Five Years

Today is a very special day for me.

I STARTED MY BLOG FIVE YEARS AGO TODAY.

I just… wow. I’m trying to think of eloquent things to say, but my brain is just like “!!!!!!” and “??????” right now. Oops. Well, anyway. I CAN’T BELIEVE IT.

Like, that is a very long time in the blogging world – I’ve been blogging longer than almost anyone else I know, with a few notable exceptions. (I think Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes started blogging about one year before I did?)

A lot of people quit blogging before they reach the five-year mark, because their interests change, or they just don’t have time, or whatever. And many of my favorite blogs – the blogs that make me sort of envious because they’re JUST SO AWESOME and well-designed and well-written and have, like, a kazillion more followers than I do – are younger than Musings From Neville’s Navel.

So, yeah. Wow. WOW. I honestly never thought I would still be blogging in 2015, and I’m pretty proud of myself right now. I always talk a bit about changes in my blogiversary posts, but I don’t think I’ve talked about transitions previously? Like, I’ve definitely talked about how my writing style has changed since I started my blog, but I don’t think I’ve talked about the changes in my life since then. Here are some of the transitions that have A) occurred and B) been faithfully recorded on this blog since October 10, 2010:

  • Middle school to high school to college
  • Homeschooling to institutional education
  • Questioning to closeted to openly gay
  • “I have no idea about my future” to (hopefully) an author, photojournalist, & activist
  • Childhood to adulthood

And, of course, my interests changed over time, too! I write far more serious, thinky posts than I ever did when I started blogging. It’s always amusing to look back at old posts and see what I wrote about certain topics. Especially BOOKS. Oh my god. It’s so much fun to read past posts and be all like, “Wow, I forgot how much I loved that series way back in 2011?” or “I had no idea how much that story would TAKE OVER MY LIFE.”

I wish I could say that I’d set up some sort of fun trivia quiz about me/my blog (which I’ve done in the past) or even a giveaway (which I’ve never done, but I want to at some point). However, COLLEGE. College has really kicked my butt lately and I just didn’t have the time or energy to set up anything special. SORRY! I really love it here at college, but it’s all I can do to stay on top of my studies and write ordinary blog posts. So. Yeah. Maybe next year I’ll have more of my life under control and can set up something fun?

I didn’t do any particularly special today to celebrate on my own, either – I have two midterms to study for, four papers to write, and three classmates’ short stories that need to be annotated and critiqued for my creative writing workshop, IN ADDITION TO writing this post, doing my laundry, watching the new Doctor Who episode, and having a movie night with my friends later this evening.

So, yeah. That was my day. Today has been suuuuuuper busy, and honestly I’m just happy I got this post up, especially since it’s on an even-numbered day and usually I only post on odd-numbered days? I wish I could’ve just taken the whole day off from homework, but that wasn’t really feasible. It’s OK, though. I’m used to it.

Thank you all so much for reading Musings From Neville’s Navel! I’m so glad to have “met” all of you, and I love reading your blogs, and I really love seeing the “new comment” notification when I log on! I love seeing what you have to say.

Here’s to another five years (or more!) of blogging! I love blogging, and would like to continue this activity for as long as I can. I may not always post as frequently in the future as I do now, but I definitely don’t want to give up blogging. I’m so happy to have discovered this hobby… because I love it, and because it’s helped me to make so many wonderful new friends!

P.S. This post is titled after one of David Bowie’s songs because… hey, I thought it was apt!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Five Years

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    HAAAAPPY 5 YEARS BLOGVERSARY!!!! *showers you with cake of happiness* THIS IS SUCH A HUGE MILESTONE OMG. I turn 5 bloggy years next year. 0_0 That just seems, wow…it is a lot. And I don’t often come across blogs that are older too. It’s like people are really intensely excited about it for a year or two and then lose interest?!?! I’ll probably blog forever though, because I have an obsession hehe.
    ANYWAY.
    So glad you’re still blogging! 😀 Even with all college and stuff because I love reading your posts. 😀 HUZZAH AND GO YOU, ENGIE!

  2. lalalaraz says:

    Yayyyy! CONGRATS!!! Five years is aaaages! I hope you keep blogging in this wee corner of the internet 🙂

  3. Erin says:

    Wow five years, that’s awesome. I love your blog don’t stop blogging

  4. Elm says:

    … WOW! Happy 5 years! YES! 🙂

  5. Shalom 🎇 says:

    HEAR HEAR FIVE YEARS!

  6. EEK HAPPY FIVE YEAR BLOGOVERSARY! Five years is such a long time and it’s one wonderful that you’ve stuck with it so well. ❤ You have an amazing blog and are an amazing person and congrats!!!

  7. themagicviolinist says:

    Congrats on an awesome milestone!! 🙂 I can’t believe I’ve been following your blog for what, three, four years now? Craziness! Anyways, you’re awesome as always, and I hope we get another five years and then some of your posts.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

