23 Thoughts From My First 11 Days In College

1.

I LOVE it here at college. I love my classes, I love the campus, I love the town, I love my new friends. I’m looking forward to attending the first meetings of the clubs I joined. I’m so excited for each new day!

2.

I didn’t think I would love college this much, though, or maybe even at all. I think this way all the time, however: I worry INCESSANTLY about the littlest things and blow problems totally out of proportion. Sometimes my worrying is rightly placed, but oftentimes I make a big deal about nothing particularly important!

I need to remember to RELAX and just see how a certain experience turns out. Most of the time, I adjust perfectly well to a New Thing, but… yeah. My poor little brain gets waaaaaay too worked up when what it really needs to be doing is calming down.

3.

I mostly like living in a dorm, but sometimes I DO miss having my own room! It’s not even an issue of space – this room is bigger than my bedroom at home. Instead… well, it bothers me that I don’t really have ANYWHERE on the entire campus where I can be entirely alone. (I mean, I guess there’s always the bathroom, but I WANT A LITTLE PLACE WHERE I CAN HANG OUT AND RELAX AND IT WOULD BE A BIT WEIRD TO DO THAT IN THE BATHROOM.)

4.

Speaking of bathrooms, the ones on my floor are REALLY NICE. Like, there are seven or eight rooms in the bathroom area, each with its own toilet, sink, and shower. One of the showers is so large you could fit at least a twin-sized bed in there. OH MY GOD.

5.

Purchasing a meal plan and eating in the cafeteria is helping me to eat more healthily, I think. Sure, there’s plenty of junk food – fries and cheeseburgers and pizza – but also tons and tons of healthy options.

ALSO. I’m a very lazy person. When I had to make breakfast and lunch for myself back at home, I’d usually make whatever was easiest, even if it wasn’t necessarily the healthiest thing to eat day after day. Endless peanut butter and jelly sandwiches? HECK YEAH. Not anymore, though.

6.

Also? I love not having to wash dishes or clean up!

7. 

I love milk and I really missed drinking it with every meal until I finally found the milk-dispenser-thingy. HALLELUJAH.

8.

I have eaten so many burritos in the past few days.

9. 

I do not recommend eating a burrito while trying to take notes on something you just read for class. OMG I MADE A MESS BOTH ON THE TABLE AND ON MY NOTES.

10.

I love reading on this ginormous lawn in the middle of campus, or on the steps of the buildings surrounding it! Yesterday was a gorgeous sunny day, and I read both The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros (!) and Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay (!!!!!!!), moving around as the sun changed positions in the sky.

11. 

I love knowing how my mental map of the campus/town slooowly but surely expands as I venture further out!

12.

I looooove getting packages in the mail… I ordered my textbooks from used-book websites, so I’ve been receiving a lot of mail lately. PEOPLES, FEEL FREE TO SEND ME MAIL. I reserve the right to not give out my address to anyone I don’t know exceptionally well (so that I know you’re you and not some creepy creeper), but ANYWAY YES. MAIL!

Send me drawings with your letters, too, if you’d like! Even if you can only draw stick figures. (That’s all I can draw, too.) I NEED STUFF TO PUT ON MY WALLS BECAUSE THERE WASN’T ENOUGH ROOM IN THE CAR FOR POSTERS AND DECORATIONS AND STUFF.

13.

I love that my roommate is a music therapy major, so she already knew about film scores and doesn’t think it’s weird that I listen to them when I study.

(Hans Zimmer’s Pirates of the Caribbean scores are my current obsession.)

14. 

One of the girls who lives on the same floor as mine looks like Perry from Carmilla – I SWEAR TO GOD. All right, so her hair is brown and not red, but it has the same CURLS EVERYWHERE thing going on, and and and HER DEMEANOR IS EXACTLY LIKE PERRY’S. She’s kind of like the mom to everyone on my floor, and her room is as neat as a pin, and she’s suuuuuper nice to everyone, and I just…

…every so often I think that maybe I’m exaggerating her Perry-ish-ness, and then I interact with her again, and I’m just like NO THEY REALLY ARE TWO PEAS IN A POD. THIS IS GREAT.

15. 

OMG I MADE FRIENDS AND THEY ARE THE NICEST AND CUTEST AND OMG OMG I HAVE FRIENDS HERE.

16. 

Last week I learned that Iowa City is the third gayest city in the United States!

17. 

I’ve met more LGBTQ+ people IRL in the past week and a half at college than in the previous (almost) nineteen years of my life.

18.

…and so many of them are queer women, too! The handful of gay people I knew before coming here were all gay dudes. I’D NEVER MET ANOTHER QUEER WOMEN IN PERSON BEFORE. So I’m rather happy about this new development, obviously.

19.

There are a lot of churches in Iowa City, and many of them have either Pride flags hanging out front or little rainbow stickers in their windows. I love this. I love this a lot.

20.

Places on campus / in town that I still need to explore:

  • University library
  • University of Iowa Museum of Art
  • Daydreams Comics
  • Englert Theater
  • Iowa Book
  • Hickory Hill Park

21. 

I am too intimidated by my now-rather-large pile of dirty laundry to have actually washed any of it yet. (WASHING MACHINES ARE SCARY BECAUSE TOO MANY BUTTONS AND IDK WHICH ONE TO PRESS.) I have loads of free time tomorrow though, so I should figure it out then.

22. 

I joined Spectrum UI (the campus LGBTQ+ group – ALSO, the first university LGBTQ+ group in the nation!), University of Iowa Democrats, and Collegiate 4-H… which ALL meet on Wednesday evenings! Gah, I’m going to be SO BUSY.

23. 

I am very very tired and should go to bed now so that I can do this all over again tomorrow. GOODNIGHT, PEOPLES, AND REMEMBER TO CHECK FACEBOOK IF YOU WANT ADORKABLE SELFIES OF ME BEING A SMALL NERD ON CAMPUS.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 23 Thoughts From My First 11 Days In College

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OMG YOU’RE SO ADORABLE. Washing machines and buttons. XDXD HAAHAH. YES NEVER CHANGE, ENGIE, YOU’RE TOO FABULOUS.

  2. I AM JUST SO EXCITED FOR YOU, YOU HAVE NO IDEA. MAKING FRIENDS AND MEETING QUEER WOMEN AND JUST ASDLJSLGKJLSDK. SO EXCITING. I’m going to two university open days tomorrow so hopefully I’ll figure some of that out for myself 😀 EEEK.

  3. Mom says:

    I seem to recall walks with a wee someone this summer. telling her all that she was afraid of was the unknown. 🙂

    I’m so happy you are loving it there!

  4. matttblack42 says:

    These posts make me so pumped for college. As to #13, I must say I’m relieved for you. Because my number one fear for college is having a roommate I don’t get along with. My second worst fear is having a roommate who snores, sleepwalks, or sleep-kills. That would be terrible.

    And I know this has little to do with the post, (well, it sort of has to do with what you mentioned about soundtracks), but have you ever watched Mad Max: Fury Road? Because I think you’d love it. It’s about a woman with a ridiculously cool prosthetic arm, who decides to rebel against an evil, patriarchal society by taking his “wives” away from him and riding across a desert wasteland, resulting in a glorious car chase with explosions and fire-shooting guitars. There’s also a guy named Max, who’s just sort of there. He’s not even that mad, either. “Understandably Upset Max” would be a much better title. And the soundtrack is glorious. Maybe not as good as Interstellar’s and there’s nothing quite as wonderful as some of the Pirates of Carribean scores, but it’s still great.

    • matttblack42 says:

      Oh, and by “him,” I mean Immortan Joe, the ruler of said society, who is just an all around bad dude.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’m glad.

      Pffft, last night I woke up disoriented, wondering what that sound was… it was my roommate, snoring.

      OH MY GOD, IT’S SOOOO WEIRD THAT YOU MENTIONED MAD MAX; FURY ROAD BECAUSE NO I HAVE NOT SEEN IT YET BUT I WANTED TO BECAUSE I HEARD IT WAS AWESOME AND FEMINIST BUT THEN IT LEFT THEATERS BEFORE I COULD SEE IT. But I’m going to see it next week with my new friends at the school’s movie theater! 😀 WE’RE ALL SO EXCITED. And Furiosa is pretty hot. 😀 😀

      • matttblack42 says:

        It was indeed awesome! (and feminist.) But I don’t really know anyone else who’s watched it so I’ve just been going up to random people and saying, “Hey, have you seen Mad Max?” and hoping for the best. You must write a post about it afterwards, or I’ll be muy furiosa. (was that accurate spanish?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well then, perhaps I shall. 😛

      P.S. It’d be “muy furiosO.” But you were close!

  5. moosha23 says:

    Ah, college sounds wonderful! I’m glad things are looking so cool…also can we have a post just on filmscores. They’re my new obsession but to be honest I’ve only really liked four pieces. I need more recs!!!
    Also: wow Iowa sounds like such an inclusive and wonderful place to be, no wonder you’re excited!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahhhh, I can give you SO many film score recs! I love blogging about them, but I don’t so very often because those posts don’t usually get too many views… anyway. THE LIST.

      Here are my ABSOLUTE /FAVORITES/:
      Captain America: The Winter Soldier by Henry Jackman
      X-Men (any of the movies, TBH) by Henry Jackman
      Thor by Patrick Doyle
      The Dark Knight by Hans Zimmer & James Newton Howard
      Interstellar by Hans Zimmer
      Inception by Hans Zimmer
      The Hunger Games by James Newton Howard
      Doctor Who by Murray Gold
      Lord of the Rings (+ The Hobbit) by Howard Shore
      Game of Thrones by Ramin Djawadi (particularly season 3, but it’s all good)
      The Maze Runner by John Paesano
      Harry Potter (particularly the stuff by John Williams and Alexandre Desplat)

      That should be a good start! If you want more recs, just let me know! 😀

  6. ACK ENGIE THIS SOUNDS AWESOME I HAVE NO WORDS OTHER THAN THAT SOUNDS AWESOME

  7. themagicviolinist says:

    Yay, I’m so glad you’re having fun!! College life sounds so perfect for you, omg. This is making me excited to go to college. All of the “I’M NOT ALONE!” feelings I got when I went to my first overnight writer’s camp this past year sounds a lot like yours. ^ Anyways, yes, more updates! I’ll be semi-stalking your Facebook page. (And I sent you something in the mail yesterday, so hopefully it gets there soon . . .)

  8. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

