9 Thoughts That Are Mostly (But Not Entirely) About College

Happy Friday! HERE ARE SOME THOUGHTS I HAVE THOUGHT LATELY.

1.

The weather was BEAUTIFUL today – a bright blue sky, huge fluffy clouds, plenty of sunshine. And it’s finally beginning to feel like fall, which I love! I adore the cooler-but-not-cold weather, and the smell of leaves that have fallen from the trees. (I don’t even know how to describe that smell, but it is THE BEST. It puts me in the mood for pumpkins and bonfires and fuzzy sweaters!) Up until today, it’s been fairly hot, sooooo… it’s as if someone flipped a switch and made the weather cold all of a sudden!

Basically, I was really happy today. YAY YAY YAY I LOVE FALL. I’m looking forward to observing the ways each new season changes both Iowa City and the campus!

2.

I literally just realized that posting about my college routine on MONDAY, of all days, was kind of hilarious. I mean, it was Labor Day! Classes were canceled and I SO didn’t follow my normal routine!

This entire week has been weird, honestly. I didn’t have any Creative Writing classes at all because we meet on Mondays for three hours at a time, and I didn’t have my City of Literature class that day, either.

And then on Wednesday, my City of Literature class was canceled about halfway through because the fire alarms went off! I only have that class two times a week, so A) I didn’t learn much in that class this week and B) I still have no idea what went on in that building, because the firetrucks DID show up.

3.

I complained about my Media History & Culture class earlier, and… well, it’s still my hardest class, but I’m beginning to like it now! I still HATE my textbook because it’s soooo boring, but the professor does a good job of livening up his lectures.

Also, it probably helps that HE is in charge of my weekly discussion session. Honors sessions are overseen by the professors themselves, not TAs. (Teaching assistants… usually grad students not much older than us.) He’s very enthusiastic in our discussions and always pushes us to think critically!

4.

I’m so glad that my first MH&C paper had a minimum required wordcount, but no maximum… I WROTE 1400 WORDS INSTEAD OF 800 WHEEEEEEE. I mean, there just wasn’t any point in limiting myself, not when I’d surpassed 800 words but still hadn’t discussed two of the four supporting ideas in my paper.

5.

BTW, I will post my MH&C paper here eventually… as well as various other assignments! I won’t post the more boring ones, but I definitely already have some assignments that I’m quite proud of. LIKE, I TALKED ABOUT BLOGGING IN MY LATEST PAPER. OMG.

(And honestly? Those posts are SO EASY to write, because all I need to do is copy and paste, then write a little intro! Yayyyyy for ridiculously quick posts!)

6. 

I like living in a dorm, for the most part. But the guys who live two doors down and across the hall are SO. ANNOYING. They watch movies late at night with the volume turned wayyyyy up, and it’s jut like… stop. Turn it down. No one cares about your movies. UGH SERIOUSLY.

Also, dudes, please stop banging on your friends’ doors at half past midnight. I don’t mind if people are loud and exuberant during the day because, well, that’s to be expected, but late at night? Um. No. PLEASE SHUT UP. SOME OF US ARE TRYING TO SLEEP.

7.

Things I have noticed when staring out my window into those of the dorm across the street:

  • I want a strand or two of Christmas lights to decorate our room because they’re really pretty and colorful
  • Pretty much everyone has more school spirit-y stuff than I do, which doesn’t surprise me because I’m not a school spirit-y kind of person
  • SOME PEOPLE REALLY NEED TO DRAW THEIR CURTAINS WHEN THEY’RE CHANGING CLOTHES

8.

I went to the second Spectrum meeting of the year and I SWEAR TO GOD, I HUNG OUT WITH THE TINIEST BUNCH OF QUEER PEOPLE I’D EVER MET. Wait, I… didn’t phrase that the right way. I MEAN WE WERE LITERALLY SO TINY. I think our average height was probably 4’11”. And I was one of the few who didn’t have short and/or colorful hair. I need short, colorful hair ASAP…

9.

I ACTUALLY ATE WITH A BIG GROUP OF PEOPLE THIS EVENING. OMG. Normally I eat by myself, and I can count the times I’ve eaten with one or two other people on one hand. I KIND OF LIKED THIS BUT MOSTLY I JUST WISHED I COULD READ WHILE I EAT LIKE I USUALLY DO.

-~-

Well, goodnight! I’m headed off to READ and then GO TO BED EARLY. I’ve been going to bed super late and not reading nearly as much as I would like to, so I totally need to do something about that!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 9 Thoughts That Are Mostly (But Not Entirely) About College

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AHHH THESE POSTS ARE ALWAYS WONDERFUL AND HILARIOUS. XD Changing clothes by the window though!?? People being super loud at night? UGH. Nightmareish things. I’m 100% unable to sleep if there’s noise. It’s awful. Even if my sister is just on the phone I have to tell her to shut up I’m sleeping. hehe. YAY YOU FOR EATING WITH LOTS OF PEOPLE. 😀 Being all brave an unhermit like. 😉

  2. Mom says:

    Thought #7 seems a bit “Rear Window”-ish!!

  3. It’s so great to see someone so excited about college! In my student house, there is a guy who practices clarinet 6 hours a day. Every single day. Even in exams. By the end of the year I seriously wanted to strangle him.

  4. I take a minor media studies high school class, and you are right! It’s pretty hard. But also really interesting. I’m so glad that you’re having fun. And autumn is my favourite season yay I’m so clad it’s coming! Living in dorms sounds sort of unpleasant (and i go to a boarding school, though as a day scholar,)

  5. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015: Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

