Primetime | Iowa City Guide

Hey, everyone! It’s nice to be able to finally sit down and write on this blog… I’ve been so busy lately that I didn’t even turn on my laptop yesterday! I mean, I still had my phone, but… yeah. Anyway.

What have I been doing lately? I’VE BEEN BLOGGING SOMEWHERE ELSE. OH MY GOD.

As you may know, I moved in this past Sunday, but classes don’t begin until this coming Monday. So what on earth was I doing on campus so early? Well, I’m in the honors program – and the honors dorm, as well – and there is a special seminar called Honors Primetime that takes place one week before regular classes begin.

It’s optional, and I decided to do it because A) the subjects sounded really fun and B) I wanted to get adjusted to college life before I’m inundated with Real Classes. Also, we earn one credit for this class!

(I have no idea if other countries have the same system, but in the US college classes have credit hours/semester hours – they’re just different terms for the same thing. Most classes are three credit hours, which means that you spend three hours per week in class, and will have anywhere from one to three hours of homework for each hour spent in class. So it’s really really awesome to earn one entire credit hour in just three days!)

We had morning and afternoon classes on Tuesday and Wednesday, and then a wrap-up session yesterday morning, and then in the afternoon each class group gave a short presentation about what they’d learned.

There were twenty-five different seminars available, and weΒ didn’t get to pickΒ which one we’re in. Instead, we chose a general subject like science or art or English. I chose writing/journalism, and ended up in a class called “Iowa City Guide.”

OH MY GOD I LOVED THAT SEMINAR. Here’s the course description:

“In this short course, students will explore Iowa City, map their experiences of it, talk with locals, and contribute to the ongoing Primetime Iowa City guide. Students will compose mental maps in class and compare those maps with their expanding experience of the city. Students will be encouraged to take their learning outside the classroom as they photograph Iowa City and converse with its citizens.

By the close of the course, students will write brief blog posts about a local business or locale for use by other first-year students. The course invites students to view their new surroundings as a community larger than the campus alone. In this way, students come to see themselves as students in Iowa City rather than students at the University of Iowa.”

I mean, it had EVERYTHING I LOVE AND/OR WANT TO STUDY:

  • Writing
  • Photography
  • Blogging
  • Interviews/journalism

And and and it taught me more about the city! I’m so so so glad I was assigned this seminar, because I now feel that I understand Iowa City much better! There’s still so much to learn, of course – I still don’t know many of the street names – but it’s easier to navigate the city after attending this seminar.

We read a whole bunch of essays in class. One of them was about writing clearly and concisely, and another one – my favorite – was about this dude’s preconceived ideas about Iowa and how they differed from reality.

We also made mental maps at the beginning and end of the seminar… you can see mine (and my messy handwriting) here and here!

Writing our reviews/guides/thingies of places in Iowa City was so much fun! We worked in pairs for this part of the project, so this dude and I originally decided to write about the library… but we couldn’t find it. Then we looked for this “awesome Japanese restaurant” he’d eaten at the day before, but we couldn’t findΒ that either, so we ended up writing about the Old Capitol Museum. (Iowa City used to be the capital of IA, but it was moved to the more central locale of Des Moines.)

We took a tour of the museum, interviewed one of the staff members, took tons and tons of photos on my phone, et cetera. Writing and editing the post was certainly a weird experience, since we did that together – I mean, I’ve done collaborative posts on this blog, but they generally consisted of other people sending me their writing. I’ve never written a blog post with someone, like, sitting right next to me and giving me their input. I’m not saying that it was a BAD experience, because it DEFINITELY wasn’t – it was just weird!

Anywayyyyy. This post would be far too long if I added our review thingy, so I won’t: Instead, you can expect to see it sometime within the next few weeks! I’ll post the link to the main Iowa City Guide blog at that time as well.

All in all, my Primetime seminar was AMAZING and I only wish that I could do it all again next year! But I can’t, because it’s only for incoming freshmen. NOOOOOO. IT’S NOT FAIR. IT WAS SO AWESOME THAT I WANT TO EXPERIENCE IT AGAIN.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Primetime | Iowa City Guide

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    Yay for awesome college experiences πŸ™‚

  2. woooow! It sounds really amazing!!!! In Italy lots of people dream about US college life (me too), but here it’s very different!! I tagged you in my last post, https://hotchocolate264.wordpress.com I hope you like it!

    • nevillegirl says:

      In what ways is it different? πŸ™‚

      Ooh, I’ll have to check out your post! Thanks for letting me know about it. πŸ™‚

      • Almost in everything! πŸ˜„ we have only oral exams, we don’t have a campus, but University is in the city and you have to found home by yourself, and we have 6 months of lession only, and 1 month to do like 4/5 exams, and if you fail or don’t even try to do noone cares, cause it’s up to you. So if you are very wise and “adult” you can finish it, but if you are like party every night, have fun all day, you can stay at University even for 10 years! πŸ˜„ I like my University, but our system is a bit nerve-racking! πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

  3. DAMN, if only you could do it again πŸ˜› It would be great to have a class like this before starting university next year – I’ll be going to uni in Sydney, which is QUITE A LARGE CITY and I still have no idea where anything is. EEEK so excited for you πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Fall 2015 Classes | Literature, Heroes, Women’s History, & More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: I Made It Through The First Week Of Classes ALIVE! | Writerly History, Cute Girls, Mjolnir, & More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Old Capitol Museum – 21 Old Capitol St. | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

