Things I Miss About My Brother | Happy Birthday, Quentin

brother birthday collageI miss my brother. I’m not homesick, per se, but I do miss certain people and it feels weird not to talk to them every day and see them every day and just generally be around them. I haven’t seen Quentin since I left for college in August, and I won’t see him again until late November. (The University of Iowa has no fall break, only a Thanksgiving break, but it’s a week long to make up for the lack of any breaks in September or October.)

It’s my little brother’s eighteenth birthday, so I thought I’d write a post for him because I forgot to buy a card.

So here’s a list of things I miss about my brother.

1. His computer skills

UGH I AM NOT VERY GOOD WITH TECHNOLOGY. Well, I mean, I’m pretty good at finding my way around the Internet, and I know how to use social media effectively, and I’ve taught myself a lot about WordPress over the almost-five (!) years I’ve had an account here. And I, like, can open and edit documents in Microsoft Word.

But coding? Or hardware stuff? I know Quentin claims he’s more of a software kind of guy, but I HAD NO IDEA HOW TO CONNECT MY LAPTOP TO THE INTERNET IN MY DORM ROOM WHEN I GOT HERE AND HE COULD’VE HELPED ME WITH THAT IF HE’D BEEN THERE.

2. Watching Doctor Who with him

I have someone to watch with, finally – she’s coming over this evening and we’re watching “The Magician’s Apprentice” and “The Witch’s Familiar” and the new episode – but it’s not the same.

There is a PROCEDURE you have to follow while watching the show, goddamn it, and it’s called “Quentin wraps himself in the fuzzy TARDIS blanket I bought him a few years ago and consumes prodigious amounts of popcorn and I smother cuddle the cat and ask ridiculous questions about Classic Who while Quentin gets all huffy and indignant that I just don’t know everything, already, and then we argue about the episode because Quentin loves Moffat and I question whether that man understands plotting and developing characters and other Basic Skills of Storytelling.”

Happily, he told me how to set up my computer so I could watch all the new episodes using the BBC iPlayer, but it’s just not the same. For instance, there is a distinct lack of fuzzy objects – TARDIS blankets, the cat, Quentin’s hair. OMG I CAN’T WAIT TO WATCH THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL WITH YOU. (And Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens, too, on that same day!)

3. His obsession with birds

OMG HE IS SO OBSESSED WITH BIRDS. Especially chickens. And penguins. But really, he just loves all birds. He hugs our chickens. He carries them around the yard. HE CRIES WHEN THEY DIE. Whenever I see cute birds hopping around on the sidewalks and in the grass here, I think of Quentin. He would go “awwwwww” and get completely distracted from whatever he was doing. HE DOES THIS WITH PIGEONS WHEN WE’RE IN A CITY.

And I’ve sent him so many bird pictures, GIFs, and videos today. HERE’S ANOTHER ONE. I found this yesterday and laughed for a solid five minutes. I’ve watched this like 16 times already?

4. His height

I am 5’0″ and Quentin is… 6’3″ now, I think? IT IS KIND OF HILARIOUS WHEN WE STAND NEXT TO EACH OTHER. I’M SO SHORT AND HE’S SO TALL THAT ONE TIME WHEN HE TRIED TO REST HIS CHIN ON THE TOP OF MY HEAD, HE HAD TO LEAN OVER.

I love having a tall brother – and tall parents, as well – because I can just ask them to get things from high shelves! But now? OH HOW I MISS TALL PEOPLE.  Seriously, the other day, I stood on top of a box that was on top of a chair just to reach the back of the shelf in my closet.

I AM A HOBBIT-SIZED HUMAN AND WILL PROBABLY END UP MARRYING A FELLOW TINY NERD, SO… QUENTIN, YOU’LL JUST HAVE TO COME OVER AND RESCUE MY GIRLFRIEND AND I OCCASIONALLY. Because we will have lots of tall bookshelves. Obviously.

-~-

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, QUENTIN!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I Miss About My Brother | Happy Birthday, Quentin

  1. Mom says:

    This is my new most favorite post of yours EVER!!

    (You even made me tear up a little bit…..)

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    This is adorable. 😉 And omg, your brother and you have a crazy height difference too! MEEE AS WELL. My brother is 6’1 (I think? He might just be 6, but I’m pretty sure it’s over…) And I’m like 5’1. SO YEAH. OMG. NOT FAIR. I thought heights were supposed to average around amongst siblings?!?! Gawsh, genes, unfair I say, unfair. *huffs*

  3. AWWW THIS IS SO CUTE ❤ When I eventually move out I'm going to miss my sister so much. We watch Harry Potter together like every week which is nice. QUENTIN SOUNDS LOVELY 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

