I Survived Midterms (& Stayed Happy!) | Halloween, BERNIE SANDERS, “Inside Out,” & Monty Python

Well, my midterms are over. FINALLY. I! Hate! Midterms! I never had any for the subjects I studied as a homeschooler, and even when I took dual-credit classes, I never took more than two, so midterms weren’t a big deal.

…I actually only have midterms in three out of my five classes, but I ALSO had papers due for three classes (not the same three, though). And then of course there was all my regular homework.

BUT IT’S OVER NOW. HALLELUJAH. I’m pretty proud of myself, actually – I got a 98% on my first midterm (for Media History & Culture) and I feel confident that the other midterms/papers earned a B+ at the very least. (I mean, an A+ would be ideal, but I also go to every class and participate a lot and do as much extra credit work as possible, so I’m not too worried about getting a B+ – it won’t pull my grade down by much.)

Also, I only cried once! NOT DURING THE ACTUAL MIDTERM, THOUGH. THAT WOULD BE EMBARRASSING… I got stressed and overwhelmed while I was studying for my Intro to GWSS midterm, but I think it went OK.

ANYWAY. MIDTERMS = OVER. YAY. Now, what did I do to stay happy and upbeat and not become a nervous wreck during midterm hell? GOOD QUESTION. A NUMBER OF FUN THINGS HAPPENED AND IT WAS AWESOME.

halloween care package1. Received a care package of Halloween decorations + snacks

Thanks, Mom & Dad! EEEEE THIS MADE ME SO HAPPY. I’d been feeling like I should decorate my room anyway, so this put me in the Halloween spirit! My dorm room is now thoroughly Halloween-ified. (Shh, that’s totally a word.)

…most of the candy has already been consumed, but I did set aside the caramel corn to eat when my friend comes over to watch the new Doctor Who episode on Halloween night. BECAUSE HALLOWEEN-Y SNACKS ARE A MUST. OBVIOUSLY.

Also, note the bag of tiny skeletons. OMG I HAVE THE SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT STARTER PACK NOW. NICE. 

2. Went to an event for Democrats in this county and met Bernie Sanders

BERNIE SANDERS, YOU GUYS. BERNIE. FREAKING. SANDERS.

bernie sanders selfie october 18 2015I TOOK A SELFIE WITH HIM. I’m very proud of it, even though it’s blurry and I accidentally took it in “square” mode and not “photo” mode. (Oops.) My grandma thinks I should print and frame that photo. OMG.

Anyway, the event was super cool! It was a BBQ for Democrats in Johnson County, where my college is located, and U of Iowa students were able to earn free admission by volunteering. SO I DID. And it was SO worth it!

I’m so glad that I was able to hear Bernie speak! It was definitely one of those experiences that you’ll never forget. Afterwards, my face hurt from smiling so much and my hands hurt from clapping so much! His speech was a fairly standard one – his campaign policies, basically – but he’s a really good speaker and everyone was super enthusiastic and ADKJGHDFKJHGDFS I’M SO SO SO SO SO GLAD I WENT. I especially loved it when he talked about social justice and the need for young people to get involved in politics!

3. Watched Inside Out

The student union has super cheap movies ($3!), so I saw this with a friend and AHHH IT WAS SO CUTE. It kind of reminded me of Up in that it’s TECHNICALLY a kid’s movie, but the kind that you get more out of if you’re an adult? AHHH IT MADE ME CRY.

Also, my friend said I remind them of Sadness and I just… I MEAN, YOU’RE NOT WRONG. OMG.

4. Attended a lecture by Terry Gilliam

My college hosts guest lectures about once a month or so, and they’re free and open to the public! Yay! So on Saturday, one of my friends and I went to a lecture by Terry Gilliam (from Monty Python)! He was SO funny and kept going off on tangents – several times, he had to ask the interviewer on stage what her original question was! He did impressions of his favorite characters, too, and talked about what it was like as the only American in Monty Python.

My favorite part, however, was learning that most of the Pythons worked together on the same children’s show before leaving that and forming their comedy group. I JUST. OH MY GOD. WHAT EVEN. NO.

-~-

So, that’s what the past few weeks of my life have been like. What about you?! TELL ME ABOUT ANY FUN/AWESOME THINGS YOU’VE DONE LATELY. I WANT TO KNOW.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Survived Midterms (& Stayed Happy!) | Halloween, BERNIE SANDERS, “Inside Out,” & Monty Python

  1. OH WOW YOU MET BERNIE SANDERS, THAT’S SO COOL! Congrats on getting through mid-terms as well 🙂 It’s the little things that always help, right? 🙂

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I want to see Inside Out!! Along with, um, 49820 million movies that have been out forever and I have not seen. o.O I don’t know why I’m allergic to TV but I almost ALWAYS forget to set aside time to watch things. AHHHH. But I do get a lot of reading done. hehe. Congrats on finishing midterms too!! WOOOOOT!!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      IKR? When I DO have time to read (because HAHAHAHA I HAVEN’T HAD ANY TIME LATELY UGH COLLEGE WHY), I get so absorbed in reading that I forget to finish TV shows and movie series that I’ve started! Whyyyy. 😦

  3. Good job finisheing midterms. My school has a strange trimester system, so we pretty much don’t get exams until may when it’s all mixed in with interdisiplinary projects and AP’s and all, but you’re awesome! I have no idea who Bernie Sanders is, but I can tell you that in Indian politics, there’s basically a trade embargo between India and Nepal (and as a newspaper editor I get to write about it) And I also really want to see inside out! It’s the kind of film that my 7 year old sister gets invited to see… but not me 😦

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      Bernie Sanders is running for president! 🙂 He’s my first choice… I mean, I’ll vote for Hillary /if I have to/, but Bernie seems much more sincere about his promises. Like, in the area of social justice alone, he has a loooong history of fighting for the rights of women and PoC and LGBTQ+ people, and Hillary… doesn’t.

      Ehehe, SAME. I wanna go to alllllllllll of the kid’s movies, but I also feel a bit awkward because I’m so much older than everyone else in the theater during those screenings! 😛

  4. matttblack42 says:

    *zooms in on halloween care package* Ew, you like candy corn? Excuse me while I unfollow your blog.

    . . .

    Okay, I couldn’t do it. I have too many other things to say.

    Bernie Sanders! He’s my favorite of the current nominees, although to be fair I haven’t really been paying much attention to the 2016 election (it’s so far away!); I’ve mostly just been trash talking Donald Trump, that clown.

    (Although on a serious note, I find the fact that Trump is apparently leading the polls to be genuinely terrifying. I mean, just the idea of that guy actually being president? *shivers*)

    Also, college sounds stressful. I wish you the best of luck in your college-y struggles.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

