Questions About Blogging + College + Collab Reviews Of “Doctor Who”

Hello, everyone! I’ll keep this post brief because A) I am tired and should go to bed soon, and B) there are only a few things I want to tell you today anyway! This is a housekeeping sort of post with some questions and thingies about the future of my blog…

SO. FIRST OF ALL. I need your input on my college posts so far! I waited until the first few weeks of the school year were over because I wanted to see how well both the blog and I adjusted, but now it’s time to ask you some questions!

  • Am I posting too much/not enough about college?
  • Am I posting too much/not enough about the rest of my life?
  • Are there any college-related topics that you wish I would post about?
  • Are there any life-in-general topics that you wish I would post about?

Also, I would like to post some of the essays I’ve written for various classes – which classes are you most interested in reading about? I mean… history? Writing? All of them? (You can find a list of my fall classes here.)

I wrote a bunch of posts over the weekend, but I haven’t scheduled them yet because… I want to know what YOU think! Like, I feel as if I haven’t talked about books that much lately, except occasionally in the form of top ten lists, BUT I DON’T KNOW IF THAT’S YOU WANT TO READ ABOUT. Should I do more college posts? Posts about the photographs I’ve taken since I arrived? Posts about music? TELL ME AND I SHALL SCHEDULE IT ACCORDINGLY.

It would really help me if you left even a very brief comment with your thoughts, because I want to make my blog appealing to its readers! ALSO, I’M JUST A VERY INSECURE WRITER. I feel like college is a big change and an important step towards the rest of my life, buuuut I also don’t want to bore you with endless posts! I NEED TO FIGURE OUT WHAT SORT OF BALANCE IS BEST. I need as many people as possible to help me with that!

The second thing I want to say is… in just a few days, I’ll let you know whether or not collaborative reviews of Doctor Who series nine will be a THING on Musings From Neville’s Navel this fall! I’m not even sure if I can watch yet because… well, it’s a long story, but my brother uses a proxy server when we watch the episodes at home, but I guess Iowa (or just specifically my university? IDK?) has stricter laws about that, and I don’t want to get in trouble.

SO. If I cannot use a proxy, then I’ll wait until Thanksgiving break and binge-watch the episodes, and probably write mini reviews on my own. If I can use a proxy, however, then I’ll definitely do collab reviews with you guys! (Although they’ll probably be much, MUCH shorter than they were last fall because I don’t have as much free time now!) Also, if I can watch Doctor Who starting this month, then I will post a sign-up/schedule/thingy so you can choose which episode(s) you want to review!

(FYI, there seem to be a lot of two-part episodes this series – I think at least three? Last year there was only one, so finding a person who could review both wasn’t as much of a problem, but I just want to let you know – in case I can do the collab reviews – that I would prefer to have the same person review both parts with me. Because continuity and stuff like that.)

Well… that’s all I have for you today! NOW I SHOULD REALLY GET SOME SLEEP. EVEN THOUGH IT’S ONLY 9:30. BECAUSE I DIDN’T GO TO BED UNTIL 2:30 LAST NIGHT/THIS MORNING. (It’s a long story, but I guess we won a football game against Iowa State yesterday? And people were loudly celebrating even in the early hours of the morning? And they were possibly high? COLLEGE IS WILD.)

P.S. Many thanks to Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words and Kate @ The Magic Violinist for their letters + art! YOU MADE MY DAY. AND NOW I HAVE AGENT CARTER FANART TO DECORATE MY WALLS WITH OMG.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Questions About Blogging + College + Collab Reviews Of “Doctor Who”

  1. Mom says:

    Prejudiced opinion here, but I would enjoy reading more about your day-to-day college life and about your papers.

  2. moosha23 says:

    Ooh, ooh do a post on managing college and the blog and all that PLEASE. It’s such a struggle trying to keep up with some sort of blogging normalcy and y’know not make my education burn to smithereens in the process. That, and I’m always tired and without energy when I get home these days (maybe because the workload is a lot more demanding now? exhausted cos adapting to new environments is hella hard? hmm I don’t know). Also, the proxy server problem sucks big time. I thought the American version of BBC airs Doctor Who too?

    • nevillegirl says:

      OOH. That’s a really good idea, thanks for suggesting that! I will definitely try to write a post about that sometime in September or October. 🙂

      I’m pretty sure that requires paying a subcription (?) to BBC America, but I can try it…

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    I think the balance now is excellent! 🙂 Bookish posts and college posts are both great, I’m honestly good with whatever. And I’m glad you liked the letter/art!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

