Asexual Awareness Week | Fandom Challenge

asexual pride flagAsexual Awareness Week is October 19th-25th this year!

LGBTQ+ topics are super important to me – I love reading about them, and learning more about them, and discussing them. And I REALLY love writing about them! This includes ALL the identities – I’m trying to make sure that I talk about lots of sexual/romantic orientations and gender identities, and not just some of them.

And, well, this seemed to do a post about asexuality! I think there is a lot of misinformation about all non-straight sexual orientations, but asexuality is definitely one of the least understood. (And some people refuse to understand it by learning more. What’s up with that?!) I was SO HAPPY when Spectrum – my college’s LGBTQ+ student group – announced that our first meeting would be devoted to learning about asexuality!

So, what is asexuality? In short, asexual people don’t feel sexual attraction. To anyone. That’s it. There is also aromanticism, which involves a lack of romantic attraction, and THEN there’s all the ace- and aro-spectrum identities. Like, some ace-spectrum people feel attraction only after developing a close relationship with them – they don’t get crushes until they’ve known the person for a looooong time! (That’s gray-asexuality or demisexuality.)

Asexuality is more common than you may think – asexual people make up 1% of the population, which may not seem like much, but… that’s also the percentage of US citizens who are from Chicago, more or less. Apparently. (I learned that at the Spectrum meeting and now it is my favorite fact about asexuality! My next-door neighbors are both from Chicago, so my little nerdy queer self thinks about this every time I walk past their door.)

So, yeah. IT’S IMPORTANT TO TALK ABOUT ASEXUALITY. I didn’t even hear about it until I was 17, and I didn’t realize that it was completely normal until I was 18. And that’s really not how things should be! Hence, I am doing a post about asexuality to A) help people learn about it (hopefully), and…. B) fangirl.

BECAUSE YES. I AM DOING THE ASEXUAL AWARENESS WEEK FANDOM CHALLENGE. This made the rounds on the Internet last year, but by the time I saw it, AAW was already over, so I thought I’d save it for next time.

Today, I will be discussing my favorite asexual, aromantic, and ace-spectrum headcanons! I think it’s incredibly important to find characters we can relate to, and I have a ton of queer headcanons!

That feeling of finding a character who reminds you of yourself in some way – especially in some way that others may not understand, or may even look down upon – is soooooo amazing. (“What makes you happy, Engie?” “Oh, I don’t know… maybe spending the evening examining queer identities through the lens of literature. Yeah, that’s it. That’s definitely it.”

But before I move on, here are a few in-depth definitions!

And for clarification: “Ace” and “aro” are abbreviations of asexual and aromantic!

OK. LET’S GET STARTED.

P.S. I’m not anywhere on the ace or aro spectrums, so… if there are any mistakes in this post, please feel free to correct me! I checked and double-checked everything, but it’s completely possible that I may have missed something, or could have phrased something more clearly. So don’t hesitate to let me know, and I will make the necessary changes here!

 

the-hobbit-movie-image-bilbo-food-01[1]A male character you see as asexual

ACE BILBO BAGGINS FTW. He never marries*, and is perfectly content to fill his life with books and maps and adventures. (And the other hobbits thought he was strange for that, but… who cares what the Sackville-Bagginses think, anyway?!)

*Some ace people are/have been married, though! Being asexual doesn’t necessarily mean you don’t want to get married, but in this case I just can’t see Bilbo being at all interested in doing so, not when there are ADVENTURES to have and DRAGONS to meet.

A female character you see as asexual

I see China Sorrows from the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy as ace aro! She’s “the most beautiful woman in the world,” and pretty much everyone flirts with her, and it is ACTUAL CANON that she doesn’t understand it.

Like, one scene from the… fifth? sixth? seventh? book really cemented this headcanon in my mind – some guy is flirting with her, and she’s literally just like, “That’s… nice?” She was completely befuddled, and even a bit awkward about it too, which is soooo not like her because normally she’s always eloquent and in control. I have a lot of feelings about ace aro China Sorrows.

(OK OK I’M SORRY I DON’T HAVE ANY PICTURES HERE. OMG I TOTALLY RUINED THE THEME OF BIG SHINY PICTURES THAT I HAVE IN THE REST OF THIS POST. EURGH. But I’m not too impressed with most of the official character art… see, this why why this fandom NEEDS a movie. So I can put pictures from that into my fangirlish posts. Obviously.)

DOCTOR WHO EP3A character you see as gray-a or demisexual

Oh my god, where do I even start?! I have a looooot of queer headcanons for characters on that show, and I think all regenerations of the Doctor are ace-spectrum. (This is actually one of the most popular asexual headcanons in fiction! Bilbo Baggins, Sherlock Holmes, and Katniss Everdeen are other super popular ones I’ve seen.)

And I think it’s cool how his orientation changes with each new regeneration – I haven’t read/watched any of Eight’s stories but from what my friends have told me, he sounds pretty ace aro. Eleven and Twelve are definitely ace aro, as well, and I think Ten is ace panromantic.

But my FAVORITEST ace-spectrum!Doctor headcanon of them all is demisexual!Nine… which isn’t really surprising, if you know me, because Nine is my favorite Doctor. I loved watching his relationship with Rose develop – first they were acquaintances, then friends, and then after a veryyyyyy long time he fell in love with her. It was definitely a slow-burn romance, and I love that. Rose is the only person I ship with the Doctor, and only with Nine.

MARVEL'S THE AVENGERSA ship you would like to see as an asexual one

I think Clint is ace aro, and… oh god, I just realized I can make “ace arrow” puns about him too. OMG ISN’T LIFE AWESOME?! My queer headcanons for Natasha keep changing – ace aro? Asexual demiromatic + biromatic? I DON’T EVEN KNOW. All I know is that these two form, like, the best asexual pairing EVER, and I love them so much.

One of the reasons I think they work so well together, actually, is that they are both ADORKABLE IN THE FACE OF AWFULNESS. Clint is depressed and Natasha struggles with the whole “oh god I assassinated hundreds of people and I don’t know how I can ever make amends for that” thing, and they both respond to this by making jokes and basically just acting like total dorks.

(Oh no, now I’m getting emotional about comic book characters again… I need to stop doing that. I NEED TO SAVE THOSE FEELING FOR MY SUPERHEROES UNLEASHED CLASS TOMORROW. WE’RE STUDYING SUPERHEROES. OMG.)

varysA male character you see as aromantic

OMG SASSY VARYS IS SASSY. I found that picture yesterday and right away I was just like, “Oh my god, I have to use this one. I HAVE TO.”

There’s a scene in season four with Varys and Oberyn Martell (who is hella bisexual) and… OMG I LOVE IT SO MUCH,

OBERYN:  You did like boys before?
VARYS: [Shakes head]
OBERYN: Really? Girls? Hmm. I hope you won’t be offended when I say I never would have guessed.
VARYS: Not at all. But I was never interested in girls, either.
OBERYN: What then?
VARYS: Nothing.
OBERYN: Everybody is interested in something.
VARYS: Not me. When I see what desire does to people, what it’s done to this country, I am very glad to have no part in it. Besides, the absence of desire leaves one free to pursue other things.

Oberyn was confused, so he asked what those other things were, and… VARYS JUST LOOKED OVER AT THE IRON THRONE. OMG. Like, 99% of the behind-the-scenes political manipulation is done by either Varys or Littlefinger, and I looove this idea of Varys using his lack of interest to an advantage – he plays the game of thrones very well.

katniss everdeen mockingjay part 2A female character you see as aromantic

OMG. I headcanon Katniss Everdeen as ace aro, actually, WHICH ALLOWS ME TO MAKE SOOOO MANY TERRIBLE PUNS ABOUT HOW SHE IS ALSO AN ACE ARROW. (I’m sorry… not.) Katniss isn’t into romance (or sex, either, I think) – she just plays it up for the audiences in the Capitol, because pretending to be in love with Peeta will ensure her family’s survival. She never seems all that into kissing either Peeta or Gale. I think she does have intense friendships with both of them, and loves them as a friend does.

(Also! Asexual people can totally have/want to have children, and I think Katniss is an excellent example of that. Aaaaand here is an excellent analysis of ace aro Katniss.)

mad max furiosa and maxA ship you would like to see as a platonic one

SO APPARENTLY PEOPLE SHIP MAX AND FURIOSA. I DON’T UNDERSTAAAAND. To me, one of the best parts of Mad Max: Fury Road was the friendship! I mean, they explode things and fight evil guys and drive approximately 5938753476203 times faster than I would ever dare. (Because I am a wimp. Also, because I don’t live in post-apocalyptic Australia and no one is chasing me…) OMG THEY ARE THE BESTEST BADASS FRIENDS EVER. I just don’t see why people feel the need to add romance to a film that doesn’t have any.

-~-

Tell me about YOUR favorite ace-spectrum headcanons! I always love finding more… and this post was by no means an exhaustive list of my favorites! I should definitely make a top ten list of my fave ace headcanons at some point, right?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Asexual Awareness Week | Fandom Challenge

  1. An aro-ace arrow ace… very nice. Very nice.

    Ever since Steven Moffat called asexuals “boring” in an infamous Tweet (that you’ve no doubt seen), I’ve become a big supporter of people headcanoning his characters as ace. Down with the system, frankly.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I AM THE QUEEN OF PUNS TBH.

      Yeah, I’ve seen that. -_- All the more reason to headcanon his characters as ace! (In general, he SUCKS at writing queer characters, so I love headcanoning his characters as such. BISEXUAL CLARA OSWALD THO OMG.)

  2. Fiona says:

    I love this post! Aro!Katniss is my favourite basically-cannon-head-cannon ever

  3. Erin says:

    Totes with you on Bilbo being possibly asexual/aromantic! I see people ship him with Thorin all the time and I’m like “Noooo If anything ship him with his books”. Because reasons.

    So cool you’re writing about this because my friend is asexual, and it frustrates me that so many people who support LGBTQ+ rights don’t think that ace/aro people should be included in the group. Like, hello, the group includes anyone who doesn’t identify as heterosexual. You can’t just ignore one set of people just because you don’t want them. It’s hypocritical. really. So I’m glad you’re not like that. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, Thorin & Bilbo are my brotp, and that’s it. 🙂

      Yep! A lot of people in the LGBTQ+ community don’t want to include heteroromantic asexuals (“straight aces”) but, like… asexuality is TOTALLY an orientation, albeit on a somewhat different axis? It’s not a “which gender or genders are you attracted to?” question, it’s a “do you feel attraction to any genders?” thing.

      I’m glad you liked my post! Your comment made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. 😀

      • Erin says:

        Yeah, it is kind of a hard thing to grasp at first, but if you make an effort to actually think about, asexuality isn’t that difficult to define.
        Thorin and Bilbo brotp all the way!

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I think Stannis is also ace…maybe?!?! I completely think of him that way because he’s SO standoffish with woman and seems to have zero time for romance with his wife. But I don’t think Katniss is ace at all. *hides* I think she has severe PTSD but, eh, I think she truly did romantically love Peeta. *nods*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I definitely see Stannis as ace too! 🙂 (That seems to be a pretty popular ASOIAF queer headcanon, actually – along with ace!Varys and ace!Brynden Tully!)

      Well, that doesn’t necessarily mean she’s not ace – it would just mean you don’t see her as aro.

  5. Appletaile says:

    This is such a great idea! 🙂 All the ace arrow puns ahaha. YES TO ALL OF THESE HEADCANONS OMG. Ooh, I hadn’t thought about China Sorrows but that totally makes sense — I think I just really need to reread Skulduggery Pleasant. I keep forgetting very important events and this cannot go on. 😛 okay I promised myself I wouldn’t go all complete Les Mis nerd in this comment but I totally headcanon Enjolras as ace

    I was very mad at an article in the newspaper which described asexuals as ‘not to be confused with “middle aged and married”‘. Whyyy when there is an actual article about LGBTQ+ issues in a ~mainstream~ paper does it have to stamp all over sexualities? *smashes keyboard*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Aww, thank you! Feel free to do these questions on your own blog, if you’d like! 🙂

      I know, right?! I think Valkyrie is aro, too…

      I’ve never read/watched Les Mis. But I want to!

      Ugh. There’s definitely a lot of acephobia (and arophobia) from within the LGBTQ+ community, and that shouldn’t be ignored, but… yes, it really bothers me when cishet people who consider themselves allies don’t respect certain orientations or gender identities. Like, either you support us or you don’t – you can’t choose to accept bi people, but think that being ace is just too outlandish. :/ People who think that aren’t real allies.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

