Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “ten characters I just didn’t click with.”

Enjoy!

the fault in our stars1. Hazel Grace Lancaster
The Fault in our Stars by John Green

I SO wanted to love this book… because all my friends did! I thought I would finish it and scurry off to go fangirl with them! Instead, I finished this book with a dejected sigh because… well, many reasons, actually. ONE OF THEM IS HAZEL. She’s pretentious and obnoxious and… she’s
supposed to be sixteen? I thought she acted like she was twelve or thirteen. NOOOOO WHYYYY.

2. Tyrion Lannister
A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

OH, TYRION. I’m so conflicted about him! I love his bookishness, but I hate hate HATE
how he treats Shae – how he treats women in general, honestly. People keep telling me that he has a great, self-deprecating sense of humor but, like… so does his brother Jaime! IDK. I just feel super disconnected from the rest of the fandom’s adoration of Tyrion.

3. Jace Wayland
The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

boy meets boyWhat on Earth does Clary see in this boy? HE’S SO ARROGANT AND ANNOYING. Is there something I’m missing? Is he cute or something?! Am I too gay to notice this?

4. Paul
Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

Paul is just so BLAND. This book made me want to take a nap! PAUL, GET A HOBBY OR SOMETHING. YOU NEED TO BE MORE INTERESTING.

5. Simon Spier
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I was sooooo excited for this book because of all the hype surrounding it! It disappointed me, though, and one of the things I didn’t like was SIMON! I just… gah. He was perfectly nice, but completely boring!

6. Scott Pilgrim
Scott Pilgrim series by Bryan Lee O’Malley

I looooove the CONCEPT of this story: Fighting people as if they were characters in a video game! THAT’S SO COOL. Unfortunately, I… have less-than-favorable thoughts about the protagonist. Scott is such a deadbeat! And… well, he dates an underage girl and is super super biphobic and gross and… BLEHHHH. I want to rewrite the entire series with a girl as the protagonist. (A girl fighting all those characters in order to date Ramona Flowers, obviously. MAKE ALL THE STORIES QUEER. ALLLLLLLLLLLLL OF THEM.)

7. Lola Nolan
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

simon vs. the homo sapiens agendaLOLA. Lola, why. Why do you treat everyone around you so horribly? STOOOOOP.

8. Tris Prior
Divergent series by Veronica Roth

LE SIGH. There are the great female protagonists of our day and age, and then… there’s Tris. And Tris is the biggest problem I have with this story, honestly. Veronica Roth created a good plot! But… Tris. YOU’RE SO BLAND. PLEASE JOIN PAUL IN THE PURSUIT OF DEVELOPING A HOBBY.

9. Jacob Portman
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Jacob is very sweet… I liked that. But his indecisiveness?! UGH. It took him FOREVER to figure out what he wanted to do, explore the island, et cetera. JACOB. HURRY UP, PLEASE.

10. Nick
Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

…who decided this book was a good idea? SERIOUSLY. I WANT TO KNOW. Nick is a selfish, petty, misogynistic, homophobic, spoiled brat. This book is about – among other things – the queer music scene in NYC and… no. Just no. WHY did Cohn and Levithan think this narrator was a good idea?!

-~-

SO. I learned three things from writing this post:

1. I need not limit this list to protagonists.

2. I tend to judge male characters harder than female characters. (But surely that makes up for all the people – and there are a lot of them – who do just the opposite?!)

3. “Characters I just didn’t click with” can mean a variety of things. Sometimes the character BORED me. Or annoyed me. Sometimes I HATE them. Sometimes… sometimes, I feel conflicted about a certain character. (Hello, Tyrion?! I feel like I’m standing on the sidelines while the rest of the fandom is all like YAY TYRION and I’m just like WHAT.)

But I digress.

-~-

So! Your turn! What characters did YOU not click with? Why?! Were they the only terrible character in an otherwise good book, or did the rest of the story suck too? And and and… do you find yourself disliking certain qualities in real people as well in fictional characters? I’M REALLY CURIOUS.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

  1. Elm says:

    I thought Nick was okay 🙂 But Tris. Nah, don’t like Tris.

  2. I had Tris on my list this week too. I didn’t have Hazel on my list this week but I really didn’t click with her either, it’s nice to find someone else who isn’t totally fangirly about TFIOS.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/top-ten-tuesday-20/

  3. Carrie says:

    I’ve been seeing Tris a lot today but I haven’t read Divergent yet. My TTT

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Tyrion Schmyrion, am I right? Admittedly I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Tyrion, even when he’s a terrible person, because all his problems stem from the fact that he just wants to be loved. He finally found someone who did love him (Tysha) and then Tywin had to stomp all over that and give him life-long unlikely-to-be-resolved issues with women. It doesn’t excuse how he treats Shae and other women, but it does make us understand why. He also smacks Joffrey around from time to time, which is always cathartic.

    I feel like “Tris and Paul, and the Quest for an Interesting Hobby” would make a nice book. Levithan and Roth should team up and write it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I mean, IDK, Jaime has all that stuff TOO and his treatment of women improves SO MUCH over the course of the series and… yeah.
      On the other hand, Jaime never smacks around Joffrey. 😛

      OMG YESSSS THEY SHOULD. OR WE SHOULD WRITE IT TOGETHER. LIKE AS A FANFIC OR SOMETHING.

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omg you make me sad. I LOVE TYRION SO MUCH. XD And idek, everyone in ASoIaF has something I hate about them, though. >_> Except Brienne. She’s 10000% awesome.

    Tris was a bit bland…I ADMIT. I didn’t connect to her at all, but I didn’t hate her or anything! I just…yeah, I don’t know who Tris IS as a character. I know the books were about self-discovery, but yeah…not self-discovery-of-personality!?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Brienne and Sansa and Margaery! ❤

      I know, right? I had the feeling that Tris could be ANYONE. The story could be about anyone and it would be more or less unchanged because Tris's personality was practically non-existent, so it didn't have an effect on the plot. She's just so… bland! She didn't have a distinctive personality, and that really bothered me. 😦 I wouldn't say that I HATE Tris, but did she disappoint me? HELL YEAH.

  6. Levi says:

    i mean i thought jace was pretty cool, a lil annoying but i could see what clary saw in him ye? idk maybe it’s just to do with types or liking boys haha

  7. I am in agreement with you about Tyrion. What drives me crazy is how people are always making EXCUSES for him. “He lost his first love, that’s why he’s a meanie,” “He feels really bad later about how he treats Shae so that redeems him,” blah blah blah. Newsflash: a LOT of abusers feel remorse after they’ve abused someone, but that doesn’t make it OK. I’m pretty much ready to write him off after A Clash of Kings (haven’t read further than that) and I’m so tired of the fandom’s excessive forgiveness.

    And Tris was so boring that I don’t have anything of substance to add to the discussion of her boringness. (Even her name was boring.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeahhhhhh. Like, I’ve heard SO MANY FANS say “but he’s funny!” in response to discussions about his abusiveness and misogyny and I’m just like…what even?! How can that possibly excuse his actions?

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

