guy who likes to karate chop people’s heads off around campus, so you should probably stay about a stone’s throw away from him at all times. You’d think someone would have put a stop to this head-chopping murderer by now but, well, that’s college for you.

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

