Top 10 Quotes From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten quotes from books I read in the past year or so.” So I guess that technically I could include quotes from books I read last year – November and December. But I’m not going to, because… I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHY. JUST BECAUSE.

Enjoy!

1. 

“My point is, it takes a special person to cry over a book. It shows compassion as well as imagination.”

– George by Alex Gino

2.

“Proximity has taught me some basic and humbling truths, including this vital lesson: Each of us is more than the worst thing we’ve ever done. My work with the poor and the incarcerated has persuaded me that the opposite of poverty is not wealth; the opposite of poverty is justice.”

– Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

3.

“You think you are alone until you find books about girls like you. Salvation is certainly among the reasons I read. Reading and writing have always pulled me out of the darkest experiences in my life. Stories have given me a place in which to lose myself. They have allowed me to remember. They have allowed me to forget. They have allowed me to imagine different endings and better possible worlds.”

– Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

4.

“It was not a triumphal return. Home, as I had known it, was gone.”

– Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

5.

“I feel I stand in a desert with my hands outstretched, and you are raining down upon me.”

– The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith

6.

“Gracious ignored him. ‘A farmer’s daughter, she was, though back then every girl was a farmer’s daughter. Or a farmer. She had long hair like rope, and a nose. All her eyes were blue and she had a smile like a radiant hole in the ground, with teeth. God, she was beautiful.’

‘She sounds terrifying,’ said Donegan.

‘Hush, you. I will hear no bad word spoken of your sister.'”

– The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy

7.

“‘Goodbye,’ she said.

‘I’ll be seeing you,’ he said.

‘Will you?’

‘I’m sure I will. When I need you most. When I need a mighty warrior.’

And he was right… In a moment the TARDIS was gone, its grating call snatched away on the swirling wind of its departure. Ali returned home and her planet spun on round its sun, one star among countless others, and the stars turned, and the universe grew older, step by infinite step, marching closer to its end, and at last he came back, the hounds of hell on his heels…

But that’s another story.”

– from “The Beast of Babylon” by Charlie Higson,
from Twelve Doctors, Twelve Stories

8.

“All good children’s stories are the same: Young creature breaks rules, has incredible adventure, then returns home with the knowledge that aforementioned rules are there for a reason.

Of course, the actual message to the careful reader is: Break rules as often as you can, because who the hell doesn’t want to have an adventure?”

– Saga, Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

9.

‘”We all go through tough times.’

‘My parents are trying to kill me.’

‘We all have issues.'”

– Demon Road by Derek Landy

10.

“‘Maybe the princess could save herself.’

‘That sounds like a pretty good story too.'”

– Fairest by Marissa Meyer

-~-

This post was actually really hard to write, because I haven’t read many books this year… and most of them have been graphic novels or comic books. WHICH IS FINE. I LOVE THAT GENRE. But it’s haaaard to find quotes from those books! Most of them don’t have any quotes listed on Goodreads (unless they’re super duper famous, like Fun Home), and I didn’t feel like poring over my favorite graphic novels and comic books from this year just to find a nice quote.

So, yeah. That was hard. BUT I DID IT IN THE END. I FOUND ENOUGH QUOTES FOR THIS LIST. And I hope you liked them! I loved writing this post because about halfway through I noticed that most of the quotes are serious or angsty or sad, and then there are the Derek Landy quotes which are just so… so ridiculous and Landy-ish and perfect.

What are your favorite quotes from books you’ve read within the past year or so?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top 10 Quotes From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

  1. Eeek, I might end up having to do this week’s Top Ten Tuesday because this sounds SO FUN! These are all such pretty quotes. 😀

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AHHHH I LOVE THESE. Particularly #9 and #10. xD And I really love #1 which reminds me I want to read that book….

  3. I want to read all these books now (thanks for nothing 🙂 One of my favourite quotes is “I think there are no true heroes. Just people who ignore their survival instincts long enough to do sometime truly foolhardy” (from the Next Together- and I’m writing an essay about htis quote for an english class!) and anything from an Ember in the Ashes, especially “I would rather die than live with no mercy, no honour, no soul” and “They’d always inhabited different dimensions of the social universe, seeing each other not quite as people, but as blurry people-shaped shadows floating around the periphery of classrooms and dances and parties ” from we all looked up

  4. moosha23 says:

    This post has very effectively convinced me that I MUST. I MUST READ DEREK LANDY NOW. I love his quote!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

