My Love/Hate Relationship With Writing Collab Posts

Collab posts have been on my mind a lot lately.

First there’s the Doctor Who series 9 collaborative reviews – I posted one yesterday and I just sent off an email to find out what time we can “meet up” this week and write the next review in Google Docs.

And then there’s an idea or two floating around my mind that involves writing a Doctor-Who-collab-post-that’s-not-a-review.

And then there are other collab posts! That aren’t related to Doctor Who in any way, shape, or form! But they, too, are reviews, because that’s just how I roll. I need to figure out a good time to co-write a few reviews of books, movies, et cetera with multiple people.

SOOOO MANY COLLAB POSTS. I LOVE DOING COLLAB POSTS. I WISH I’D STARTED DOING THEM EARLIER.

They’re so haaaaaard, though. I mean, if you want to write one “live” – at the same time as the other person/people – then you have to set up a time that works for everyone. If you opt out of that and just ask everyone to send in a little bit of their writing, then you have to make sure people send everything in on time…

But what I really want to talk about today is EDITING. To me, that is the hardest part of writing collab posts. I’ve been thinking about it SO MUCH lately because yesterday I finished that Doctor Who collab review and I was just like “gah editing this is so difficult” and then I was like “WAIT ENGIE YOU PROMISED LIKE A GAZILLION OTHER PEOPLE THAT YOU’D WRITE WITH THEM EVENTUALLY AND OMG THOSE POSTS WILL NEED EDITING TOO.”

I love writing collab posts because that means more perspectives and more content!

I hate writing collab posts because that means more perspectives and more content!

…do you see my problem here? Writing with other people is so much fun because they add all sorts of thoughts and ideas and whatnot that I hadn’t even considered. BUT ON THE OTHER HAND THAT TENDS TO MAKE THOSE POSTS REALLY, REALLY LONG.

Last week, I wrote a 3800-word/11-page review of the latest Doctor Who episode with Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t in under an hour. IT JUST KIND OF HAPPENED. And then we checked the wordcount and we were like “oh my god, we need to stop.”

I love writing collab posts, but now that I’ve started writing them again after a months-long break, I’m reminded of why they frustrate me too: I want to talk about ALL THE THINGS. WITH ALL THE PEOPLE.

But if I don’t limit myself – if I don’t EDIT EDIT EDIT and cut out, like, at least half of what we wrote – then my posts end up super long. AND NO ONE READS MY SUPER LONG POSTS.

(Not that I blame them – I often skip long posts on other people’s blogs. I JUST GET INTIMIDATED BY ALL THOSE WORDS!)

What am I going to do about this editing thing? Well, nothing, really. For the moment. I looove writing these posts, but I’ll just have to get used to the fact that I WANT TO WRITE ALL THE WORDS and MY FRIENDS WANT TO WRITE ALL THE WORDS and WE CAN’T INCLUDE ALL OF OUR WORDS.

…I suppose vlogging would solve this problem. I mean, it wouldn’t be perfect, but I feel like I could include so many more thoughts in a vlog, sooooo… well, I’d just have to meet up with people in person or they could send me their videos and I could splice them together? I don’t even know. I’m still very far away from even making my first vlog, like probably months if not years away. BUT BUT BUT THAT WOULD BE SO COOL OMG I COULD MAKE LIKE THE OFFICIAL VLOG AND THEN ONE WITH ALL THE OUTTAKES.

Because that’s what I have to edit out – the outtakes, as it were. The silly bits when we go off topic. I sometimes feel that my collab posts lose a lot of their character when I edit them in preparation for publication. And sometimes I can’t even include all the important bits, too – sometimes we have SO MANY THOUGHTS about certain crucial parts of the book / movie / show that we just run out of room for all the other crucial bits. I DON’T EVEN KNOW.

Does anyone else feel this way? I’m very sorry if this post is word vomit (I’m super tired and am going to bed immediately after this), but I just felt like talking about this. Also, curse my ridiculous brain for thinking of another idea for a collab post WHILE I WROTE THIS FREAKING POST.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Love/Hate Relationship With Writing Collab Posts

  1. I feel your pain!!! I’ve done exactly one collab post and it was with one of my in-real-life friends and that was intimidating on its own. Eeek. Also, a vlog sounds awesome if you are considering further pursuing that idea.
    I do think your collab posts are great, though! They flow SO WELL and are still formal. I am in awe. 😀

  2. matttblack42 says:

    A vlog, eh? I’d watch it. I can’t imagine ever making a vlog, though, mostly because I don’t like listening to the sound of my own voice. Everytime I hear myself in an answering machine I decide that it would be best for everyone if I never spoke again.

    Also, I’m still trying to get my head around the whole “writing-3,800-words-in-an hour” thing we pulled off, because daayyyyyum, that’s impressive.

    • nevillegirl says:

      PFFFFFF SAME. I sound like a five-year-old whenever I talk on the phone… I’d probably sound like that in a vlog.

      I mean, we did go off-topic, like… a lot, but probably at least 3K of what we wrote WAS about Doctor Who.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

