10 Finished Series I Have YET To Finish

city of bonesToday I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “ten finished series I have YET to finish.”

…CLEARLY I need to read these prompts more closely because I started writing all about how I haven’t finished A Song of Ice and Fire yet but I totally should because the show’s plot has advanced past the point where I took a break from the books and then I was like, “Oh. OH. FINISHED SERIES. RIIIIIGHT. NEVER MIND.”

Enjoy!

1. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare 

I want to finish this series. I really, really do! It’s a HUGELY popular YA series, so I want to know the references and not be completely confused when my friends talk about it. But I’m still stuck halfway through book two… IT SEEMS LIKE EVERYONE LOVES THIS SERIES AND THEN THERE’S ME. I don’t find any of the characters particularly compelling! I don’t ship any of the ships! I think the plot moves too slowly and the dialogue feels stilted and the descriptions are wayyyy overdone! I think it’s a blatant ripoff of Harry Potter so I can’t even take it seriously!

But. BUT. Is there something I’m missing?!

2. Huntress by Malinda Lohuntress

I mean, Goodreads doesn’t list this book as being part of a series, but it totally is: It’s the prequel to Ash! I SO WANT TO READ THIS BECAUSE OMG HIGH FANTASY WITH QUEER WOMEN AS PROTAGONISTS OMG. Buuuuuut then I will have no more of Malinda Lo’s books left to read AND THAT WILL PROBABLY MAKE ME CRY.

3. The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

I’ve read the first two volumes, but I never got around to reading the third! I… just don’t find this trilogy as interesting as Riordan’s other series, I guess? It isn’t even half as funny, and I thought the plot dragged on. BUT BUT BUT THERE’S ONLY ONE BOOK LEFT TO READ. SO. I SHOULD DO THAT. SOON.

4. The Tiffany Aching miniseries by Terry Pratchett

First I need to read book four, and then I can finally read The Shepherd’s Crown, which I requested at the library. EEEE I’M SO EXCITED BUT ALSO SAD BECAUSE A) THIS WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL SERIES IS OVER AND B) I MISS TERRY PRATCHETT.

(Also, I need to finish THE ENTIRE DISCWORLD SERIES. Someday…)

the wee free men5. The Miss Marple books by Agatha Christie

I FREAKING LOVE MISS MARPLE. SHE IS A QUIETLY BADASS LITTLE OLD LADY DETECTIVE AND OMGGGGGG I NEED TO FINISH READING THE STORIES ABOUT HER.

6. The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart

This is such a cute, lighthearted series about a geeky, dorky girl in high school who always makes a fool of herself in front of guys… BASICALLY ME IF YOU SUBSTITUTED “GIRLS” FOR “GUYS.” Seriously. I read the first two books and I was just like, “Ohhhh, Ruby. I UNDERSTAND. I CAN RELATE.”

7. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares

I don’t know why so many people dislike this series… I mean, it’s about friendships! It’s about girls supporting girls! THIS IS A WONDERFUL THING. THIS IS THE BEST THING. Eternal Ones PB[1]

8. The Eternal Ones series by Kirsten Miller

This duology – by one of my favorite authors – isn’t very well known, but IT’S GREAT and also I need to read book two! It’s about a boy and a girl who fall in love only to die tragically… over and over and over throughout the ages, because they are reincarnated. OK SO I DON’T SHIP VERY MANY M/F COUPLES AND I THINK THE WHOLE IDEA OF “TRUE LOVE” IS A BIT WEIRD BUT THIS WAS SOOOO CUTE.

9. The If I Stay series by Gayle Forman

I really need to finish this series! It’s a duology, so there’s only one book left for me to read, and it’s super short, soooo… yeah. I SHOULD. On the other hand, I didn’t really enjoy the romantic relationship in book one – I thought it was kind of boring – so I’m kind of like SHOULD I FINISH THIS SERIES FIRST BECAUSE IT’S SHORT OR SHOULD I READ SOMETHING SUPER ADORABLE THAT WILL MAKE ME SQUEE BECAUSE I SHIP THE CHARACTERS SO HARD.

10. The Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard

TECHNICALLY this series is over, but who knows?! Maybe the author will add even more books! I mean, there are already a bunch of companion novels, so… yeah. ANYWAY. These books are addictive and really, really quick reads – it only takes me about an hour to read all 350 pages or so – so I should totally binge-read the rest of them over Thanksgiving and/or winter break or something! ALSO. I need to start watching the show! SO MANY SHOWS, SO LITTLE TIME. And what time I do have is EATEN BY HOMEWORK. EEEEEEE.

-~-

Which finished series do YOU want to finish… and why?! Do you love that particular series, or are you motivated to finish simply by a desire to check more books off your TBR list?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 Finished Series I Have YET To Finish

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Agh I just finished the Kane Chronicles and am 1000% done with that boringness. D: Why was it so different to what else he writes?!? It wasn’t funny and I thought Carter was as interesting as a limp tofu burger. SO BORED. *ahem* I adore The Mortal Instruments, hehe, but your’e definitely not alone in disliking ti because like EVERYONE I talk to doesn’t like it. *wallows in sadness in the corner* I can’t even see any HP similarities, but heh, I didn’t grow up on HP either, so that could be it. xD

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    Although I get that TMI isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, I have never understood why people think it’s like HP. The entire magic system is different? As is the world? And also the characters? I dunno. I’ve never seen the correlation, and I’ve read both series quite a few times…

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m with you, Cait, I like TMI and despite having grown up with HP and read it lots of times, I don’t see that they’re particularly similar. But I understand why it isn’t a series for everybody.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

