Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015 – Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE

Hello, everyone! Today is the first day of fall! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from June twenty-first through through September twenty-second. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Summer

IMG_0326Taken in late August on the University of Iowa campus

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Summer

“You think you are alone until you find books about girls like you. Salvation is certainly among the reasons I read. Reading and writing have always pulled me out of the darkest experiences in my life. Stories have given me a place in which to lose myself. They have allowed me to remember. They have allowed me to forget. They have allowed me to imagine different endings and better possible worlds.”

– Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

OH MY GOSH, YOU GUYS, THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOO GOOD. I need to review it, and I want to post a list of my top ten favorite quotes, too! Roxane Gay is SUCH an amazing, inspiring, eloquent writer, and I LOOOOOOVE that she discussed the importance of intersectional feminism!

Also, this quote. THIS QUOTE. It gave me ALL OF THE FEELS.

This Summer In One Word

Overwhelming.

Most Popular Review This Summer

…wow, this is weird. OK. Um. Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky was my most popular review, but it didn’t even receive that many views! I didn’t review very many books this summer, though.

Top Two Books I Read This Summer

  1. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel was one of only four five-star reads thus far this year, AND I SOBBED MY POOR LITTLE EYES OUT WHILE READING IT. It’s about a girl who grew up to realize that she was gay, and then she found out that her dad was gay but he’d been hiding it his whole life (or at least trying to) and OMGGGG IT WAS SO SO GOOD. Beautifully written, beautifully illustrated. (It’s a graphic novel!) It really made me think about gender, too!
  2. I read two other five-star books (that are also graphic novels!) this summer – Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash and Black Widow, Vol. 1: The Finely Woven Thread by Nathan Edmondson. Both books BLEW MY FREAKING MIND buuuut I think I maybe liked Black Widow just a little bit more?!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Fall

  1. TBH, I’m just really excited to see how Iowa City changes with each new season. What does it look like in the fall? What sort of events take place? WHAT DO STUDENTS DO ON HALLOWEEN?!
  2. My five-year blogiversary is on October tenth and I CAN’T WAIT. I don’t have anything special planned yet, but I’m beginning to think about what I might do!

Three New Obsessions This Summer

  1. I started watching Once Upon A Time soon after arriving at college, AND I LOVE IT. (Which is totally unsurprising, because I love fairy tale retellings.) I love the characters! I love how all the tales are woven into one another! I SHIP ALL THE SHIPS. It’s such a cheesy show, but I adore it.
  2. I’ve supported Bernie Sanders (who is running for president) for a few months now, but I only recently became involved in his campaign! I joined Students For Bernie, a group on campus, and I’ve spent a few hours each week answering people’s questions about Bernie and trying to convince them to commit to caucusing for him in February! I wanted to be more politically active in college, and it makes me so happy to know that I’m doing more now!
  3. OK, this is going to sound weird, but WALKING. I literally wrote an entire post about this. I grew up in an area where I had to drive (or have my parents) to every social activity or place I wanted to go. And now I can just walk to wherever I want to go, because I live in town!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Summer

  1. In This Girls Likes Girls, I talked about how Hayley Kiyoko’s song “Girls Like Girls” is helping me to overcome my internalized homophobia.
  2. I wrote Senior Portraits + Missing Friends I’ve Never Even Met on the day of my high school open house!
  3. I posted The Harry Potter Tag… on Harry’s birthday, of course!
  4. Towards the end of my month-long series of Pride posts, I went on a rant about how people either don’t know about the Stonewall riots or are extremely misinformed about them in a post called, simply, Stonewall.
  5. 23 Thoughts From My First 11 Days In College was so much fun to write because I basically just dumped all my college-y thoughts into one big post!

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Summer

  1. Emily @ Loony Literate wrote a BRILLIANT post called 10 Teen Movies That Would Make Great YA Books. IT IS THE BESTEST. TRUST ME. (Also, can I steal your idea and slightly adapt it along the way?)
  2. Cait @ Paper Fury asked, “Should We Read What Everyone Else Is Reading?” and her post really made me think!
  3. Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes talked about missing uni life in Missing The Bubble. I loved this post because even though it is about college, it is so different from my own experiences – I’ve just begun college, so I haven’t experienced those particular feelings yet!
  4. I loved Why You Need To Listen To Halsey (Like, Right Now) by Bridget @ Stay and Watch the Stars because… well, keep reading this post. You’ll find out.
  5. Evi @ Adventuring Through Pages made me laugh out loud with her post 7 Ways To Avoid Ending Up In A Dystopian Novel.

Five Things That Happened This Summer

  1. I spent a ridiculous number of days at the county fair because of both my job and various 4-H responsibilities. This was my tenth year of 4-H and I graduated the program!
  2. I quit my other job, which I had had for over three years. Talk about a change!
  3. I read thirty-seven books this summer… which helped to make up for all the times that I DIDN’T read earlier in the year!
  4. I STARTED COLLEGE. OMG. AND I ADJUSTED TO LIVING ON MY OWN SURPRISINGLY WELL. I’ve been posting about it a lot, too: You can read about packingmoving in,  my classes (here and here), my first full week of academics, my college routine, and a rambling list of thoughts about college.
  5. I joined Spectrum – my university’s LGBTQ+ group! It’s my first time ever being in a group like that, and meeting so many other queer people was AMAZING!

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Summer

1. “Girls Like Girls” – Hayley Kiyoko

THIS IS MY MOST-PLAYED SONG OF THE SUMMER, FOR SURE. It makes me happy and sad all at once, and it’s so pretty and just… KDSGHDKFJHDFGKHSGK. It’s become one of my favorite songs to listen to when I’m feeling sad or down.

2. “Trouble” – Halsey

I just recently started listening to her music! I LOOOOVE HER VOICE. I love how darkly beautiful this song is.

3. “Colors” – Halsey

AGAIN, I LOVE HER VOICE. And the imagery in this song is just – wow.

4. “Brothers in Arms” (Mad Max: Fury Road) – Junkie XL

THIS MOVIE WAS AMAZING. The cinematography was gorgeous, the plot was well-written, IT WAS SUPER FEMINIST, and the music was good too! It feels very rough and apocalyptic and, well, intense? This particular piece surprised me because at first it’s all “omg noise” and then it becomes SO BEAUTIFUL.

5. “Work Song” – Hozier

I love Hozier’s voice too. He sings with so much emotion!

6. “Someone New” – Hozier

I mean, how could I not love a song that is A) by Hozier and B) has a music video featuring my wife AKA Natalie Dormer?

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this summer? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2015 – Graphic Novels, Hozier, Halsey, & COLLEGE COLLEGE COLLEGE

  1. LOVE THESE QUARTERLY REWINDS. You have been a very busy bee 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all the exciting things from autumn 😀

    Also, yes for Bernie Sanders!

  2. I’m glad you’re enjoying Hozier! I discovered him recently too and his songs are excellent. Ayyyymen

  3. Halsey’s voice (moreso in the second song) reminds me a lot of CHVRCHES, have you listened to any of them? I’d especially recommend ‘Lies’ for a good jam out

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ahhhh I’m glad my post made you think but GOOD THINKS OR BAD THINKS? OMG, I’M NERVOUS NOW. AHHA. XDXD That photo at the top is also decidedly wonderful. 😀 And omg 5-years?!?! You are an amazing blogger, AMAZING, I SAY. I feel old just being at 4 years now, hehe. Also I think I need that book Bad Feminist.

  5. When WordPress gave me the notification I kind of went “Wait what” and then “AHHHHH”! I’m so happy and glad you found my post funny- it ended up being really popular and that was kind of weird and awesome but anyways BAJILLION HUGS AND THANKS.
    Also, yay, more music to listen to! All these songs look awesome…and Girls Like Girls. OMG. I shall never be able to get over that song.
    You’ve been blogging for five years? Holy cheesecakes, I feel midget-y. 😉 *hands cake*
    Awesometastic post!

  6. matttblack42 says:

    Brothers in Arms! Probably the best track in the movie, although I do like “Many Mothers” because sadness and “Chapter Doof” because guitar chords.

    You’ve been blogging for five years? Well, I’ve been blogging for six years, so ha! (don’t look that up. Just take my word for it.)

    Also, Girls like Girls was beautiful (just watched it). Most satisfying punch in the face ever? Perhaps.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

