5 Book-To-Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch (& 5 I’m Looking Forward To)

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is either “top ten book-to-movie adaptations I’m looking forward to” or “top ten book-to-movie adaptations I still need to watch.” And I’m doing both! I’m going to list five adaptations that haven’t been released yet, and five that have, because both of this week’s prompts appeal to me!

Enjoy!

5 Book-To-Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch

1. The Scorch Trials

I’m guessing the theater in the student union will show this eventually, because they show a lot of semi-recent action films. (Basically, it takes about six months for them to get a movie, so it’s not exactly “new” any longer, but it’s… good enough.) I REALLY wanted to go see this when it came out back in mid-September, but I had no idea that tere were buses to Coralville – the nearest town with a regular movie theater!

2. The Martian

I still need to read the book first, but soooo many people I know loved both the book and the movie! Also, Sebastian Stan is in it. SO I HAVE TO WATCH IT.

3. Gone Girl

…here’s another book I need to read before seeing its onscreen adaptation! It’s a thriller, and it sounds sooo creepy and weird, and to top it all off I’ve seen so many great quotes from it already!

4. Paddington Bear

I need to read this one, too! (Oh, hush. MY TBR LIST IS IS A MILE HIGH BY NOW.) I mean, adorable classic picture books about bears?! I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE ASAP BECAUSE I AM SECRETLY A CHILD. (Well, perhaps not so secretly anymore, since I just revealed my deepest darkest most childish secret… oops.)

5. Wild

Haven’t read the book this one is based on either, but… my mom wanted to go see this with me last winter because she’d read and enjoyed it, but we weren’t able to find it at our local theater because it had such a limited release! So we still need to see it together. EVENTUALLY.

5 Book-To-Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I wasn’t hugely impressed with the book – I gave it 3 out of 5 stars – but I definitely think this could be one that translates well from the page to the big screen. I think that it would be visually striking! Also, there’s no need for the movie to drag on like the book did!

2. The BFG

I had no idea this was even going to be a movie until I was looking up stuff for this post! I’m excited yet hesitant about this movie, because the book is one of my childhood favorites and Steven Spielberg (the director) had better GET IT RIGHT.

3. The Sandman 

HUH. For some reason I misremembered this as an Alan Moore book… but it’s not. SILLY ME IT’S BY NEIL GAIMAN. This is a loooong series of urban fantasy graphic novels, WHICH I STILL NEED TO READ. LE SIGH. SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME.

4. Mockingjay Part 2

Oh, look – something I’ve actually read! (Is it cheating if I’ve only read half of the books from both lists combined? I certainly hope not.) I am RIDICULOUSLY excited for this movie, but also so not ready for this series to end! I’m actually going to see this FOR FREE on the nineteenth – students who can prove they live in one of the residence halls here on campus don’t have to pay for a ticket! (On that night, anyway. I WISH WE GOT FREE TICKETS EVERY NIGHT.)

5. Carol

This actually comes out on the same day as Mockingjay: November 20th! However, this one has a limited release – New York City and Los Angeles, for some reason – so I guess I’ll have to wait until it’s out on DVD!

ANYWAY I LOVED THIS BOOK AND WILL DEFINITELY REVIEW IT AS PART OF READING THE RAINBOW SOMETIME LATER THIS MONTH. I mean, vintage lesbians, people. VINTAGE LESBIANS. DFSJGGHKDGF.

-~-

What book-to-movie adaptations have been on your to-watch list for a while? And which adaptations are you impatiently waiting for?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 5 Book-To-Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch (& 5 I’m Looking Forward To)

  1. MOCKINGJAYYYYYYY. I’m so excited. I swear each one has just been better than the last. OH ALSO I wasn’t a big fan of Miss Peregrine’s either but maybe the movie will be more creepy??

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    omg. Gone Girl. *dies hole and hides in it forever* I thought it was like about court cases and mystery?!??! So when I won free tickets to the cinemas I went and BASICALLY I aM NOT OKAY AND SCARRED FOR LIFE. *hyperventilates* Ahem.
    hehe.
    And I also want to see Miss Peregrine’s (I only gave the book 2 stars!!) because I think Tim Burton will make it sufficiently awesome. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah… it’s supposed to be pretty violent, isn’t it?

      There aren’t many times when I think the movie has a decent chance of being better than the book, but this is one of them…

  3. Gone Girl and Wild are both *excellent* movies based on equally excellent books. They are mostly faithful adaptations, although some feminist nuance is lost in the transition from page to screen of Gone Girl. I will be interested in seeing/hearing/reading what you think of them when they do make it to the top of your watch/read list. 🙂

    I am going to read The Martian soon so I can see it in theaters before it’s gone — it seems like the space setting makes that one worthy of the big screen. My husband has already gone twice while I’ve putzed around getting to the book. Good thing I don’t mind going to movies alone. :p

  4. LyfWithEm says:

    The Scorch Trials is brilliant! I watched it without watching The Maze Runner first, so I got a bit confused, so then watched the first one before rewatching this one later on…both are very good!

  5. Pingback: 5 Reasons Why I Love The Trailer For “The BFG” | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

