College, Day One | Moving In, Ice Cream, Messiness, Heat, And THE LIBRARY

AHHHH OMG I CAN’T BELIEVE IT I’M IN COLLEGE I’M FINALLY IN COLLEGE OMG!

I am so so excited and yet also so so terrified. EEEK. Basically, I’m feeling ALL OF THE EMOTIONS right now.

I’m also feeling pretty tired. Today was BUSY. I feel emotionally tired AND physically tired, but there’s still just enough of an undercurrent of enthusiasm to make me want to go go GO. And, really, there’s still sooo much to do! I’ve almost finished unpacking, but… yeah, like I said, only almost. I still need to unpack my (absolutely crammed full) box of books, and I need to find somewhere to put my towels and random boxes of, like, crackers and stuff.

Anyway. SO MUCH HAPPENED TODAY. Here are just a few of the things I did:

1. Unpacked my stuff

I mean, DUH. But seriously, there’s just a lot of stuff and even though my dorm room is bigger than most, I still have to be creative about what little nooks and crannies I put things in, because there isn’t a ton of room. I’ll probably still be switching around where I put things because AHHH THE MESS.

2. Sweated a lot because UGH THE HUMIDITY

It’s hot and sticky and humid here, or at least it was. I haven’t been outside since dinner, which was a few hours ago, but anyway. Lugging all my stuff around and going up and down many flights of stairs in the heat made me feel pretty gross.

…I’m really looking forward to slightly cooler weather this fall!

3. Talked to my roommate

Like, a LOT. She’s funny and sweet and I’m really happy I ended up with someone so nice! We talked about stuff like our majors and classes and where we’re from – and tomorrow morning we’re going to walk around campus and figure out where all our classes are held!

4. WENT TO THE LIBRARY

…and got spectacularly lost on the way there! I think my phone gave me the wrong directions? I spent almost an hour wandering the streets of Iowa City until I finally asked some random little old lady for directions! And OH THE LIBRARY IS GLORIOUS. It’s really big, and you can even check out books/DVDs/et cetera on your own! I have a feeling I’ll be back there soon.

5. Went to an ice cream social

I think the idea was that we’d introduce ourselves to people at the social – I mean, that’s why they call it a social – but I kind of just sat there eating my little bowl of ice cream and people-watching. The evening sky looked so pretty, too!

6. Ate dinner BY MYSELF while READING A BOOK

With no parents there to tell me that reading during meals is antisocial! I’M SORRY BUT I HAD TO INCLUDE THIS ON MY LIST BECAUSE BOOKS + FOOD = LIFE. There are definitely advantages to not knowing anyone on campus other than my roommate – no one wants to sit with me, which is just fine because I’d rather spend my time with a book and my food!

And, well, hopefully I do make a few friends, but I can totally see myself spending many evenings reading the handouts for my upcoming class sessions while I eat dinner alone. THIS ISN’T MEANT TO SOUND ALL PITIFUL LIKE “OH, POOR ME” BECAUSE IT ACTUALLY SOUNDS LIKE HEAVEN TO LITTLE INTROVERTED ME.

7. Caught up on the latest episodes of Carmilla

…OK, so the reason I’m including THIS is that I purposely didn’t watch the last few episodes so I’d have something comforting and fun to do when I got homesick. Also, IT IS SO WEIRD TO WATCH THIS SHOW AS A COLLEGE STUDENT, FINALLY. It’s like… oh, I wish my school were a university of magic and that my roommate was a vampire.

(I mean, I don’t think she is. As soon as I figure out a non-weird way to ask, I shall. Just kidding! EVEN I’M NOT SO WEIRD THAT I’D DO THAT.)

-~-

…well, I should log off now, and get some rest. Actually, I think I’m probably going to take my laptop up to my bed (it’s a bunk bed) and watch one of the DVDs I borrowed from the library until I get sleepy, because I don’t have to get up super early tomorrow morning. THE THOUGHT OF DOING THIS MAKES ME FEEL REBELLIOUS BECAUSE AT HOME THE RULE WAS ALWAYS “NO COMPUTERS IN BEDROOMS.”

Anyway.

It’s been a long day, and a good – if weird – one. Goodnight!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to College, Day One | Moving In, Ice Cream, Messiness, Heat, And THE LIBRARY

  1. OH MY GOSH I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU. You should share some pictures with us 😀 Aggghhhhhh I’m looking forward to hearing all about college 🙂

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OH WOW. ALL GROW’D UP AND WATCHING MOVIES IN BED AND EATING ANTISOCIALLY. :’) You are living the introvert life obviously. xD yaaaay for all these feels though! I hope you have a spectacularly good college experience! 😀

  3. I HAVE THAT SAME RULE AT MY HOUSE OMG. Anyway, your first day seems exciting!!! Good luck again!

  4. Holly says:

    Glad to hear that your move in day went well! I’m super nervous for mine in two weeks, but at least there’s hope!

  5. Levi says:

    congrats! i hope you and your roommate get along super well cos that’d be rad as heck for both of you 😀

  6. orphu44 says:

    Ahh, congratulations! I’m glad it seems to have been a good day! These all sound like A+ things (well, except for the humidity. ick.) I hope today goes well!
    (Also, don’t ask if she’s a vampire. Steal her food and check if there’s any blood hidden in it. Your college lesbian vampire adventure is waiting.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much!

      …this is why I’m friends with you. Because you offer sound advice like “steal her food and check if there’s any blood hidden in it.” She did have a thing of iced tea here the other day, but I’m pretty sure it was real tea and not blood? NOOOO WHERE IS MY COLLEGE LESBIAN VAMPIRE ADVENTURE?!

  7. Hey Engie! Congrats on moving in! College must be so fun and scary lol. I started at a a new school this year which was a bit terrifying and really fun. 🙂
    I hope you have so much fun in college. I want to hear more!
    LOVE LOVE LOVE

  8. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

