How I Plan To Spend Thanksgiving & Winter Breaks

Thanksgiving

November 20 – 29

1. Sleeping

Because college has left me perpetually exhausted, I’m going to imitate my cat and sleep for approximately twenty hours out of every twenty-four.

Just kidding.

Maybe.

2. Being social only when forced to

See #1 above. I haven’t made any big plans to get together with my friends from back home during the week of Thanksgiving break, and I’m not going to.

3. Showering my cat in love and affection

…and my family too, I suppose. HUGS FOR EVERYONE. SO MANY HUGS.

4. Doing only minimal reading

…at first I wasn’t going to read anything, then I changed my mind and decided to read just some stuff for school, and now I think I’ll probably end up reading a bit for both school AND fun. I mean, I finally got my hands on the library’s copy of Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, so I’ll probably read that. And maybe some other fun stuff.

5. Revising my short story for Creative Writing class

Revision 1 of 2 is due on the 30th – the Monday after we get back from break – and now that I’ve gotten peer feedback on my story, I really should sit down and plow through a bunch of edits sometime during Thanksgiving break.

6. Writing a paper for Superheroes Unleashed

I think I’m going to compare Batwoman to Camilla from Greek mythology, and talk about the influence that family had upon both of these woman warriors! This should be fun.

7. Watching Jessica Jones

Marvel’s new show, Jessica Jones, will be available on Netflix beginning on the 20th, and I’ve been reading the Alias comics by Brian Michael Bendis so that I’ll have a pretty good idea of what this show is about! The library ordered all four comics for me and I’ve only read the first two since #3 and #4 haven’t arrived yet, but I feel that I understand the story well enough to go ahead and watch the show now

8. Having a sad because of Adele’s new album

ALL OF THEM. ALL OF THE SADS. 25 will be released on November 20th AND I CANNOT WAIT. (Why are all of the awesome things coming out on the 20th?! Mockingjay Part 2 is released that day as well – but I’m actually going to see that on the evening of the 19th, before I head home for break! Also, Carol is released on that day, but with a super super limited release, so I won’t be able to see it any time soon. UGH I’M SO BUMMED ABOUT THAT.)

Winter

December 18 – January 18

1. Willingly being social

Because winter break is an entire freaking MONTH long here at the University of Iowa, and I will have plenty of time to catch up on any lost sleep and THEN go socialize. I MAY ACTUALLY GO SPEND TIME WITH FRIENDS DURING THESE WEEKS OMG.

2. BAKING!

There is a kitchen in the honors center next door, but I’m too lazy to make that much effort. So I haven’t cooked or baked anything since August, and I really miss it! It’s very relaxing, IMO… also, desserts you’ve made yourself are always 10,000 times better, right?!

3. READING AS MUCH AS I POSSIBLY CAN

Because A) I haven’t been able to read as much (or as often!) as I’d like to here at college, and B) my TBR list on Goodreads has grown to nearly 2000 books. BASICALLY I JUST WANT TO SIT AND READ ALL OF THE STORIES AND FORGET THAT THE REAL WORLD EVEN EXISTS. (Also, this means I’ll be making infinite trips to the public libraries… which I’ve missed…)

4. Watching stuff with my brother

We’re going to go see Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens soon after I get back, and I am SO EXCITED. And of course there’s the Doctor Who Christmas special – I’ve missed watching this show with him!

5. Filling out applications for a SUPER SECRET SPECIAL THING

Hopefully I will be able to report back to you with more information in just a few months! It all depends on whether or not I am accepted into the THING.

-~-

How about you? What are your plans for Thanksgiving and/or winter break?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How I Plan To Spend Thanksgiving & Winter Breaks

  1. I definitely think we should have Thanksgiving here 😉 Or at least another holiday before Christmas because holidays are great. And sleeping sounds like a good way to spend it! Have fun on your well-deserved break 😀 All the university breaks here are pretty long as well.

    As for me, I’ll be working and rejoicing on my months of no school until March, when university starts 🙂

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    YOU’RE TANTALISING US WITH A SUPER SECRET THING BUT NOT SAYING?!?!? OMG. Gah. *dissolves in puddle of wondering*
    hehe. Just kidding. 😉
    Sooooo these sound like FABULOUS plans. Very introverty too, which of course I completely concur with. XD We, obviously, don’t have Thanksgiving break in Australia, but my American-relatives ARE doing Thanksgiving so we’re having a turkey and stuff. Probably in the air-conditioning because IT’S SO HOT HERE. *melts*

    • nevillegirl says:

      WELL I DON’T EVEN KNOW IF I’LL BE ABLE TO DO THE SUPER SECRET SPECIAL THING, SO. But if I can, I’ll definitely be sure to blog about it! *increases the suspense* 😛

      OF COURSE THEY ARE INTROVERTY. 😀 Because I am the introverty-est.

  3. orphu44 says:

    Oh my God I thought calling it ‘Thanksgiving Break’ was just an exaggeration/weird American quirk but now I learn that no, you actually have a 10 day break. Huh.
    And say hello to your cat from me! (I mean. not that I’ve ever met your cat. if it’s weird to say hello from me without me having met your cat, you could say hello from my cat. who presumably also hasn’t met your cat but … they’re both cats, so that’s something they have in common.)
    I, personally, am not doing anything for Thanskgiving break because Thanksgiving has already happened and doesn’t have a break associated with it.
    I hope you have a good Thanksgiving!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Actually, most schools have a shorter break! Our break starts on Friday (well, technically it starts on Saturday but like… after class on Friday we’re free to go home, so) but most colleges start Thanksgiving break next Wednesday. The U of Iowa doesn’t have a 2-day fall break like most other colleges do, so we get a longer Thanksgiving break. But no matter the length of the break, everyone here calls it “Thanksgiving break.” 🙂

      “But they’re both cats, so that’s something they have in common.” Oh my god, I love you so much. And yesssss I will tell my cat that both you and your cat say hello. 😀

      Thank you! ❤

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

