Top Ten Dream Author Duos

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten author duos I’d LOVE to see write a book together.”

AHHHHH OMG ALSKDGJSDLKHDLKGAHSG. This prompt is just so… perfect? UM. YEAH. I mean, what’s better than one author? TWO AUTHORS. (And I’d just like to say that if you haven’t already read Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, YOU NEED TO. They really were the perfect author duo.)

So, yeah. SUPER excited to fangirl about all the pairings I’ve decided on, and… SUPER happy with all my choices! Seriously. I think all ten of my duos would be perfect. (Also, at some point I’ll need to write a follow-up post, because I thought of sooooo many author duos and I just couldn’t include them all.)

Enjoy!

173785081. Maggie Stiefvater & Neil Gaiman

I mean, can you imagine it?! THEY WOULD WRITE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL FANTASY NOVELS EVER. I think their styles would mesh very well – both are a little offbeat, and both write stunningly beautiful stories.

(Also? I was ridiculously pleased to see that this pairing elsewhere! Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense listed it too, and AHHHH THAT MADE ME FEEL SO GREAT. YAYYY. PEOPLE AGREE WITH ME. EEEEEE.)the miseducation of cameron post

2. Emily M. Danforth & Maggie Thrash

Both authors have only written one book so far, soooo… clearly they need to write MORE! And they should do so TOGETHER! Because reasons. Because both of them have an incredibly beautiful, understated writing style. Because both of them write coming of age stories about lesbians growing up in tiny towns in the nineties. Because both of them write semi-autobiographical stories as a means of processing their lives. AHHHH I LOVE THEIR BOOKS SO MUCH. (Danforth’s The Miseducation of Cameron Post is only my favorite book EVER, and Thrash’s Honor Girl was one of my few five-star reads this year!)0-545-16044-8

3. Derek Landy & Chris Wooding

OOH THIS WOULD BE SO CREEPY. And probably a little gory. Wooding’s books Malice and Havoc scared the crap out of me! They’re intense, and… pretty violent for middle-grade novels? And I think that would combine wonderfully with Landy’s writing style, especially in the last few Skulduggery Pleasant novels. (Sometimes I had to stop reading because I couldn’t handle the violence OR the knowledge of just how evil some characters really were!)

4. Malinda Lo & Brian K. Vaughansaga volume three

I wanna see these two team up and write sci fi – the BEST sci fi ever! With aliens! And queer characters! And racial diversity! I have no idea how this would even work because Malinda Lo writes prose and Brian K. Vaughan writes graphic novels, but THIS NEEDS TO BE A THING ASAP.george

5. Andrew Clements & Alex Gino

THIS DUO IS A THING I NEED IN MY LIFE. NOW. Alex Gino published George – an adorable middle-grade novel about a young transgender girl – earlier this year, and Andrew Clements is a prolific middle-grade author, sooooo… yeah, they need to get together and WRITE SOMETHING. Multiple somethings, hopefully. ALL OF THE CUTE DIVERSE MIDDLE-GRADE SOMETHINGS.beauty queens

6. Libba Bray & E. Lockhart

I JUST. I NEEEEED THIS. I need them to write something that’s like Beauty Queens crossed with The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. BASICALLY I NEED MORE STORIES ABOUT GIRLS KICKING ASS AND TAKING NAMES AND BEING SUPER SARCASTIC WHILE DOING SO.

angus thongs and full-frontal snogging7. Sue Limb & Louise Rennison

OMG. I WOULD DIE LAUGHING AT THEIR STORIES. Both of them write super hilarious stories about dorky British girls! EEEEE I LOVE THEIR BOOKS SO MUCH. CLEARLY THEY NEED TO COLLABORATE TO AMUSE ME.the house of the scorpion

8. Nancy Farmer & Marissa Meyer

These two have written some of the most unique dystopian YA I’ve ever read! I mean, cyborg Cinderella? And a world filled with zombies and clones? NICE. I really, really love the diversity of their characters, as well – they’re from China, Zimbabwe, Mexico, et cetera!the coldest girl in coldtown

9. Kirsten Miller & Holly Black

Astoundingly well-written female characters in complex, richly-imagined settings? BRING. IT. ON. I love how both authors write about urban worlds with a twist – Miller writes about secret tunnels beneath NYC, and Black writes about walled cities full of vampires and their “fans.”stormbreaker

10. Eoin Colfer and Anthony Horowitz

BUT BUT BUT WOULDN’T THIS BE A BRILLIANT COMBINATION? Horowitz sends his characters on all sorts of action-packed adventures, and Eoin Colfer is one of the funniest writers I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.

-~

Do you agree with my choices? And what are YOUR dream author duos?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Dream Author Duos

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OKAY I TOTALLY DIDN’T THINK OF NEIL GAIMAN AND MAGGIE STIEFVATER BUT YES. That would be beyond perfect and beautiful and omg their styles would compliment each other. so. well. I NEED THIS.

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    Pretty cool ideas! I imagine a Stiefvater-Gaiman novel would be super off the wall and complex, haha.

    Having collaborated on a novel and found that the result was very different from my usual style or subject matter, I don’t know which authors I’d pair up, because I’m aware that the result might not be anything like their normal writing. But… I’ll think about it. Maybe Philip Reeve and Frances Hardinge? The resulting world-building would be PHENOMENAL.

  3. Mom says:

    Agatha Christie and Stephen King! (I realize it’s impossible, but a girl can dream…..)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

