Nineteen | A List Of Birthday Thoughts

1.

This is the first birthday I’ve ever spent away from my family – or, indeed, away from home – and I wasn’t sure how that would make me feel, but I’m surprisingly OK with it. I mean, it still feels weird, but I’m not miserable and homesick like I thought I would be!

2.

It feels weird that so many people I know didn’t know it was my birthday. I mean, I deliberately didn’t tell them because I didn’t want them to make a big deal out of it, but it’s just weird.

3.

I mentioned it to the two people I ate dinner with AND IMMEDIATELY REGRETTED IT BECAUSE THEY STARTED SINGING TO ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DINING HALL. OMG NOOOO THIS IS EMBARRASSING. BUT ALSO SWEET.

4.

For nearly as long as I can remember, I’ve asked for a blue cheesecake* for my birthday dessert, and I was feeling a bit bummed about not having one this year, but today the dining hall had cheesecake! It wasn’t blue, but CHEESECAKE. It felt very birthday-y.

*Blue cheesecake as in a cheesecake that is blue because you put food coloring in it, not blue cheesecake as in, IDK, cheesecake made out of blue cheese. I would hope that much is obvious but I just wanted to make sure no one thought I ate weird smelly cheesecake. I EAT BLUE CHEESECAKE BECAUSE IT IS AWESOME AND MAKES ME FEEL LIKE PERCY JACKSON.

5.

I had classes on my birthday. I HAD CLASSES ON MY BIRTHDAY. I AM NOT USED TO THIS. I feel like my birthday usually either falls on a weekend or, during high school, on a day when I didn’t have my dual-credit college classes. And if I didn’t have the dual-credit classes but it was still a weekday, Mom would give me the day off from school anyway!

6.

I was about to say that my birthday always falls on a Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday, but logically I know that can’t be true. WHY DO I ONLY REMEMBER HAVING IT ON THOSE DAYS. WHY DO I NOT REMEMBER MY BIRTHDAY FALLING ON OTHER DAYS.

7.

I had to attend Media History & Culture (my least favorite class) today. YUCK. But I also had Intro to Gender, Women’s, & Sexuality Studies and Superheroes Unleashed, which made up for it!

8.

One of my presents – thanks, Mom and Dad! – was a Captain America T-Shirt and when I walked into Superheroes Unleashed this evening, my teacher was wearing the same shirt! She was like “AYYYYYY NICE SHIRT” and I was like “OMG THANKS” and wow that just made my birthday even better.

9.

My friend Artgirl @ Alien Cows made me this:

cressida birthdayOH MY GOD. THIS IS THE BEST EVER OMG NATALIE DORMER AKA MY WIFE.

10.

On a related note, to those of you who sent me “happy birthgay” messages, I LOVE YOU.

11.

Apart from the Captain America T-shirt, my favorite present was a battery charger. SERIOUSLY. I had been thinking about buying one because I use a lot of batteries when I do photography! So this was really practical.

12.

I wasn’t feeling very well this afternoon – HEADACHES WHY – and I realized that I’m basically caught up with my homework except for a few essays that aren’t even due until the first week of October, so I took a break and read! It’s my birthday, so why not? I finished George by Alex Gino, and it was the perfect choice – it’s an adorable middle-grade story about a little trans girl! It was nice to read something that didn’t have a super complex plot. It was nice to finish a book in one sitting!

13.

My present to myself included going to bed early yesterday and – hopefully – tonight.

14.

My mom got me a gift card to one of the bookstores nearby that I love, and I bought a book today! It didn’t even use up the gift card, because it was a used paperback. I don’t often buy used paperbacks, so I was like “OMG THIS IS AWESOME IT’S ONLY $3.50.”

(I bought Men At Arms by Terry Prachett because I’ve been meaning to add to my Pratchett collection!)

15.

IN OTHER BOOKISH NEWS I preordered a copy of Derek Landy’s new book, Demon Road, back in August, but… there was a payment glitch, and some other stuff, and it was taking forever for my book to get here. BUT IT FINALLY DID. ON MY BIRTHDAY. OMG. THIS IS GREAT TIMING. I am now the proud owner of a signed platinum edition! I think I’ll binge-read it tomorrow. Or maybe later on in the week?

16.

OH MY GOD MY CRUSH JUST WALKED INTO MY DORM ROOM AND GAVE ME TWO CUPCAKES, CHOCOLATE AND BIRTHDAY CAKE. LITERALLY JUST NOW. HOW DID SHE EVEN KNOW IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY. OH MY GOD.

17.

I love that there was a brand-new episode of Carmilla on my birthday.

18.

HAPPY HOBBIT DAY! I thought about walking to the library and borrowing a copy of The Fellowship of the Ring so I could celebrate Frodo and Bilbo’s birthdays, but then I was like… nah. I’ll just stay here and read.

19.

I had a lovely birthday! WOW. NINETEEN. It feels weird to think that this is my last year of being a teenager – and next year, I’ll be in my twenties! THIS IS JUST WEIRD. I AM NOT VERY GOOD AT ADULTING HOW CAN I BE THIS OLD WHEN I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I’M DOING THIS IS JUST DECEPTIVE.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nineteen | A List Of Birthday Thoughts

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AHHHH HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! 😀 *THROWS CONFETTI EVERYWHERE* Also the blue and Percy Jacksonishness is awesome YOU FABULOUS NERD. Awww, sounds like you ahd a really good day despite it being not-usual-birthday-occurrences, right?! YAY FOR CAPTAIN AMERICA SHIRTS. OMG. THE BEST.
    AND YAY FOR DEMON ROAD, I CAN’T WAIT TO KNOW WHAT YOU THINK. :DD

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYYY ❤ ❤ I hope you had an awesome day and that it's the beginning of a long line of new kinds of birthdays. TWENTY next year, how exciting!! 😀

  3. hannwells says:

    Happy birthday! (Blue cheesecake, YES!)

  4. Happy birthday!! It sounds like you had an eventful day, and also I totally 1000% agree on the blue cheesecake idea. 🙂

  5. Happy Birthday, Engie! My birthday is in two weeks (but I’ll be turning sixteen) (Though it feels like I’m older because I’m in eleventh grade and all my friends are seventeen) I’m so glad you had a great day with books and happiness and cake and other good things. Today we were analyzing lyrics and music videos in English and we got to watch I see fire (I’m terrified of orcs, so I hated that movie, but i love the music) So it was all very nerdy. And I have a media studies project which is pretty much me discussing fanart and fanfiction like a reasonable person. I really hope your media class gets more fun *smothers you in cheesecake* HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN

  6. empresspinto says:

    I remembered it was your birthday! I had a fleeting realization that it was my friend Sydney’s birthday and your birthday, when I noticed the date. Glad to hear it went well. 🙂

  7. HAPPY BIRTHGAY! That is so much more fun to say than “birthday” 😄
    ACK OMG YOUR CRUSH SEEMS SO SWEET. I am so curious about this story.
    You be Percy Jackson, Engie, you be Percy Jackson. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

