10 Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant

aladdin genie gifToday I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “ten wishes I’d ask the book genie to grant me.”

YAY YAY YAY. I think traditionally genies are said to grant only three wishes, but… I’ll definitely take ten if that’s what’s being offered! Because I would find it hard to narrow down to only three bookish wishes. SO HERE THEY ARE. I NEED THESE WISHES TO COME TRUE ASAP.

Enjoy!

1. The Winds of Winter

George R.R. Martin procrastinates more than a college student. I MEAN, REALLY. It’s been more than five years since A Dance with Dragons! I kind of wish he would stop being so involved with Game of Thrones and spend his time working on the next book instead. I mean, we already know the show will catch up to and eventually surpass the books in terms of plot, but I really wish he would hurry up, already, and give us the next installment.

2. More love for the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy

It deserves more attention! I looooove this series so much – it’s my favorite, actually – but I wish there were a bigger fandom surrounding it! I just don’t know very many people who’ve read it… which makes me sad because I want to talk about fancasts and fanart and headcanons and OTHER GLORIOUSNESS.

The series would definitely become more popular if it were adapted into films, but… gah. I’m always so nervous about book-to-movie adaptations potentially being stupendously bad. SO OBVIOUSLY I WOULD HAVE TO BE IN CHARGE OF CASTING BECAUSE I KNOW JUST WHO SHOULD PLAY WHICH CHARACTER.

3. ALL OF THE BOOKISH FASHION

I NEED TO EXPRESS MY LOVE OF BOOKS THROUGH CLOTHING. Like this infinity scarf with the text of “The Raven” by Edgar Allan Poe, or this Middle-Earth map dress. Or these decoupage comic book heels. (I don’t actually know how to walk in heels… but I would learn if I had those shoes.)

belle gif4. A house filled with books

One of my more or less serious #relationshipgoals involves living in a tiny house (or apartment) with my wife, a few cats*, and soooooo many books. LIKE, A RIDICULOUS AMOUNT OF BOOKS. Floor-to-ceiling shelving on every wall, and those cool ladders that slide along the shelves so you can reach the books at the very top. (Because I am hobbit-sized and would cry if I couldn’t reach all my books.) I don’t want a library in our house – I want a house in our library.

…I think Belle may be #relationshipgoals.

*These cats will be named Gus, Jay Catsby, and Bartholomeow. THIS IS A MUST.

5. Unlimited gift cards to use at Barnes & Noble, the Prairie Lights Bookstore, & The Haunted Bookshop

Barnes & Noble is a chain bookstore, and all of their stories are freaking GINORMOUS! It’s pretty awesome. I like to sit in the little chairs in the children’s section and read all the new picture books and basically ignore my Adulting Responsibilities.

Prairie Lights is a really cool two-story bookstore in downtown Iowa City. I’ve already been to one reading there, and I’d love to attend more!

The Haunted Bookshop is my FAVORITE. Like, not just my favorite bookstore, but my favorite place in Iowa City. It’s located in a 19th-century house just a few blocks from my dorm, and AT SOME POINT I’M GONNA HAVE TO WRITE AN ENTIRE POST ABOUT ITS AWESOMENESS. I go there at least twice a week to study and de-stress by petting the cats. THAT’S RIGHT. THERE ARE CATS. TWO OF THEM. They are soooo soft and affectionate, and follow me around when I’m searching for books I want to buy.

6. Maggie Stiefvater doing a reading/book signing at Prairie Lights

YO! MAGGIE! COME TO PRAIRIE LIGHTS! READ AN EXCERPT FROM THE RAVEN KING AND SIGN MY COPY AND TALK ABOUT YOUR GOATS AND YOUR RACE-CAR AND YOUR LOVELY LOVELY ART.

7. A college class where reading & book blogging count as part of my coursework

I HAVE HARDLY ANY TIME TO READ THINGS FOR FUN ANYMORE. (I’m actually writing this post during a 15-minute break from writing an Intro to GWSS paper about a book we had to read for class.) So why can’t there be a class where people read whatever they want and then talk about it?! OH OH OH AND MAYBE WE COULD BLOG ABOUT OUR READING FOR EXTRA CREDIT. And then I would feel 100% awesome about maintaining my blog in college, because I would be doing something I love AND earning soooo much extra credit.

8. MORE DIVERSITY

In particular, more LGBTQ+ characters! ESPECIALLY LESBIANS. I need books where the lesbians are HAPPY at the end, not heartbroken and/or dead. I need books about lesbian mermaids and lesbian witches and lesbian fairies and lesbian aliens and lesbian princesses and lesbian knights and LESBIAN PIRATES.

9. A sequel to The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

She said she’d like to write one! AND I NEED ONE. The Miseducation of Cameron Post is my favorite book EVER, so I have to know what happens next!

10. Malinda Lo becoming a mainstream author

I want her to publish more books, have her stories turned into movies, and become SUPER FAMOUS. I want her to be the next Suzanne Collins or J.K. Rowling, basically. SHE DESERVES IT. She writes the best diverse fantasy and science fiction!

-~-

What wishes would you ask the book genie to grant?! Actually… maybe we should all start by wishing the book genie into existence, because the world would be one thousand times better once we have a genie to make all our bookish dreams come true!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 10 Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I’m beginning to think GRRM’s procrastination is a marketing ploy. xD Make all the readers DESPERATE and they’ll pay anything to get the next instalment?!!? BAH HA ha…ha…*Cries* I’m nearly at the end of ADwD. WHAT’LL I DO THEN, ENGIE?!?! HMMM???

  2. ALL OF THESE. I don’t always enjoy Barnes & Noble’s selection of books…but today I was there and was looking at the new illustrated Sorcerer’s Stone and one of the employees and I geeked out about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie and it was really fun. XD
    ” I don’t want a library in our house – I want a house in our library.” ACCURATE.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my god, was it the really huge version, Like, almost the size of a picture book, but much thicker? I saw that the other day at Prairie Lights and it looked so awesome!

      I know, right? 😀

      Did you see the new Carmilla episodes?! OH MY GOD.

      • YES! It’s sooooooo pretty. I didn’t buy it but I definitely want to. ❤
        OH MY GOD INDEED. I can't decide if I like them but it's definitely…interesting? (Quite frankly, I wanted some more Hollstein, but I guess it's all in due time.) The hippie-Perry is confuzzling…what is going on?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, apparently LaF once tweeted that Perry went through a hippie phase at some point? (I’ve never seen the tweet, but that’s just what I’ve heard.)

      And I’m guessing that something traumatizing will happen to her in this miniseries, prompting her to deny that magic is a thing? That might be how we end up with the “everything is normal” version of Perry from s1.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

