A Bookish Update #2

Hello, everyone! A month or so ago, I posted an update about what I’d been reading… and I quite liked the format that I developed in that post, so at the end of that post I promised to write more like it! And… well, here it is. A new update!

UGH. College leaves me with so little time left to read. My Media History & Culture prof actually recommended a book to read as prep for an upcoming paper and… gah, it sounds interesting and I’d love to read the whole thing, but I’ll probably end up skimming it / reading just the introduction because I just don’t have time to read an entire book for only one paper!

So, yeah. That’s what my life has been like, reading-wise.

ANYWAY. Here are my recent bookish adventures!

the sword of summerFinished A Little While Ago

I read The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan… oh my god, was it almost two weeks ago already?! WOW. I really don’t have as much reading time as I would like here in college. Oh well.

ANYWAY. I picked up a copy at the Prairie Lights Bookstore here in Iowa City, and promptly DEVOURED it as soon as I got back to my dorm room! I don’t like this new series – Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard – quite as much as I liked Percy Jackson, but then nothing will ever beat Percy Jackson. (And this series is better than Heroes of Olympus and the Kane Chronicles!)

Just Finished

I had to read State of Grace by Joy Williams for my City of Lit class. This course is all about the literary history of both the University of Iowa and Iowa City, so we’ve read a lot of stuff from writers who passed through either the Iowa Writers’ Workshop (which is what Williams was in, and what I eventually hope to join for grad school) or the International Writing Program.

I just. I don’t even know what to say about State of Grace. It’s about a young woman who’s pregnant from incest, and there’s a lot of really heavy-handed religious metaphors. Even apart from my distaste with the material, it wasn’t that great – my prof thinks her writing is very distinctive, and now having finished it I’m all like, “Yeah, it is. It’s DISTINCTIVELY BAD.” It’s 260 pages, but it took me 4 hours to read. Ugh. At least it’s over, though, and I feel confident that I understand its themes well enough for the midterm. (Which is on Monday.)

Currently Reading

I’m reading Demon Road by Derek Landy. I mean, technically. I haven’t so much as touched it in the last few weeks, but I keep meaning to pick it up each night and read a few quick chapters, but somehow that never happens BECAUSE SLEEP IS ALSO IMPORTANT TO ME, AND NAPPING HAS BEEN A THING LATELY. So, yeah. I really enjoyed what I have read of it so far, but I still haven’t finished it.

the her campus guide to college lifeI’m reading Ash & Bramble – a YA retelling of “Cinderella” – by Sarah Prineas for an upcoming City of Lit project. I can’t figure out if the beginning really is slow or if it’s just me… like I said, I don’t have much time to read now that I’m in college, so fast reads have sort of taken precedence over slower, more ponderous books.

The Her Campus Guide to College Life: How to Manage Relationships, Stay Safe and Healthy, Handle Stress, and Have the Best Years of Your Life by Stephanie Kaplam Lewis is one of the (many) books I requested from the local library! I just started reading this, and many of the tips seem pretty basic, but it’s a fun read nevertheless. And now is the perfect time to read it, too!

Finally, I’m reading the anthology Twelve Doctors, Twelve Stories by Eoin Colfer et al. I’ve read the first four short stories so far, and my favorite was definitely the one about Three, Jo, and the Brig! These stories are really quick reads – each one is 60-80 pages, but the pages are really small and the font is rather large, so it takes me about ten minutes to finish each tale.

Reading Next

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne looks like a fun YA contemporary about, of all things, a girl who discovers that her birth father is running for president! This really is the PERFECT time to read this story!

the wrong side of rightReading Soon

Anne & Henry by Dawn Ius is… a YA contemporary retelling of the life of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn? Set in high school? I guess? OMG I’M KIND OF ANXIOUS TO READ THIS BECAUSE I THINK THIS WILL BE ONE OF TWO EXTREMES. Either it’ll be awesome, or it will suck. Right? I mean, this idea has potential to be great, but I can only hope the author handles it well so the writing doesn’t crash and burn. (I already know that the plot will, because… well, LOOK AT HISTORY. OMG I AM WORRIED ABOUT ANNE AND I HAVEN’T EVEN STARTED READING IT YET.)

…I’ve also borrowed City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. There was a huge display of her books in the ICPL’s YA section, OK? And I keep feeling like I need to finish this series, if only to pull a Captain America and be all “I understood that reference!” when my friends are talking about it.

Recently Added To TBR List

Some of the books I recently found and/or were recommended to me are:

  • I asked the library to buy all four volumes of Brian Michael Bendis’s Alias comics so that I’m ready to watch the new AKA Jessica Jones series when Marvel releases it on Netflix later this year! AND THEY ARE BUYING IT FOR ME. OH JOY.
  • Cait @ Paper Fury recently read and LOVED The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima, and I’ve been meaning to read her books anyway, so… yeah! Added it!
  • So apparently Margaret Stohl just published a YA novel called Black Widow: Forever Red?!
  • My City of Lit prof recommended We Wanted To Be Writers by Eric Olsen – it’s a collection of reminiscences by students and teachers at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.
  • Charity and Sylvia: A Same-Sex Marriage in Early America by Rachel Hope Cleves sounds like exactly the sort of nonfiction thing that little geeky gay me would LOVE.

-~-

Feel free to steal this idea for your own blog, or answer the questions in the comments! Actually, PLEASE answer the questions in the comments, because I would love to know more about your reading habits! (And what is the best book you’ve read lately? Do you have any recs for me?!)

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bookish Update #2

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    “I just don’t have time to read an entire book for only one paper”
    Ha. Ha. Hahahahahhaaha *breaks down into hysterical sobs* You should see the reading lists I get for each essay…

    • nevillegirl says:

      *patpat* No no no no no, don’t cry!

      …this paper only has to be 800 words, otherwise I totally WOULD read books for it… but it’s a tiny part of my grade, so it just didn’t seem worth it, since really all we have to do is discuss topics from the recent chapters of the textbook.

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    WELL I AM PLEASED TO SEE YOU’RE CONVERTED TO DEMONY KINGING. I PROMISE IT IS THE BEST THING OF EVER. Like it’s not Game of Thrones, but it’s better than Throne of Glass. (ahhaha omg, I never thought I’d live to see the day where I don’t even recommend that series anymore. XD ) and omg, SO MUCH THIEVES. SO MUCH SASS. And queendom. :’) Excuse me. I need a moment.
    Also I love the format of this post!!
    I hope you finish Demon Road soon so we can flail about it. ALL THE DEMONS. YAY. (Okay that sounds so bad, but you know what I mean.)
    And actually I’ve only heard bad things about Ash & Bramble, so I don’t think you’re alone. 😉
    I just read the graphic novel for the Kite Runner and wow. It was intense and dark and I really want to read the actual novel now!

  3. Mo says:

    Unfortunately, I haven’t had a lot of reading time lately for stuff outside of school, but OMG you need to read a comic called Paper Girls. It’s AMAZING. It just came out and I got the first issue.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

