Thoughts About Voting & Spectrum

Hey, everyone! I felt like SUCH a stereotypical college student today… I woke up at 11:30 and didn’t eat breakfast until one! I can’t believe I slept for FOURTEEN hours last night. Wow.

…on the other hand, college is sooooo busy, and interacting with new people all day is – although exciting – also stressful and exhausting. BECAUSE INTROVERSION. Sooooo, I’m totally justified in sleeping for hours and hours on the long Labor Day weekend, right?!

Thankfully, today wasn’t super busy! This afternoon, I read a bunch of stuff for school, some of which was incredibly boring, BUT YAY ME FOR STAYING AHEAD OF THE READING SCHEDULE.

And then later on, two of my friends and I watched Mad Max: Fury Road at our college’s little movie theater! OMG. IT WAS FANTASTIC. OMG OMG OMGGGG. There was nonstop action, amazing characters, and FEMINISM. Also, the cinematography was freaking gorgeous. I can’t even.

Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t asked me to write a post about it after watching, and… well, I’m super behind on ALL of my fangirlish posts (I saw Mr. Holmes – which was also amazing, BTW – more than two weeks ago, and I still haven’t written about THAT movie, either). But I will write something! Eventually! I will probably fangirl about the music a LOT because I’m listening to the film score as I write this post and I just… WOW.

ANYWAY. Enough about today – what have I been doing these past few days?!

-~-

I am now registered to vote in Iowa! I could’ve voted in my home state, Indiana, via absentee ballot, but… IDK, it just seemed easier to make this switch. SO. Many thanks to the University of Iowa Democrats for helping me with that process!

And THANKS FOR EXPLAINING THE CAUCUSES. We don’t have them in Indiana, and I was soooo confused as to how they worked. (Perhaps I should have paid more attention when my brother and I studied civics a few years ago?!)

I’m super tired and don’t feel like describing the caucuses right now, but you can find an explanation here. IOWA IS SUCH AN INTERESTING STATE DURING THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS.

ALSO! I recently joined Hawkeyes For Bernie – my campus’s group of Bernie Sanders supporters! I’d like to become more politically active, and college seems like a good time to get involved. Hopefully I’ll be able to canvass for Bernie Sanders starting this fall! #FeelTheBern

(Also, Bernie has been in Iowa a lot these past few days, apparently? At lunch yesterday my friends and I were all like BUT WHY IS HE NOT HERE and DID YOU SEE THE GROSS FRAT HOUSE WITH THE GINORMOUS DONALD TRUMP SIGN HANGING OUT FRONT.)

-~-

On Wednesday, I attended the introductory meeting of Spectrum UI – my campus’s LGBTQ+ group! This was my first GSA-type meeting EVER and I was SO EXCITED. Also? Spectrum was the first college-level LGBTQ+ group in the United States! How cool is that?!

SDKGJDKSGJHKDGSF I LOVE SPECTRUM. For introductions, we all said our names and which pronouns we use, and I was just like… YES. I HAVE FOUND MY PEOPLE. Being around so many other queer people was an amazing feeling. AHHH SO MANY PEOPLE WHO KNOW JUST HOW I FEEL.

I’m excited to participate in all of the group’s events throughout the year, and I’m REALLY excited to say that Spectrum meets once a week! OMG. MEETINGS EVERY WEEK. FDFJDHGDG. I CAN’T EVEN. I thought meetings would be, like, maybe once a month, so this makes me ridiculously happy.

Finally, I’m SUPER excited about possibly attending MBLGTACC – the Midwest Bisexual, Lesbian, Gay, Transgender, & Ally College Conference! This is an annual event and the largest LGBTQ+ college conference in the nation! It is held on a weekend in late February and basically involves a bunch of workshops about various LGBTQ+ topics! LAST YEAR LAVERNE COX WAS ONE OF THE SPEAKERS. OMG. CONSIDER ME JEALOUS OF LAST YEAR’S ATTENDEES.

When I first heard about it at the meeting, I was immediately enthusiastic, but didn’t know how I’d be able to go… well, it turns out that Spectrum covers all transportation and lodging costs! Members only have to pay a $15 registration fee, plus all meal costs. So it’s totally doable!

…ALSO. MBLGTACC always takes place at a college campus, but the location changes from year to year. And guess what?! MBLGTACC 2016 will be held at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana! THAT’S ABOUT TWO HOURS FROM MY HOMETOWN. OMG.

-~-

What have you been doing lately? I’d love to know!

P.S. Sorry about posting so late… I posted super late on Thursday night as well, too. Like I said, I HAVE BEEN BUSY. SOOOO MUCH HOMEWORK. ALL OF THE HOMEWORK. Anywayyy. I didn’t get very many views on Thursday’s post – a long thinky post about GRAPHIC NOVELS (yay!) – and I’m wondering if that was due to publishing it just minutes before midnight? Hmmm. Well, this post is a thing that exists. And it is very fangirly.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts About Voting & Spectrum

  1. AHHHH ALL THE CAPS. I got a letter in the mail when I turned 18 saying I’d automatically been enrolled to vote O_O Creepy.

    BUT YAY FOR SPECTRUM. It does sound like you’ve found your people 😀 Can’t wait to hear more about it!

    • nevillegirl says:

      But that’s a GOOD thing, isn’t it?! I mean… I’ve heard that Australia has a waaaaaay higher voting rate than the US because you’re required to vote. Soooooo many people here are apathetic and don’t vote and then complain when the election results aren’t what they wanted…

      EEEE I’M SOOOO EXCITED TO ATTEND MORE MEETINGS! 😀

  2. Pingback: 9 Thoughts That Are Mostly (But Not Entirely) About College | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

