My Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten of my auto-buy authors” – basically, the authors whose books you would buy without a second thought!

Sooo… I’ve talked about this particular bookish habit of mine before, but I don’t often buy books that I haven’t read! Especially if they’re new, because then I’d be buying them at full price, and what if I spend all that money on a book I didn’t even like?!

inheritanceThat said, there are some authors I love love love… aaaaand I would feel totally comfortable buying their books without having read them first. EXCEPT. Except that college is a thing, and college is super freaking expensive, and I don’t feel too good about spending money on books when I need to spend it on tuition.

SO. This school year, I definitely plan to preorder a few upcoming books by my favorite/auto-buy authors, but not very many. ANYWAY. Here are the ten authors whose books I would auto-buy!

Enjoy!

1. Malinda Lo

She comes first because she’s the AWESOMEST! Seriously, I loooove her books – they meet my (incredibly picky) ideas of what a great book should be! So I wouldn’t even hesitate to buy anything she publishes in the years to come.last stand of dead men

2. Derek Landy

I actually preordered a copy of Demon Road a few weeks ago! OH MY GOD OH MY GOD YOU GUYS YOU DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND HOW EXCITED I AM. I bought most of his Skulduggery Pleasant books without having read them first – which I hardly EVER do – and they did not disappoint, so I felt confident about preordering his latest as well.

3. Marissa Meyer

Winter will be published soon, and… yeah, I just need to buy ALL of the Lunar Chronicles, don’t I? I love her writing. It kind of reminds me of Malinda Lo’s writing, in terms of weirdness? Creativity? Something?

the sword of summer4. Rick Riordan

I NEED TO PREORDER THE SWORD OF SUMMER. I think this book will be quite a comforting read – a college student reading middle grade novels? YES PLEASE. I NEED SOMETHING REASSURING AND FUNNY.

5. George R.R. Martin

Have I finished A Feast for Crows? Have I even started A Dance with Dragons? No and no. Will I buy The Winds of Winter as soon as it’s published, WHENEVER it’s finally published?! WHY YES INDEED.

6. Maggie Stiefvater

…again, I need to preorder The Raven King! Stiefvater’s writing is just… GAH IT’S HIGH QUALITY OMG. I am sad that this series is coming to an end, though.

7. Kirsten Millerhow to lead a life of crime

PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER VOLUME IN THE KIKI STRIKE SERIES, KIRSTEN, BECAUSE A) I NEED IT AND B) I WILL AUTOMATICALLY BUY IT. I PROMISE.

8. E. Lockhart

I mean, I still think her latest novel, We Were Liars, was pretty terrible – like, the worst thing she’s ever written – but. BUT. I loooooove all her other books, and she’s written quite a few, so I would totally buy her next. As long as it isn’t a sequel to We Were Liars.

9. Emily M. Danforth

LE SIGH. Danforth has only written one book so far – The Miseducation of Cameron Post – but apparently she’s working on more! And because her ONLY NOVEL is my favorite book of all time, I will buy it RIGHT AWAY in the hope of finding my new second favorite book.

the miseducation of cameron post10. Suzanne Collins

It’s been a few years since Suzanne Collins last published anything, but if she did? I can guarantee that I would buy it. Personally, I’m hoping she writes more urban fantasy, but I would totally read more science fiction from her… or stories from any genre, TBH.

-~-

Which authors would you auto-buy from? And more importantly… WHY? Let me know in the comment section below!

P.S. And who else is dying of anticipation for Demon Road and The Sword of Summer?! OH MY GOD THEY’LL BE PUBLISHED SO SOON!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors

  1. HOW DID I KNOW MALINDA LO WAS GOING TO BE ON HERE? 🙂 Oh, also, I’m just about to start Demon Road so that’s pretty exciting!! And I totally need to read The Sword of Summer because Norse mythology.

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    SO YES AND YES TO ALL OF THESE. XD I knew you’d say Malinda Lo, GRRM and Derek Landy though, hehe. I AM A MIND READER. *self five* Ohhh, you’re gonna love Demon Road. I JUST REALLY HOPE SO ANYWAY BECAUSE I WAS SNORTING WITH LAUGHTER OVER IT. And yes to Maggie Stiefvater. I will read anything and everything by her. ANYTHING. *hyperventilates with need for The Raven King*

  3. I CANNOT WAIT FOR SWORD OF SUMMER AN THE RAVEN KING EEEEEEEEEK. And yes, a new Kiki Strike book would be awesome! I love them soooo much…

  4. bookworm445 says:

    Derek Landy, definitely. DEMON ROAD, HERE I COME! Maggie Steifvater, also. Ummm.. RICK RIORDAN IS A YES! MARISSA MEYER IS YES. Julie Kagawa is one of my others, also Sarah J. Maas.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

