First Reactions To The “Doctor Who” Series Nine TV Trailer

I can’t believe the new series of Doctor Who is already almost here! Series nine will premiere on September nineteenth and I, for one, cannot wait. AHHHH, I’M SO EXCITED.

Sooooo… today, I’m doing a reaction post for one of the trailers! I waited to see what the second trailer was like, but I actually like the first one better, so… yeah, I’m gonna do a post about that one instead.

Enjoy!

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:05 – Ahhh, how I’ve missed the TARDIS.

0:07 – Clara’s outfits are cute as always, I see.

0:14 – SO PRETTY.

0:19 – I NEED LIKE A WHOLE ARMY OF THOSE ROBOT THINGS. FOR NO REASON.

0:26 – …it would seem that the writers are once again aiming for a creepy series.

0:30 – MISSY!

0:32 – That was… a ridiculous monologue. What does it even MEAN? [Tiny bewildered noises] I’m kind of thinking that because the camera cut to Missy’s face right before the monologue ended, Twelve was talking about her?

0:43 – So, two possibilities here: The costume designers are recycling outfits from previous episodes of the show – which has happened before – or Clara is wearing that spacesuit because they’re revisiting that weird planet with the descendant of her and Danny and… wait. HOLD ON A MINUTE. I just realized something! Did they rewrite that part of history – that dude’s existence – because Danny died? I mean, the only other option is that they had a secret baby and I don’t even want to think about how terrible that kind of plot ended up being back in series six.

0:44 – Twelve’s hair looks remarkably like my brother’s here, because my brother hardly ever brushes his hair. YOU HAVE TIME LORD HAIR, QUENTIN.

0:48 – THIS IS THE SAME EXACT FACE I MADE WHEN I HEARD THAT STEVEN MOFFAT WASN’T GOING TO LEAVE AFTER SERIES EIGHT.

0:50 – …I’m pretty sure this alien’s eye sockets are empty, but it just looks like he’s wearing sunglasses. WHAT A FASHIONABLE ALIEN.

0:55 – ZYGON HUG.

0:57 – …there are no words to describe the awesomeness of this moment.

0:59 – Nice outfit, Clara.

1:02 – I AM EXCITED FOR MORE SCENES WITH CLARA AND MISSY TOGETHER.

1:04 – “I wear sunglasses now. Sunglasses are cool.”

1:18 – MAISIE WILLIAMS.

1:21 – MAISIE MY LOVE.

1:25 – MAISIE YOU’RE SO ADORABLE.

1:26 – MAISIE EVER SINCE IT WAS ANNOUNCED THAT YOU WOULD BE A GUEST STAR I’VE BEEN ANXIOUS TO SEE WHAT YOUR CHARACTER WOULD LOOK LIKE AND AHHH OMG!

-~-

SO. That was a fun trailer! I can only hope the writers don’t try to make this show darker, though – I feel like at the start of each new series, they insist that the next episodes will be SO DRAMATIC and then they’re just… not. I don’t know. WHAT CAN I SAY? I HAVEN’T REALLY LOVED MUCH OF THE WRITING SINCE THE END OF SERIES FOUR.

…but I’m hoping for the best. I’m excited to see more of Missy, and I’m pretty sure I read something on the Internet about Jenna Coleman (who plays Clara Oswald) leaving the show at the halfway point of series nine? I know I’ve said this before, but I think she’s a talented actress who is doing the best she can with a lackluster role, so I’m interested to see what kind of companion we’ll have next.

Aside from that… SUPER excited for Maisie Williams. She’s one of my (many, many) crushes from the Game of Thrones cast and she’s a really good actress for her age and I just… SO SO EXCITED.

But first, I need to find some way to watch Doctor Who! Last year I just watched it with my brother, but I won’t have a TV in college, and I have no idea if my roommate will. Maybe I’ll befriend someone who does? Maybe the dorm’s student lounge has cable TV? Maybe there’s a Doctor Who fanclub on campus and they do weekly screenings? I HAVE NO IDEA. I’LL HAVE TO FIND OUT. This article makes me think I may have a good chance of finding one, but we shall have to see.

…also, I would like to continue the collaborative-reviewing-thingy that I started last year, but obviously that depends on whether I am able to watch this latest series of Doctor Who, and on how soon I can watch the episodes after they’ve aired! Also, even if I am able to co-review with you guys, don’t expect the posts to be as long as they were last year! Because I won’t have as much time to write my sections and proofread my contributors’ sections. But I’m sure we can figure out something together!

Oh, and one more thing! I don’t know where else in the post to put this, so I suppose I’ll include it in this conclusion-y thing: The show recently hired its first transgender actress! Yay! PROGRESS.

-~-

What’s your opinion of this trailer for Doctor Who, series nine?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First Reactions To The “Doctor Who” Series Nine TV Trailer

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I hadn’t actually got around to watching the trailer until now, so thanks for reminding me.

    I’m excited for s9 because I like Capaldi and stuff, but I didn’t find this trailer all that engaging. It was just like THING THING THING THING THING, you know? Didn’t really build so much as throw bricks at you.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome. 😛

      Yeah, it’s definitely not the /best/ DW trailer, but… pretty much all trailers are like THING THING THING THING THING now, aren’t they? Most of them are just a series of explosions and “surprises” that aren’t surprising because, well, by the time we see the movie/TV show, we’ve already seen those clips over and over.
      Anyway. IDK, I guess I’m just kind of used to most trailers being that way. But if the movie or show’s plot is like THING THING THING THING THING? Then I draw the line. 😦

  2. The Lovely Llama says:

    wait do we know who maisie williams will be in the show bc for some reason my brain immediately went “ITS JENNY” and i wanna know if that’s actually a possibility??

  3. MUST. WATCH. SOON. Season 8 was only recently released on Netflix, and I’ve started the first episode. I am so excited for Missy and Twelve. The new season is so intriguing looking, though, especially your thoughts. Cool post!

  4. Mo says:

    With the orange jumpsuit thing, I’m fairly certain it’s just the standard outfit for “planets that can’t support human/Time Lord life”–Ten wears something similar in The Satan Pit and so I’ve just kind of assumed the Doctor kept those spacesuits “just in case.”

    I’m particularly excited to see how Maisie Williams fits in–she seems to have a fair amount of significance. In the second trailer she shows up three times, which is more than Missy.

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    I would love to do another collab post with you if you’re able to do it! 🙂 And I really really really hope you can watch it live because there will most definitely be lots of fangirling from me. Or rants. Or whatever. Probably fangirling. This looks promising!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

