A Bookish Update

I’VE BEEN READING A LOT LATELY. Most of it has been for school, although in between my textbooks and handouts (short stories, poems, essays, newspaper articles, et cetera), I’ve had some time to read longer stuff. And stuff that I’ve chosen! YAY!

Sooooo, with that in mind, here is a quick update as to what I’ve been reading!

Finished A Little While Ago

fun home…this is rather pathetic, but I read my second-most-recently-finished book almost two weeks ago! I checked Goodreads and it informed me that I finished Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel on September third. And before that? Well, then I’d have to list books that I finished in August.

I’m still able to read for leisure in college – and I’m very grateful for that – but I haven’t read as many books as I usually do because I just haven’t had the amount of free time that I’m used to! It’s mid-September already (how?!) and I haven’t read as much as I’d like, but I suppose I’ll just have to learn to deal with it.

Just Finished

Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash! OH MY GOD IT WAS A FIVE-STAR READ.

(And so was Fun Home, which actually helps to sort of negate my disappointment about reading very few books in September – two five-star reads in a row! I can’t remember the last time that happened.)

Anyway. YOU SHOULD READ HONOR GIRL. IT WAS HELLA GAY AND HELLA FEELSY AND MADE ME CRY AND OMG THAT BOOK NEEDS YOUR ATTENTION AND LOVE.

Currently Reading

honor girlI’m reading Age of Bronze, Vol. 1: A Thousand Ships by Eric Shanower for my Superheroes Unleashed honors first-year seminar, but my progress is veryyyyy slow. I actually haven’t read any more in a few days because I just can’t get all that into it! It’s a graphic novel retelling of the Trojan War, so I SHOULD love it, but it seems slow-paced aaaaand… I’m really not loving the black-and-white illustrations. Like, COME ON! THIS IS A GRAPHIC NOVEL! PLEASE ADD SOME PRETTY COLORS.

I’m also reading Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson for my Intro to Women’s, Gender, & Sexuality Studies class – honors students have to read one more book than everyone else, and that was the selection for this semester. It’s an interesting work of nonfiction about how the author is also a lawyer ho created a organization that defends wrongly condemned black men, but… he uses a LOT of legal terms in this book, and I’m just not familiar with some of those ideas! It’s difficult for me to read, but I’m trying to do a chapter or two per day so that I stay on track. (I have to write a paper about this book eventually.)

Reading Next

Today I borrowed The Magic Thief and Winterling, both by Sarah Prineas, from the library! I may interview her for a City of Literature project, so it would help if I’ve actually, you know, READ HER BOOKS. They sound fun – which is one of the reasons why she is a possible author choice for my project (which I’ll keep you updated on) – and The Magic Thief is middle-grade, so that should be a quick and easy read! I NEED SOMETHING THAT IS LIKE EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE OF JUST MERCY, EVEN THOUGH I APPRECIATE THAT BOOK.

I would also like to read Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller because one of my friends in the Superheroes Unleashed class loaned it to me and I really should give it back soon… but there is just SO MUCH to read for school, so IDK how soon that will happen.

demon roadReading Soon

I preordered Derek Landy’s new book, Demon Road, and… well, the bookstore screwed up so even though the book was published on August twenty-seventh, my copy is only NOW on its way. FINALLY.

…anyway. I AM SO SO EXCITED TO READ THIS BOOK LIKE OMG YOU DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND. I’M GOING TO REVIEW IT AND PROBABLY FLAIL AND FANGIRL A LOT! I’M KIND OF HOPING IT SHOWS UP ON OR RIGHT BEFORE MY BIRTHDAY NEXT WEEK BECAUSE THAT WOULD BE AMAZING.

I may also read Sarah Prineas’ new book, Ash & Bramble, which was published today! She’s doing a reading/book signing at the Prairie Lights bookstore in Iowa City later this week, and I’m thinking about maybe buying my own copy, because it sounds pretty great! I MEAN, REALLY. I AM THE HUGEST FAIRY TALE NERD EVER AND I LOVE RETELLINGS. ESPECIALLY IF THEY ARE ABOUT “CINDERELLA.”

Recently Added To TBR List

Some of the books I recently found and/or were recommended to me are:

  • My Intro to GWSS prof says Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankin is a really good book of poetry about racism! (We’re currently studying how that intersects with gender and sexuality, so…)
  • I can’t believe I didn’t know Saga, Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan was recently published – I saw it the other day in a window display at the comic book store! EEEEEEEE.
  • My friend Annie recommended Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopiad to me and it looks like a really cool myth-retelling-thingy!
  • I’ve heard that Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway is ABSOLUTELY FREAKING ADORABLE so I added that to my TBR.
  • Apparently Rick Riordan has a new, five-part, as-yet-untitled series about Roman mythology?! BRB FREAKING OUT.

-~-

Feel free to steal this idea for your own blog, or answer the questions in the comments! Actually, PLEASE answer the questions in the comments, because I would love to know more about your reading habits! (And what is the best book you’ve read lately? Do you have any recs for me?!)

P.S. I quite like how this post turned out, in terms of format… who knows, maybe I will make this a regular feature on this blog?! It’s a fun format – and, I have to admit, one that doesn’t require much thought – so I may do more posts like this in the future. What do you think?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bookish Update

  1. Nirvana says:

    OH OH. I really wanna read Honor Girl. *adds to TBR* *TBR threatens to totter and fall into a bookish mess onto floor*

    But I digress. I’ve just finished Everyday, by David Levithan, and LOVED it. It was heartbreaking. But still great. AND OMG. A new Rick Riordan series?! Sign me up.

    I like this format too – so if you plan on doing it again, there’ll be no complaints from me xD

  2. moosha23 says:

    Ah, I so get it about reading books very rarely these days. I saw Saga 5 in the bookshop today! Next to it was a massive hardcover of Book 1 of Saga AND it looks beautiful! I also saw V for Vendetta, flicked through the art which was very nostalgic (V for Vendetta style comics were the comics of my father’s days). Ah, graphic novels look so cool. *.*

  3. Pingback: A Bookish Update #2 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

