Back Home

My parents picked me up from college yesterday, and I’ve been back home for not quite yet twenty-four hours.

Back home in my room, which I realized is even smaller than my small dorm room. (I don’t mind, though – its tininess makes it cozy!)

BACK HOME WITH THE BEST CAT EVER. I HAD THISSSSSSSSS MANY HUGS SAVED UP FOR MR. WHISKERS. (Also, I forgot just how big he is. I staggered when I picked him up last night…)

Back home where I can go to bed knowing that I will fall asleep within a reasonable amount of time. Almost every single night in the dorm, I have to go out to the hallway and remind the people there that quiet hours started ages ago and they really need to SHUT UP, like, RIGHT NOW. I used to be nice when I asked but I’m not now because A) I’m exhausted and B) you’d think these people would know better after the 382,745th time I asked them to quiet down.

Back home where none of my stuff is in quite the right spot. This will continue to bother me until I’ve put everything where it belongs.

Back home where I can actually sit on my bed and read. (My roommate and I have loft beds, with our desks underneath – a very efficient use of space, but it also means that there’s barely any room to crawl into bed without banging my head on the ceiling, let alone sitting up and reading.)

Back home where I can go to my favoritest libraries ever!

Back home where the food is better than the stuff they serve in the dining hall. (Not that the dining hall is terrible… but homemade food that tastes exactly like what I remember is always the best. ALWAYS.)

Back home where I freaked out for a bit in the shower because something felt wrong and then I realized that I’m used to wearing sandals in the shower at college because those showers are public.

BACK HOME WHERE THERE’S TONS AND TONS OF SNOW AND IT LOOKS SOOOOOO PRETTY. We had the first snowfall of the year last night – a winter storm hit the Midwest, including Iowa City. I’ve seen Facebook photos of my college after the storm, but I can’t wait to see it with my own eyes and explore campus in the snow!

Back home where I have hardly anything to do. I have to stuff to write for class, and I want to read a handful of books, but other than that… my to-do list is pretty short. I don’t even have many blog posts to write because I scheduled SO many of them a while ago, so they’re all ready to go!

Back home where I can bother my family ALL DAY. And hug them and go for walks with them.

Back home in a building with a total of only four people and not four hundred. Everything seems weirdly quiet and still.

Back home where I can see my friends and relatives after spending months apart.

Back home where I still can’t quite believe just how quickly the past three months have flown by.

I like being back home.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back Home

  1. Boquinha says:

    Sweet, sweet post. I hope you have a great Thanksgiving break!

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Yaaaay for being back home!! I agree that home is basically the best place in the world. :’) LIBRARIESSSSS. And sounds like you get to actually have a holiday with such a short to-do list?!? Go YOU. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

